We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Northern Indian Food In JB”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chakra

Chakra
Ranked #8 of 872 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $46
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since opening its doors in 2005, Chakra has already made a name for itself amongst discerning diners in Johor. Dining out at chakra is a unique experience, bringing you the essence of fine Indian cuisine, in stylish and sophisticated Surroundings or at the comfort of your own home with our takeaway service. Specialising in Indian food, the restaurant offers authentic high quality Indian cuisine which is freshly prepared using only the finest ingredients with an exquisite blend of aromatic and delicate herbs and spices. Our chefs are highly experienced, trained & worked in India in leading Restaurants & hotels. Their skill, expertise and passion will bring you a diverse range of culinary tastes where you can enjoy choosing from the very best starters to vegetarian specialties to exotic meat dishes to coastal sea food authentic dishes and last at not least without our Yummy desserts..
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Northern Indian Food In JB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Got to love this one. Been here numerous time, never disappoint me on my visit there always. Keep up the good quality food!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kakimakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chakra_rest_jb, Manager at Chakra, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Valued Customer

Greetings from Chakra Restaurant!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your meal and we have met your expectation, feedback like yours will also keep our team motivated.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again for a fine moment with us.

Best Regards
Chakra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    65
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Delicious but a Little Too Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

A house converted restaurant, Chakra can be a little difficult to find since it's partially hidden by the highway in front of it. The interior has a very homely Indian feel. Waiting time for food is somewhere between 15-30 minutes. Loves most of the Northern Indian food there. Tandoori is excellent and we loves the beriani too but portion is really really small and a little too pricey. Parking can get be difficult to find too especially since they are located along a narrow road with limited parking space.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank colourstreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chakra_rest_jb, Manager at Chakra, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Chakra!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. Let me first apologize on not meeting your expectation and i assure you to work on the areas you highlighted.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. I shall have your feedback shared with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you again for a fine moment with us.

Best Regards,
Chakra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice vegetarian dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We heard it was the best Indian restaurant in the area and indeed I had one of the best vegetarian dinners ever. An old family home converted to a restaurant with private rooms or you can choose to sit outside. Very authentic. Hard to find a parking space though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Breki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chakra_rest_jb, Manager at Chakra, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Valued Customer

Greetings from Chakra Restaurant!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your meal and we have met your expectation, feedback like yours will also keep our team motivated.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again for a fine moment with us.

Best Regards
Chakra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Ok confessions first. The proprietors and management have became friends. Confession out of the way. I/we love the food there to bits the flavours are full and subtle without being overpowering. The ambiance is perfect for a group of friends (and in my case business clients/colleagues). The only downside, if in fact you could call it that, is standing up to leave after you have eaten and drank to much!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MadMick65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chakra_rest_jb, Manager at Chakra, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Valued Customer

Greetings from Chakra Restaurant!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your meal and we have met your expectation, feedback like yours will also keep our team motivated.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again for a fine moment with us.

Best Regards
Chakra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OK food, bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We purchase the meal from Groupon.

Thought is might be good to experience. But yet we were again...wrong!

Groupon price = cheap service?

The waiter took away our drinks and foods even without asking!

Food is consider ok if compare to some other non-mamak indian restaurant. But I would not think is good enough.

We will not visit this restaurant again due to the service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sogen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chakra_rest_jb, Manager at Chakra, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Chakra!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. Let me first apologize on not meeting your expectation and i assure you to work on the areas you highlighted.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. I shall have your feedback shared with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you again for a fine moment with us.

Best Regards,
Chakra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chakra also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Chakra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing