We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveler reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveler reviews.

“Infusion Restaurant, one of the better restaurants in JB”
Review of KSL Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
KSL Hotel & Resort
Ranked #70 of 111 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Infusion Restaurant, one of the better restaurants in JB”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Got a chance to dine at the restaurant, using a voucher with 50% off deal. It comes to about SGD24 for 2 adult.
Big restaurant, wide selection of hot dishes. Live stations include pizza, pasta, Hokkien Mee and roast beef. Meat lovers, you might want to check the place out. There's more than 5 types of meat and poultry, grilled lamb, Nasi Arab, beef stew, roasted chicken, beef roulades etc
Cold section & sushi / sashimi was a little let down. And so are the dessert and fruits.
Hot coffee, tea & iced water are included in the buffet.
Service of the wait staff is up to standard, polite & prompt!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0vespell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    1,010
    617
    116
    91
See reviews for
1,225
402
45
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Short drive from JB checkpoint. KSL city mall is attached to the hotel building.
Our 1st impression was not good, we arrived at 12 pm and they said that check in was at 2pm. when we came back at 2pm, they were at queue number 16. we took queue ticket 36 and had a 90 minute wait before we could check in. at least they provided us with some refreshment (coffee/ tea) while waiting at the twilight lounge. the lobby area had rather fancy looking. people were waiting around in big groups to check in. the reception managed to accommodate to our request of connecting rooms. The hotel is rather new, the pool area is still incomplete.
The toilet was clean, but the design allowed water from the shower to seep out all over the bathroom floor. Our room and bed linen smelt of stale smoke.the bed and pillows were clean and comfortable.
The little touches were not there, for eg there was no stationary, no folder with hotel info, room service menu, nearby attractions, how to access the internet.etc
Breakfast buffet: fair. On our second day, we ate at the bah kut teh shop across the road from the hotel dining room. would i go back again? i'd say yes. its clean, comfortable, close to shops.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

+Great location for shoppers on top of KSL shopping center.
+Brand new hotel, good room size, good breakfast with good available food selection.
+Limited staff doing their best to be helpful to guests
+Nice city view from our 19 th floor room (tower 2)
-We had 2 beds in room, one queen and one single however the length of the beds only 1.75 meter, will not be very comfortable for young people getting taller and taller !
-Security, anyone walking in can use the lifts to the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fei1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have booked a long stay in this hotel as I have just moved to JB on business. Its very new and the rooms are therefore clean, modern and everything works. Basic furnishings but nice decor. King bed is very comfortable.

Plenty of hot water in shower, Contrary to other posts some rooms do have a bath and handheld shower but I prefer a walk-in. Good set of bathroom amenities replenished daily.

Bedding and towels are well laundered and no funny room smells and the room is quiet. No opening windows but aircon works OK. Fridge is empty which is useful if you want to keep your own stuff in there. Not many clothes hangers for a long-stay guest though.

WiFi is a bit slow - even late at night. "Hotel IT is working on it". No cable TV yet so you have to go to the bar to watch international sport.

The bar is rather disappointing. The Filipino (?) band is enthusiastic but the girls simply cannot sing in tune. Watch out for the two floor levels as it is dimly lit and you can easily miss the step as there is no step lighting. Beer promotion of 1 free jug for every two purchased is fine for big groups but not much use for a solo traveller. Bar is quite under utilized as compared to say the Zon Regency. Thankfully no "lonely" bar girls in sight.

Single restaurant tries very hard and food is wide choice and edible, but buffet replenishment and table clearing can be a bit slow during peak hours. No fine dining option.

Swimming pool is now open.

Car parking is fairly easy if you use the upper floors. Basement car park gets very crowded with shoppers. Shopping Centre has a Tesco's but the restaurant choices are mostly Chinese family-focussed. The Western outlets are just fast food. Gets very crowded at weekends. The surrounding area is also very crowded at night with parked cars and motorcycles, taxis, pedestrians and stalls all jumbled up together.

Sales office staff have been very helpful sorting out a good long-stay rate and checking that everything is OK. Reception was not particularly crowded when I arrived and the check-in queue number system allows you to take a seat rather than waiting in line.

So far so good. I'm pretty happy with my choice.

Room Tip: Higher floors will be quieter and lifts are fast. WiFi is not working in Tower 1 at the moment so l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

the room was nicely decorated and the breakfast was simple and nice with food like prata, nasi lemak, waffles. the staff were friendly and check in process was fast but the carpark was so full that it made a long line outside the shopping mall finding a parking lot took me up to one hour the hotel should reserve some parking lot for the hotel guest the swimming pool was open but kind it is opp the ballroom and when i was there they had a housing expo and no one dare to go swimming. the other thing was the shopping mall closes at 10.30pm sharp if you are on the other side of the mall you will have to walk around the mall to the hotel the gards will not let you cut though even you show them your room key card i have to take the back stairs to get to the hotel the wifi in the room was good but after not using for afew hours you will get lock out and you will have to type the username and password again if you want to use wifi you will have to request when checking in for a slip of paper with the username and password

Room Tip: never go down to the shopping mall alone after 10pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenny2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Many Singaporeans travel to JB for food, shopping and well just a short relief away from home. I do so for essentially the same reasons and more practicable for the much cheaper products. That being said, KSL touts itself as a five star hotel. I will approach this review based on the improvements or not I've experienced with some of the issues other reviewers have encountered.

Driving to the KSL hotel (for now none of the amenities; SPA, golf course, swimming pool etc at the resort are available so it ain't technically a resort), you park at the general car park with the rest of the shoppers of the mall.The hotel is located on the 2nd floor just adjacent to the Tang Shifu restaurant.

Hotel lobby looks grand, but in my opinion pretentious. The seats boasts unnecessary adornments which serve nary other purpose then as a show. We arrived at 3pm on a thursday, proceeded to pick up our ticket slip for check in and was issued a 10 number away wait from a machine. We relaxed at the lobby seats as check in was slow and the counter were not fully staffed on a weekday. I showed my reservation slips and was hinted that it was not captured in their system and they had to set my reservations on their offered price on their brochures; RM160 and with the taxation come up to RM185.6 for the basic room/night and includes breakfast for 2. This is a better deal compared to my reservation on Booking.com which was of the same price without the breakfast. Do bear in mind that the said price is only eligible for weekday stay. For the weekends I was told was around RM235 before inclusion of taxes. From the tips gathered here, I asked for the 2nd Tower and on high floor. Porters were ready to help with the luggage but we declined as it was only for a 2 night stay and we weren't carrying much. The 2nd Tower's lift landing was just next to the Infusion Cafe & Restaurant and yes there is a noticeable smell of food and oil cooking whenever you go to the lifts. Its not something I cannot deal with but considering the lifts do take a while to come and the guests gathering around, it can get a little stuffy. The room and all that was in it were new. No stains, no units were not working. Chiller was there, hair dryer was there, big screen TV was there; channel selections and quality were dismal (those who have their own USB drives with movies or HDMI port, you could plug in for your own entertainment). Tea, coffee, drinking water, washroom toiletries and electronic safe were available. It was essentially ready on the go for a good stay. On the 22nd floor, there really is nothing to complain about obstructions of views cause there were no other building around of that height within the near skyline. Fluffy pillows of 2 per single bed and 4 for queen bed were provided. Electric light switches are located conveniently at the bed side. There is nothing with this price point to complain about as all the essentials are there. Oh! Another mention, there is a quirky contraption in the toilet which was a nozzle to wash the tushy was a surprise and a good one. Room service menu was not available and I had to call for it to be delivered which was done in a swift manner.

Breakfast was a good selection of breads, salads, fruits and what have you. Despite the crowds, plates were cleared on time, food were replenished and generally managed sufficently.

Checking out when we approached the line of 10 people ahead of us. I expected to be a nightmare. But I was pleasantly surprised as a manager was there to expedite guests to waiting counter staff and more importantly a staff with an electronic device was moving along the check out queue validating the car park tickets which would have saved as the additional time spent on another queue. Brilliant!

I have stayed at the Grand Sentosa, Crystal Crown and the needless experience of 11@ Century just across from KSL. This is the best as yet for convenience, price point and service. There is as yet no languidness exhibited in comparison with some other establishments. Could it be the crowd or the management's directions which keeps them at their toes. For now, KSL is the better of the lot.

Room Tip: High floor, high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheops75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

The check in procedure is a bit turn off thing coz you have to take a queue no. and wait for your turn. Staff should have been more pro active to mention to guest yhat there is a complimentary refreshments provided while waiting to check in. I gotta wait for about 30 mins for my turn before checking in. Rooms were clean as the hotel is brand new.
Breakfast spread was good and delicious. Location was fantastic either coz there is a huge shopping mall located at the ground level. Free parking space provided for guest. And if you are from central jb, taking a cab will cost about 6rm. Overall. its a good experience and i will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank md_yunus_musa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.4 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
3.5 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 111 in Johor Bahru
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 111 in Johor Bahru
1,292 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
0.4 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 111 in Johor Bahru
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KSL Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KSL Hotel & Resort

Property: KSL Hotel & Resort
Address: 33 Jalan Seladang | Taman Abad, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 111 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — KSL Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KSL Hotel & Resort is the largest integrated resort in Johor Bahru that offers a complete shopping experience with entertainments and accommodations. The hotel is located in the heart of Johor Bahru City. It is about 5 minutes away from the Causeway,10 minutes from Johor Bahru Business District and 20 minutes from LEGOLAND. LEGOLAND tickets and return shuttle service is available at the hotel or you could include it during the booking at our website. The Resort style hotel provides 868 rooms & suites and extensive meeting and event facilities. For meetings and events, KSL Resort offers the perfect combination of first class facilities, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. We also offers a range of wedding packages for your special day.With its convenience and comfort, you are able to enjoy numerous well-known Food & Beverage outlets, Fashion boutiques, Cineplex and Hypermarts (Tesco) all under one roof. Without compromising the location, you still can enjoy the water theme park facilities, Golf simulator experience, pool, billiard and children's amusement arcade.In the evening, all guests are invited to our Mission Bar & Grill, where you are able to enjoy a wide range of imported beers and wines. There will be Barbeque dinner and live band to lead you through the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your KSL Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing