We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location but poor management”
Review of KSL Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
KSL Hotel & Resort
Ranked #8 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location but poor management”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed 3 to 4 Nov 12. Good comfortable beds attached to a big mall and near eateries but road into hotel is very narrow so was jammed on a sat night.

4 Hotel lifts in tower 1 are tiny (one was down) and could not cope with crowds going down for breakfast / checking out in the morning.

Breakfast area on 7th floor was chaos during breakfast on sunday morning. No one coordianting the seating or clearing tables. We had to stakeout for tables and clear oursleves like in a hawker centre!

Food was decent, especially nasi lemak but be prepared tp wait at least 30 mins for your eggs!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wong_martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    959
    591
    110
    89
See reviews for
1,160
378
38
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had a 2D1N stay over the weekends. As we took an organized tour, the check in was efficient as the tour guide had arranged for the keys to the room. Room was not big, but it had a queen size bed and a single bed thus sufficient for a family of four with young children. Rain showerhead which was enjoyable but no bathtub. kettle was provided along with complimentary teabags and sugar. Mini fridge was empty which was good since the supermarket is located just downstairs at the mall. Children had fantastic time in the room and everyone slept well. Beds were firm and the two pillows provided were just right. Couldn't seem to be able to adjust the air con and so was a bit on the cold side.
My room was on the 14th floor, facing the city. One major problem: as it was raining, the rain actually seeped through the window till the pane had a mini puddle. While it did not result in the room being wet, it does make me wonder about the the workmanship of the hotel.
Found the corridors leading to the hotel rooms tad dark but not a major issue.
The fact that the hotel is located in a mall is a big big bonus since shopping can be done. It was pouring when we came, thus we spent our time at the mall instead. lots of eateries, shops and a huge Tesco supermarket.
Breakfast was satisfactory with an assortment of both Asian and Western cuisines, comprising of nasi lemak, fried noodles, baked means, hash brown, cereals, tons of cheese and bread, egg counter, stir fried vegetables, waffles, prata etc. Food was replenished fast, but taste was only average. Good to fill up tummies before heading out.
Check out was speedy too and I noticed a box labelled "Express Check out" placed on a table in which guests can put their electronic keys in and thus minimize queueing. I thought it was a pretty good idea considering the huge amount of people over the weekends.
Will come back again considering the convenience and affordable rate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arielgetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Drop all expectations of a 5-star hotel or you will constantly find yourself unhappy.

Having read the more negative than positive reviews, I checked in with my friends with not-very-high expectations. I like the convenience and the fact that KSL City Mall is connected via the hotel lobby. There are also recommended foodie places nearby, just behind Paragon Hotel which is a short walk away.

I was satisfied with the single room, which can actually accommodate 3 people as there is a bigger bed and a smaller bed. There are only 2 plugs in the room (3, if you plug out the telephone). I guess there's no need for that phone too as there is also another phone inside the bathroom. The beds and pillows were really comfy and I had a good sleep.

What's bed was the service. There are only 4 lifts, of which 1 was spoilt and all of us had to queue up for the remaining lifts which took ages to come. We waited a long time for the lifts during breakfast time but they were always full. In the end, my friends and i decided to find the stairs instead.

Breakfast was horrible because there were limited tables and many uncleared tables. I was quite appalled by their small seating capacity. The entire place was stuffy and crowded. We were left with no choice but to take the table near the door, which led to the pool just right outside and the morning sun glared right into our faces. The egg station was located outdoors and the stack of plates was hot! They felt like they were took out of the microwave oven. The queue was long and the staff in-charge of waffles and sunny-side up eggs never came back. Food choices was very limited. Our 'orange juice' turned out to be mango juice even though the label said otherwise. Everything there was bad except the harsh brown.

I would actually suggest skipping the breakfast (i know we paid for it) but it really isn't worth the wait and the time. Instead, walk over to KSL Mall where there are restaurants and cafes that offer breakfast sets. Or, you could also walk out to try the famous bak kut teh or other local food.

Wifi is available in all rooms but remember to take your ID and password slip from the counter first. 1 user ID is allowed only for 1 device for 1 day's usage. It'll auto lock out and can be troublesome when you keep having to relog to reconnect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yanshyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Excellent location with the conveniences to nearby eateries, entertainment and shopping facilities. Rooms are neat and hassle free , extremely comfortable beds but will be good if can decorate it further with cushions and little perks like better range of tea making facilities , bolsters .....impressive lobby area with good service guards which gave extra assurance to guest's safety..Comfortable rooms with good rates , compared to international hotels, rates is really economical being a local 5 star hotel. Keep up the good work and definately will visit very oftern to stay despite being in nearby singapore.

Room Tip: If you want a good mattress for a good nigh sleep....choose KSL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessirelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Looking at Johor's hotel standard KSL Resort is very nice and comfortable hotel. Prices are very low comparing to offered quality. Hotel is situated over shopping mall (Tesco inside). Rooms are comfortable, there is king-size bed, TV (in superior room cable tv is missing, only deluxe have it). Bathroom is clean and there are every day fresh towels and stuff. It's quite difficult to get iron and iron-board (have to sign 8000MYR deposit form). Generally I do recommend this hotel as one of the best in Johor.

Room Tip: Higher floors are more quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qba_redhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

CHECK IN: Went there on Hari Raya, which is a super peak day. We were directed by a very friendly staff to take a number and wait to check in. There are free refreshments and plush seats were available at their lounge and lobby.
SHOPPING/EATING: KSL hotel has a 4 storey shopping mall within itself. There are many restaurants, some 24hrs. Outside the mall, there are also many restaurants nearby eg, bak kut teh, durians stalls etc.
ROOM: Very clean and spacious. Everything u would get from a 4-5 star hotel, free Wifi, shaver, cloth and also rubber slippers, bathrobes, even bolsters. There's cable TV, some channels are not clear.
BREAKFAST: From Nasi Lemak, Roti canai, American breakfast, yoghurt, assortment of bread, tim sum, fruits, cereal.. WOW
Note there's no indication to show that the table is reserved, so get a person to guard yr table. Our coffee and bananas where cleared and someone else sat on our table.
TRANSPORT: Cabs are easily accessible. There are also buses (causewaylink) that bring you to city square and Legoland at one of the mall's entrance.
OVERALL: Very good, there are people everywhere in the mall and hotel, makes me feel at ease since security is an issue in JB.

Room Tip: Get a room on the high floor during peak season. The lifts are all packed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YellowHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just came for a stay at KSL. Take a longer time for check-in maybe due to public holiday.
We booked thru internet and request a non-smoking room but ended up was not but still not a big deal cos the room don't have any cigarette smell at all.

The room is spacious for 2 persons stay and cleanliness is there, except the aircon need some improvement. No cold enough even after lower the temperature.

The room come with breakfast. Love the egg section and prata section. Foods are replenish fast enough. But it will be better if they get more staffs for the cleaning part. Other then that no complaint at all for the breakfast.

Overall, will definitely return back for a nice and cosy stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayshalws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.4 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
8.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
3.5 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#9 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KSL Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KSL Hotel & Resort

Property: KSL Hotel & Resort
Address: 33 Jalan Seladang | Taman Abad, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — KSL Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KSL Hotel & Resort is the largest integrated resort in Johor Bahru that offers a complete shopping experience with entertainments and accommodations. The hotel is located in the heart of Johor Bahru City. It is about 5 minutes away from the Causeway,10 minutes from Johor Bahru Business District and 20 minutes from LEGOLAND. LEGOLAND tickets and return shuttle service is available at the hotel or you could include it during the booking at our website. The Resort style hotel provides 868 rooms & suites and extensive meeting and event facilities. For meetings and events, KSL Resort offers the perfect combination of first class facilities, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. We also offers a range of wedding packages for your special day.With its convenience and comfort, you are able to enjoy numerous well-known Food & Beverage outlets, Fashion boutiques, Cineplex and Hypermarts (Tesco) all under one roof. Without compromising the location, you still can enjoy the water theme park facilities, Golf simulator experience, pool, billiard and children's amusement arcade.In the evening, all guests are invited to our Mission Bar & Grill, where you are able to enjoy a wide range of imported beers and wines. There will be Barbeque dinner and live band to lead you through the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your KSL Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing