We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with good location”
Review of KSL Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
KSL Hotel & Resort
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with good location”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Checked in on 23 Feb 2014. Process was fast and receptionist was polite. As I was an walk-in guest, the receptionist told me the rate was RM261. However I told her I saw from the internet was cheaper...so I asked if she could give me an internet rate and yes, she did :) So the internet rate given was RM238 nett without breakfast. So kind of her :)

The room is modern, nice and clean with a huge King size bed. Shower and bath room were excellent too. Environment was good, not noisy and could not hear any sound from the next room. Nothing to complain at all.

The hotel lobby is linked to KSL shopping mall...very convenient. Everything is available there.

If you are there and wish to try the massage or hair salon etc at the shopping mall. Here are some tips :

Massage - Go to the one (I forgot the name) same level with Dr Soho. 40 mins for foot reflexology cost RM32 and the guy who did for me was good. The rate is cheaper than Dr Soho. Hence this shop is highly recommended for those who love foot reflexology. If you go to Bukit Indah, please do not try this massage shop called Wan Jia Therapy & Reflexology. All are Chinese nations there. I felt cheated as I went for an hour aroma full body massage, they will pester you to use better oil and also ask you to take up the 2 hr instead of 1 hr etc. The most disappointed thing was, only the back was massaged from neck down to the waist, nothing was done on the legs or front !!! Is this a full body massage as stated? And it cost RM60! This is cheating!

Hair do - Go to this salon called TS salon somewhere near the Thai Odessy and look for Nick. I went there for a hair wash last night and cost me RM35 but the washing was done lying down at the basin. Surprisingly, Nick was good unlike those done lying down at Snip Avenue shops in Singapore. He was very patient not only on washing but blowing also. I was impressed after my hair was done because my hair felt silky smooth and nice :) Nick has the patient and has the passion for hair hence he is very careful and patient. But if you are in the rush, I will not recommend you here. The wash & blow cost RM35 with normal shampoo. Nick is a guy who doesn't talk much and when he comments about the dryness of hair etc with just one or two sentences, I just kept quiet because I know all hair stylist would do the same. But when you just smile or keep quiet, he would not say further. He is not a pushy type.

This afternoon (24 Feb 2014), I went to touch up my hair. Initially I thought of trying other salons around but when I thought of the way Nick blew my hair with his patience, I went back to him again. I simply like the way he blew my hair...not pulling at all and the outcome was good. Similarly his skill for applying the colour was good because I tried at many salons before and after everything was done, there were some colour patches left around the hair line on the fore head or side. But Nick was good...he left no patches of colour at all :) Total cost RM90 for touch up. Price is reasonable especially at a shopping mall.

If you like Asam Laksa, try this famous small stall opposite Watson. It cost RM5 a bowl. Long queue during peak hours. It's worth as this will cost S$4 a small bowl at Malaysia Boleh, Jurong Point.

There's a supermarket at the basement called Texco. Some stuff are cheaper than Singapore. I bought one pack of F&N Fruit Tree Fresh Apple Juice - 1 litre at S$1.80 only. Others that are worth buying will be Auntie Ann, Bread Talk, Season, J Co and many more. The Thai Mango Sticky Rice is not bad too...a packet cost RM6, Cendol at RM4 small cup - all at basement. Wow..so many things to eat and shop !!!

The above will be higher recommended. It is easier to access to KSL from Singapore. Go to Kranji MRT station, take the Malaysia yellow bus (S$0.80) and alight at Malaysia custom, walk to the direction of City Square then half way through the link, get down the escalator and hop on to another yellow bus that states KSL (RM1.50) and this bus will bring you to the main entrance of KSL. No regrets, worth trying :)

Room Tip: Choose a room with higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FantasyKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    1,007
    616
    116
    91
See reviews for
1,223
401
45
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stay in the hotel on 21/02/14. Booked two rooms. While check in, was informed that the wifi were down, Waited till 10:00pm wifi still down. Cos it's a Friday, we still need to check email and work in the room. Check with the duty manager, he just said there is nothing he can do even if he call his Directors come, wifi also not working. So the hotel problem become the guest problem. Our room the toilet floor were filled with stain, with urine smell. Will not stay in this so call 5 STAR hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LN88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Check in and check out were fast and efficient.
Rooms are clean and functional.
Shower and bath room were excellent.
Adjacent mall was neither too big nor too small, and very accommodative.
Higher elevation rooms will enjoy better view of the city.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azhar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
531 reviews
233 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very modern, nice and clean, but other than the mall where it sits there is nothing around, so you have to take a taxi to go anywhere. I also found it a tad expensive for being in Johor Baru. But no complaints

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnFoster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perak ipoh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

I was plan stay at KSL resorts cause i want go USS with my family.travel from far away just check-in and take rest for my next journey to singapore the next day.when i enter to the hotel i feel like hourable wen i get warmly welcome by Mr.Aran at the door step...he kindly open my car door for my family to welcome us....after check-in the staff at reception forget show the go to our room.lucky Mr.Aran guide us to the room and send our luggage to our room....he was friendly n eventhough help me to show route map to go glass temple and place to shopping and relexing.good job Mr.Aran keep it up ur service man...i hope i will visit again n stay over here on my next vacation plan...thank you KSL resorts for your excellent service....see you again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank singaram69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is good due to its location and a shopper's perfect place to stay. The KSL shopping mall is just below the hotel. Overall the hotel is clean and strategically located. Food and shopping easily accessible below. There are public bus services that will bring you to JB Sentral where you can proceed to the CIQ and then across to Singapore. The bus is called the Causewaylink S1, it's yellow in color and you can catch it outside the mall's main entrance. However please check with the operators especially when coming back from JB Sentral to KSL because sometimes there are no services at night. Overall this hotel is OK due to the conveniences of shopping mall and plenty of food around. There is also a pasar malam (night market) right in front of the mall on every Monday evening.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thru_my_senses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shah alam
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Had the chance to stay at this hotel for 2 nights, the arrangement of the bed should provide enough space for Muslim to pray. overall the cleanliness of the room is aright. one may get irritated with the wakeup calls, it rang even though there was no arrangement made.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rku140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.4 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
3.5 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 110 in Johor Bahru
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 110 in Johor Bahru
1,292 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
0.4 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 110 in Johor Bahru
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KSL Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KSL Hotel & Resort

Property: KSL Hotel & Resort
Address: 33 Jalan Seladang | Taman Abad, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — KSL Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KSL Hotel & Resort is the largest integrated resort in Johor Bahru that offers a complete shopping experience with entertainments and accommodations. The hotel is located in the heart of Johor Bahru City. It is about 5 minutes away from the Causeway,10 minutes from Johor Bahru Business District and 20 minutes from LEGOLAND. LEGOLAND tickets and return shuttle service is available at the hotel or you could include it during the booking at our website. The Resort style hotel provides 868 rooms & suites and extensive meeting and event facilities. For meetings and events, KSL Resort offers the perfect combination of first class facilities, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. We also offers a range of wedding packages for your special day.With its convenience and comfort, you are able to enjoy numerous well-known Food & Beverage outlets, Fashion boutiques, Cineplex and Hypermarts (Tesco) all under one roof. Without compromising the location, you still can enjoy the water theme park facilities, Golf simulator experience, pool, billiard and children's amusement arcade.In the evening, all guests are invited to our Mission Bar & Grill, where you are able to enjoy a wide range of imported beers and wines. There will be Barbeque dinner and live band to lead you through the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your KSL Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing