We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“...Not as bad as I thought it would be...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of KSL Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
KSL Hotel & Resort
Ranked #8 of 107 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“...Not as bad as I thought it would be...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Reading many bad reviews about the hotel made me wary about staying in the hotel. Thus, i did not have any high expectations. However, I was pleasantly surprised and pleased that the bad reviews were unfounded.
Check in was very fast for us. I think it might be because we checked in only at 4 after spending a day of fun at little big club. We did not have to queue and was immediately issued with a room. The only bad point was no bell boy offered to help us qith our luggage. They were busy chatting amongst themselves at the door. I did not make an issue as we only had one bag with us. But the management must really look into this.
The deluxe room was quite small but enough for 3 of us. Toilet was basic and small too. The bed was very comfortable though.
Wifi was available to us throughout our stay. We tried to log in at first but were unable to. But aftrr calling the operator, we managed to get wifi access.
Food was ok. Not too great like the hotels in kl but passable. Room service prices were much cheaper compared to kl.
Location wise was great and convenient as the hotel is situated above a shopping mall. If you are looking for iphone or samsung accessories this is the place for you. You are really dpoilt for choice. My suggestion is to look around before making any purchase as most of the shops sell the same products. My husband bought earphones for rm40 which we thought was quite cheap. But when we went to another shop we found that they sold the same product at only rm30.
Overall this is a good hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ainasierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    914
    568
    106
    83
See reviews for
1,114
353
34
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel is a new hotel at a convenient location. The facilities are new and could not be faulted. However, the service level is terrible. When we arrived, we found that they checked in someone else into our room by mistake and we had to wait 45 min while they sorted things out. We found that the cable TV in the room which we paid extra money for, had bad reception. We ended up watching free-to-air channels from Singapore. Also, I had the same issue as one other reviewer whose key card did not work.
Don't bother with the buffet breakfast. The queues were long and food quality is horrible. You are better off going over to KSL mall or even walking over to Holiday Plaza for McDonalds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius1447, Manager at KSL Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are sorry for the mistake. We were changing system at that time which causes the double checkin. May I know when is the date of your stay and room number? We will certainly rectify those error and improve ourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Booked it through agoda.com. Stayed for 2 nites because attending a wedding and another day a trip to Legoland.
The room is good, clean maybe because they are new. They don't have a bathtub like other 5 star hotel. But my 8 year old son thought the bathroom is quite cool.The food in the restaurant is fantastic. They have a good spread of breakfast buffet.Because the mall is located next door, it is easy to get things that we forgot such as a cap for my son and medication.
There is actually a night market on Monday in front of the hotel.
We are not able to try the pool. (no time)
But I don't think they should claim themselves as a 5 star hotel (maybe 3 or 4 star) because
1) the tv channel selection is hopeless. No additional station except for the free channels.
2) the underground parking is smelly. And we actually got lost trying to find our car. (My advise, better park at the 4th floor)
3) the environment maybe because they have no garden and such.
But then again their price is cheaper than hotels such as Thistle. (5 star)
It was funny when at 3 pm i received a call and asking whether we have checked out. (when we actually checked out at 11 pm) ???? Was so suprised that I forgot to ask the manager why he asked.
They have a new theme park.. dinosaur alive water theme park. My son will like to come back and check out the theme park and pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelakaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

As mentioned many times by other reviewers, to check-in at this hotel you need to take a number and wait until your number is called upon. Fortunately when we checked in on a Tuesday at around 1.30PM despite the crowded checkin cue, the checkout counter was empty and the nice Indian lady at the counter called my wife to the checkout counter and helped checked us in even before we take the number (maybe because we were travelling with five kids 2, 3, 5, 10, and 11 years old). Still it take sometime for her to find our reservation record but we got our room keys within 15 minutes. I made the reservations for the two deluxe rooms (b'fast included) directly on the hotel's website and got a better rate compared to agoda.com.

The room was a little cramped but we manage to fit one room with 2 adults and 2 children (3 and 5) sleeping on a king bed, and the other room with connecting door furnished with 1 queen bed and 1 single bed for 1 adult and 3 children (3, 9, and 11). Since the hotel is still new the room and bathroom are very clean. Room amenities were quite standard. Hair dryer and iron were provided in each room. There is complimentary wifi in the room, the speed is adequate for browsing and emailing (not for youtube though).

Breakfast in Infusion cafe was quite good, although variety of the menu was somehow limited. The good thing for me is that there is a smoking section. The cafe is less crowded after 9AM.
We ordered room service for dinner in two occasions and at both times the food was delivered within 15 minutes or so.

There is nothing much to see and explore around the hotel, except for the mall attached to the hotel. Taxies are easy to find, we just ask the door-man to get one. The blue one has newer fleet and costs more than the red one. We took the blue one from the hotel to Puteri Harbour Family Theme Park and it costs around RM 60 for a single trip. Trip to Kotaraya Terminal on a red taxi costs RM 10. We bought entrance ticket to Legoland from the travel agent at the hotel with the same regular price and got complimentary return transport to Legoland which was convinient.

Overall it was a good experince staying at this hotel, hovewer there is still room for improvement.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JakartaRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed over in JB for one night to buy property and thought this new hotel would be worth a try. Room is clean and quite large. View is not bad and the hotel is relatively new. Check-in queue is not long but had to wait in the queue for about 30 min before I was served. Room key did not work on first time. Tower 2 lift lobby has a strong smell from the restaurant next to it.

Swimming pool seems fun for kids though.

The shopping mall within the complex is really not too impressive although you can get restaurants, hair saloon and supermarket. Unlikely to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Tower 1 is better as there is no smell from restaurant. Anything above 10 floor should give a decent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricSimBoonChye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

johor is developing right now. the hotel pool is in under construction. but the good thing is there is a mall under the hotel, so you can find almost everything, and the breakfast is excellent. we will be back in couple of years, when they finish the construction.

Room Tip: pool view will be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muharram435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Definitely not a 5 star hotel, more like 3 star. Service is poor, facilities suck, food is good, and close proximity of shops is useful. But JB is a hole! However numerous taxis that line up outside makes getting around easy. Just make sure you don't go wondering around outside after dark, the locals are... Hostile.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nosurrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.3 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
8.6 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
3.5 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 107 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#9 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KSL Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KSL Hotel & Resort

Property: KSL Hotel & Resort
Address: 33 Jalan Seladang | Taman Abad, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 107 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — KSL Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KSL Hotel & Resort is the largest integrated resort in Johor Bahru that offers a complete shopping experience with entertainments and accommodations. The hotel is located in the heart of Johor Bahru City. It is about 5 minutes away from the Causeway,10 minutes from Johor Bahru Business District and 20 minutes from LEGOLAND. LEGOLAND tickets and return shuttle service is available at the hotel or you could include it during the booking at our website. The Resort style hotel provides 868 rooms & suites and extensive meeting and event facilities. For meetings and events, KSL Resort offers the perfect combination of first class facilities, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. We also offers a range of wedding packages for your special day.With its convenience and comfort, you are able to enjoy numerous well-known Food & Beverage outlets, Fashion boutiques, Cineplex and Hypermarts (Tesco) all under one roof. Without compromising the location, you still can enjoy the water theme park facilities, Golf simulator experience, pool, billiard and children's amusement arcade.In the evening, all guests are invited to our Mission Bar & Grill, where you are able to enjoy a wide range of imported beers and wines. There will be Barbeque dinner and live band to lead you through the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your KSL Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing