We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and clean but small rooms”
Review of KSL Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
KSL Hotel & Resort
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Melaka
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“New and clean but small rooms”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Went there to spend a night. Booked online and got a great government servant rate. Only paid 160++ for room for 2 with breakfast included. Hotel is spanking new, classy and just above a new shopping mall. It is in Century Garden, and is just a stone's throw away from Mutiara Hotel and also another old shopping mall. Checking in was quite slow, took about 20 minutes for us to get a key even though no queue. Otherwise great location as near everything in town. Room however was small. Didn't really see a difference in the different room types except for the size of the TV, so decided to take the cheapest. Breakfast buffet was good. However, hotel is about 30km(about 30-40minutes drive) from Legoland/Hello Kitty Town which we went to on checking out the next day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melakaG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    985
    601
    112
    89
See reviews for
1,189
386
41
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Needs to take Q number in order to check in. Refreshment was provided during the waiting of checking in.
Nice hotel room but toilet gets flooded everytime you finished shower. Very SLIPPERY and dangerous!
Breakfast spread is good with lots of variety. But it is SUPER crowded on weekends!
The hotel provides table-tennis table and a mini golf range.
KSL mall has nothing much to offer except Manicure services. Supermarket kind of small and nothing much to shop.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAXIM627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My family went for a short holiday and we choose this hotel as this is a brand new hotel. As what we had expected, the room is extremely clean and the shopping centre is just at the ground floor of this hotel. We stayed in the deluxe room in 25th floor. We were given a queen bed and single bed. The beds are very cosy and comfortable and the room environment is very conducive for us to stay in that we are reluctant to go shopping. Please do not miss the scrumptious buffet lunch as we paid RM$42++ per head and there are a large variety of food which is more than what we had expected. The shopping centre has a lot of eateries as well. The swimming pool is small but I saw a new pool area with dinosaur theme is being constructed.

Room Tip: Book a Deluxe room which come with a big room and 46 inch LCD TV and located on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricialim2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Good location, many variety of food in the adjoining shopping centre w Cinema & across the street.
Good quality mattress , nice view at clear night can even see S'pore.
Other facilities are almost not user friendly , limited time on using gym & pool... Reminds me of Primary school days.

Breakfast spread is ok comparable to an international 3 star hotel, but the Roti-prata or Roti-Canal & curry is a """"HUGE"""" disappointment from a coming from a country that loves to eat spicy food...well maybe the curry chef is from Alaska...

During the daytime when its raining, water starts to seep in the through the glass. Well renovation shobby workmanship & cutting corners is rather common in countries w corup cops countries... normal just look at langkawi shabbiness... its easy to see why...

Good thing i woke up early for my BK...
By 9am the guests seems to all woke up & The Food supplies doesn't seems to be able to cope with a full house w Lego land promoting 1night stay package..

If the time taken for checking in & out (2.5 Hours waiting to check out) can be improve its certaintly worth going again...

Room Tip: Avoid room facing the Disco in another low rise building opposite , the BOOM BOOM last till 4am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katana4222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Its a great hotel. New, Beautiful and well-equipped, even better when we were upgraded to a Super Delux. The breakfast is a full spread of international. Very crowded due to LegoLand promo, mostly Singaporean.
THE hotel shopping complex offer further 10% for Singaporean on top of year-end sale; most go.

Room Tip: Rooms are great..no fuss. GO for their breakfast, the RM$50 is valued for 3pax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaWhoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I'm stayed for 10 days in this hotel. Room is very cheap for a 5 star hotel. What to say...everything inside this building... Hotel, restaurants ,shipping complex...just say it everything is here. ***** free parking. Near to Singapore . But at hotel the gym, pool,the golf simulator are closed at 7pm... It is too early for people who back to hotel after work. The infusion restaurant proving a great variety food but only open at 6.30 am

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rasee98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Check-in was very slow with only one staff manning the counter in spite of several guests waiting to check-in. On the contrary, there are 3-4 staff @ the check-out counters when there was no one checking out. Strongly suggest the management to look into the staffing arrangement in this respect.

The deluxe room was smaller than expected. There were leaks in various spots on the glass window panes as it was raining for the past two days.

Breakfast buffet spread was great on the first day. However, it was the same spread on the 2nd day so no more 'wow' factor. Suggest the management to limit the number of pieces per guest each time for the popular roti prata counter as some guests can take 6-8 pcs at one go literally emptying out the tray when there is such a long queue. It is unfair to other guests in line. Alternatively, the serving tray should be placed behind the counter & served by the staff.

There is no lift security in place so any one can access the rooms anytime.

Internet connection is a pain with daily change of username and password. It would be painless if the hotel can set the user id and password by the initial and family name of the guest throughout the entire guest's stay. The operators can be put to better use than to provide user id and password as i believe a good 80% of the calls relates to the same.

The best selling point of the hotel is the shopping mall connected to the hotel. Very convenient.

Overall, many areas of improvement are necessary before the hotel can truly provide the experience of a 5 star hotel stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotell-SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.4 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
2.1 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 109 in Johor Bahru
807 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
0.4 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KSL Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KSL Hotel & Resort

Property: KSL Hotel & Resort
Address: 33 Jalan Seladang | Taman Abad, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — KSL Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KSL Hotel & Resort is the largest integrated resort in Johor Bahru that offers a complete shopping experience with entertainments and accommodations. The hotel is located in the heart of Johor Bahru City. It is about 5 minutes away from the Causeway,10 minutes from Johor Bahru Business District and 20 minutes from LEGOLAND. LEGOLAND tickets and return shuttle service is available at the hotel or you could include it during the booking at our website. The Resort style hotel provides 868 rooms & suites and extensive meeting and event facilities. For meetings and events, KSL Resort offers the perfect combination of first class facilities, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. We also offers a range of wedding packages for your special day.With its convenience and comfort, you are able to enjoy numerous well-known Food & Beverage outlets, Fashion boutiques, Cineplex and Hypermarts (Tesco) all under one roof. Without compromising the location, you still can enjoy the water theme park facilities, Golf simulator experience, pool, billiard and children's amusement arcade.In the evening, all guests are invited to our Mission Bar & Grill, where you are able to enjoy a wide range of imported beers and wines. There will be Barbeque dinner and live band to lead you through the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your KSL Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing