We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, easy access to shopping mall, slow lifts”
Review of KSL Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
KSL Hotel & Resort
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, easy access to shopping mall, slow lifts”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

It is a nice hotel and my stay was a pleasant one. In most rooms you can find both a Queen-size bed and a Super Single. They even have a rain shower in the bathroom! Complimentary bottles of water are provided during your stay.

The rooms are generally clean, the bed is comfortable and the staff are friendly. However, just note that if the hotel is running at 98% capacity and there is a conference taking place in the hotel, the wait for the lifts can be a painful experience especially during meal times as the lifts are slow to arrive and cannot take too many people else they will fail. Each tower has only 4 lifts serving the guest rooms. I stayed on the 14th floor and I remember having waited 25 minutes for the lift on one night and they were always full by the time the lift doors opened on my floor, thus I gave up and headed for the fire exit.

Unless you are on a shopping trip, there is nothing much to do in this area but I must say that it is convenient to have a shopping mall and cineplex connected to the hotel.

For more details and photos, check out - http://jaznotabi.wordpress.com/2013/06/10/ksl-resort/

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaznotabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    997
    612
    114
    91
See reviews for
1,215
396
45
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is definitely NOT a five star hotel. The carpet along the hallway leading to the rooms look like they have been thrown there for the sake of covering up the uneven cement. Pool was not too bad. The corner rooms were really warm and stuffy but we managed to put up with it. Shopping was so so but at least there are some restaurants and manicure shops there with rather good deals. Though unimpressed, I may stay here again just for the breakfast, the selection was really wide and of really good standard.

Room Tip: there is no perfect room in the hotel, the ones near the lifts are noisy and the ones far away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyslim100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed in KSL for two nights and used F&B and convention facilities for our functions. The break fast buffet was value for money and there were some special food such as Turkish ice cream and coconut shake. The bread and butter pudding was lovely. The convention hall on the 7th floor was very suitable for a conference and banquet as the lobby opens out to the pool. There are also other attractions on that floor such as the water park, etc. However, this is also where the problem lies. I think KSL is stretching itself by being a resort, hotel, shopping centre etc. While they deserve the thumbs up for trying, there are too many shortcomings that may make the experience a not so pleasant one. Entrance and directions to parking are confusing. We had a group check in but the reception staff were not informed and we had to wait for a while before being directed to the duty manager. The hotel is too accessible to shoppers from the mall. Newspapers were not delivered on the second morning and they ran out even at the concierge. While the break fast buffet was good, the breakfast quality was mediocre. The bath tub length did not extend from wall to wall causing water to splash easily onto the bathroom floor during shower. Maybe that is why they provide rubber/plastic bathroom slippers.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank lengcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed in various hotels in JB as we like to hop over for a staycation once a month and have stayed here 3 times so far.

We're generally happy with the cleanliness of rooms though I'd say it ain't sparkling. Basic amenities suffice and beds are of a high quality.

I'm especially annoyed by the very poor maintenance as can be seen by the peeling wallpaper, cracked laminates, black grout lines and so on.

Its location is hard to beat. Linked to a new mall with sufficient shopping, a cinema, Tesco, countless hair & nail salons.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneTong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I had dinner at Infusion Cafe for Ramadan Buffet with my colleagues It was fantastic meal with wide varieties of dishes around the restaurant. To my surprise they even have nasi kandar, turkish ice cream, whole roasted venison and a dish called chopped roti canai with chicken or lamb it was superb, well it is a reasonable price for this kind of buffet at RM90.50nett. The quality of food is so tasty all 10 of us enjoyed and planning another trip soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sivasegaran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I and 13 of my friends were given 7 rooms on the same floor. We stayed on the 16th floor. The rooms were clean and pleasantly comfortable. Service was fast and efficient. My friends and I had a roaring good time at the lounge where we were entertained by a duo of talented and super friendly people.
There was a good spread at breakfast and best of all shopping was just a short walk away!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenkohmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is convenient, clean, and affordable. If you choose to stay here, remember to double-lock the door as for some reason, someone tried to open my room door at 5:30am. They were successful and luckily I had the security latch.

Check-out at 9am is a long and tedious process.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.4 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
3.5 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 109 in Johor Bahru
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,284 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
0.4 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KSL Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KSL Hotel & Resort

Property: KSL Hotel & Resort
Address: 33 Jalan Seladang | Taman Abad, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — KSL Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KSL Hotel & Resort is the largest integrated resort in Johor Bahru that offers a complete shopping experience with entertainments and accommodations. The hotel is located in the heart of Johor Bahru City. It is about 5 minutes away from the Causeway,10 minutes from Johor Bahru Business District and 20 minutes from LEGOLAND. LEGOLAND tickets and return shuttle service is available at the hotel or you could include it during the booking at our website. The Resort style hotel provides 868 rooms & suites and extensive meeting and event facilities. For meetings and events, KSL Resort offers the perfect combination of first class facilities, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. We also offers a range of wedding packages for your special day.With its convenience and comfort, you are able to enjoy numerous well-known Food & Beverage outlets, Fashion boutiques, Cineplex and Hypermarts (Tesco) all under one roof. Without compromising the location, you still can enjoy the water theme park facilities, Golf simulator experience, pool, billiard and children's amusement arcade.In the evening, all guests are invited to our Mission Bar & Grill, where you are able to enjoy a wide range of imported beers and wines. There will be Barbeque dinner and live band to lead you through the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your KSL Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing