We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel worth staying”
Review of KSL Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
KSL Hotel & Resort
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A hotel worth staying”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Upon arrival at the hotel lobby, I was greeted by the bell boy. There is a queue ticketing machine for checking in. From presenting my check in confirmation slip to the handing over of room access card took less than 10 mins. I do not even have time to enjoy a cup of hot or cold drink at the lobby meant for check in guests while waiting for the queue number to be called. Staff were all friendly if we are not rude and unreasonable. My room at 21st floor came with a very good view of the city. Tower 2 provides a better view if you get a room facing the city. The view is very beautiful at night. Although the mattress was not of top quality for a good night sleep, the room was clean and well maintained. Toilet is clean with an automated cleansing device attached to the side of the toilet seat. There is no bath tub but both the top and hand held shower heads are enough to provide a good shower. Be very careful when you turn on the water tap at the sink. Water "shoot" forward. This is clearly a design fault. LCD TV in the room is big but with limited channels. In room dining is available 24 hours and prices are reasonable. My room came with an iron board without an iron but an iron was brought to me within 5 mins after a phone call was made to the housekeeping unit. I tried calling the reception at about 11.30pm to arrange for a wake up call but gave up after more than 10 attempts within 15 mins. No one picked up the phone. There is no folder normally found in hotel room giving guests an introduction to the hotel facilities. I was looking for the number to dial the reception but could not find the number until I picked up the handset. The numbers are available below the handset. This could be improved by providing a table stand with all the extension numbers. The hotel is located next to the shopping mall with karaoke, lounge and cinema. Breakfast is served on the ground floor. The breaqkfast area is spacious and clean. Food is served fast and warm. Check-out procedure took me less than one minute ! I presented my room card to the staff and he checked on the monitor - that's all it takes. In conclusion, KSL Resort is a hotel worth staying.

Room Tip: Request for Tower 2 with a city view room. Otherwise you will likely to end with a room facing anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    985
    601
    112
    89
See reviews for
1,189
386
41
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed one night here with a friend, and while the hotel is quite new, it seems to fall short of standards. Also, on the day we stayed, the hotel was overrun with tourist groups, which the hotel isn't really capable of handling such massive volume of people - tour buses have nowhere to park, and masses of people overcrowded the reception area.

The check-in wasn't as slow as others have found - it was acceptable in my case, but the elevators were horrible. There were 4 lifts in the one lobby, and one of which was out of order. All guests had to make do with the three lifts, which serves about 25 levels. The way up wasn't too bad, but in the morning rush, we found it very difficult to get into the elevators even though we were on level 19. In the end, we caught one going up, and on the way down, stopped at almost every floor full of people who couldn't get into the elevators. It took more than 5 mins to reach the reception.

Our room, however, was of a reasonable quality, although nothing special for what was advertised as a 5-star hotel. It's clean, modern, and there are no issues. We could also look down at the pool on level 7, and while we didn't use it, it looked to be quite nice. However, it was very crowded at times.

And for those who like to shop, the hotel is linked to a large shopping centre, which also provided some good food options if you want to get away from the generally pricy hotel food. The breakfast buffet, while it has a good variety, it was all about queuing - queuing to get into the restaurant, then queuing for food at most times, some guests just gave up and pushed in. Not that I would encourage anyone to do so, but when it took at least 5 - 10 mins to go down the elevators, with queues everywhere, and the aforementioned tour groups all departing reasonably early in the day, having breakfast was indeed a difficult task.

Overall, while others may have had better experiences, I wished I stayed somewhere else instead.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awesom_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed at the hotel twice. I think the place is improving over time. The second trip (24 Dec) was definitely more enjoyable than the first one. The check in system to me is ok as there are nice seats and refreshments for guests waiting to check in. Requested adjoining non smoking rooms and were given the rooms as requested. Nice view of the city also from the 20th storey. The first trip I was given a smoking room on a lower floor. i guess have to check in early to get the choice rooms. Buffet breakfast is nice and the WIFI works on the second trip. The hotel is built on top of the mall and parking lots can be quite full. The good thing is parking is free for guests.

Room Tip: Go on a Monday when there is a large night market just outside the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yong_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

As it was a relatively new Hotel, we decided to try it for our Christmas getaway. Booked 2 rooms for Christmas eve and day.
Check-In was not so fast, but they have a queue number system which makes checking in smooth and relaxing. There are refreshments while you sit at the comfortable sofa and wait for your number to call. "LOL.... like waiting to see a doctor"
Rooms are new but compared to hotels of similiar standard, they are rather small. View is good for Tower 1 and facilities are OK.
Advantage of a big shopping mall within the whole building and car parks are ample, especially the upper levels.
Cafe food is good but pricey. Room service is very slow.
Overall 3.5 star out of 5.

Room Tip: HIgher floors and Tower One
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChewGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I was on a business trip to JB recently and my colleague booked this hotel for us. It was located next to the shopping complex which I found it's convenient.
We arrived the hotel in the evening around 7pm after our training but waited for about an hour just to get room. The reception are is big but don't understand why it took so long for check-in. I saw other guests were sitting there waiting as well. I hope the hotel can improve the check-in time which I don't think it needs for an hour for check-in since there were not so many guests.
The room is okay in size but I like the design. Clean and modest. Even the hotel got us a smoking floor which we requested to be a non-smoking floor but no choice since there was no vacant room at non-smoking floor, there was no smell at all in the room.
Since we have an early meeting, I went down for early breakfast at around 7.30am but the cafe was full with people. Variety is a lot but I only have limited time to grab some food. After I walked out from the cafe, there was a long queue waiting to enter the cafe. Do you need to have a long queue just to validate the breakfast? Maybe the hotel management can issue voucher for guests to make it faster.
Other than that, no issues. You can opt to stay here if you happen to be at JB. Reasonable price with good location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjwa_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I am on business trip and needed a clean and convenient place to stay (26/12/212 - 28/12/2012)...

Normally I would stay at mutiara hotel JB. I am trying this hotel because someone told me its new and worth a visit (it wasn't a recommendation but a suggestion to try something different).

Well, it's a disappointment. The rate I paid for to stay at room 1845, is around RM300++... What I got was probably worth RM170 nett.

Arrival was a terrible experience.. The layout of the hotel entrance meant a guest is likely to turn into the front entrance- where the parking is not located. :/

And when the parking entrance is found, it is noted that the guests share the same parking as the mall visitors. So I strongly believe security of overnight hotel guests' vehicle is questionable. :D

Checking was a low experience because I am reminded of a visit to Malaysian immigration. I can't remember another hotel that needed to take a number to check in.... So remember to take a number if your unfortunate enough to be staying here... :)

This hotel is a mess- and I frankly would not return for a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinpiped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed in this hotel because of the recomendation from the family who been stayed there before. Being informed will have long que on check in, so had prepared. However, not expecting to be service 50 minutes after we took the q number :( ????....
Booked the room for triple, it's okay. But since we got tower 2 the view not really good. The pools are not ready yet (theme pool), no plan to try it either as the main plan is visiting Legoland and Putri Harbour.
The hotel is next to the KSL Mall so it would be an advantage, food stall are nearby, just walk around the facility you'll find many. WiFi is free... :)

Room Tip: Will choose tower 1 with city view, do not like the pool view as the window glass is to clear and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RadSul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.4 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
2.1 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 109 in Johor Bahru
807 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
0.4 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KSL Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KSL Hotel & Resort

Property: KSL Hotel & Resort
Address: 33 Jalan Seladang | Taman Abad, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — KSL Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KSL Hotel & Resort is the largest integrated resort in Johor Bahru that offers a complete shopping experience with entertainments and accommodations. The hotel is located in the heart of Johor Bahru City. It is about 5 minutes away from the Causeway,10 minutes from Johor Bahru Business District and 20 minutes from LEGOLAND. LEGOLAND tickets and return shuttle service is available at the hotel or you could include it during the booking at our website. The Resort style hotel provides 868 rooms & suites and extensive meeting and event facilities. For meetings and events, KSL Resort offers the perfect combination of first class facilities, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. We also offers a range of wedding packages for your special day.With its convenience and comfort, you are able to enjoy numerous well-known Food & Beverage outlets, Fashion boutiques, Cineplex and Hypermarts (Tesco) all under one roof. Without compromising the location, you still can enjoy the water theme park facilities, Golf simulator experience, pool, billiard and children's amusement arcade.In the evening, all guests are invited to our Mission Bar & Grill, where you are able to enjoy a wide range of imported beers and wines. There will be Barbeque dinner and live band to lead you through the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your KSL Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing