We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rooms Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rooms Boutique Hotel
Ranked #31 of 103 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

an excellent place to crash down for a night or two if you are travelling and just need a place to sleep. rooms are fairly clean, neat and colourful. Nice design. parking is a no issue as there will be a reserved parking manned by a security guard all night, and right in front of the hotel too. this is very convenient especially when you are tired and arriving very late at night. the hotel is situated a little bit out of the busy city but the access is easy as it is just beside the jb-pasirgudang highway. so getting into town is easy, and still can come back to a quite place to sleep.

Room Tip: get one with window the very least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ezhamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
13
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

It was the first time I stayed at the Rooms Boutique Hotel in Johor while traveling from Singapore to Kuala Lumpur. it was a terrific little place with probably no more than 30-35 rooms altogether. Rooms are extremely clean and tidy with full amenities considering such a good room rate. Customer service at the Front Office was simply great; very helpful staff and owner (I think his name is Ng) which I have met accidentally while staying there. Too bad they don't have a restaurant on the premises for guests' convenience; but nevertheless, the hotel is surrounded by different inexpensive restaurants. Each room is decorated differently and in pleasant colors.

all in all I got my money worth out of the accommodation then some more.

I would recommend it highly to travelers and guests who are doing business in Johor

Room Tip: rooms are so different from each other; any room on the property seems good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

INTRO: Went for a stay from 14TH-15th Dec. Stayed on Design Mini Suite. There were good reviews already written by other travelers. My review made references to them, in addition with my personal experience.


TRANSPORT: Took a cab from JB Sentral taxi stand (Its between JB Custom and City Square) to the hotel. The trip cost RM$20 (Flat fee. NOT BY METER).

A return cab ride (from the hotel to JB Sentral) cost RM$16, inclusive of RM$3 as booking

(Note: The blue cab was for tourist. More expensive. So I took the red cab)


LOBBY: Its nicely decorated. There was even a cosy waiting lounge having good aircon, reading materials and a PC. However at the receptionist area, it was quite warm as the aircon was not fully turned up. There was also a small balcony outside the lobby for guests to smoke and chill.

BEDSHEET CLEALINESS: Overall Clean.

STAFF: Able to converse in English. Very approachable and willing to help you.

AIRCON: It’s working and adjustable. You could tune for it to be cooling.
However the air vent from the toilet could be noisy, especially when the night was quiet. I mistaken the air vent noise for that of a noisy aircon.

SHOWER: It had a RAIN SHOWER.
The water was warm, but not hot.

LIGHTS: Fairly lighted room

WIFI: N.A. (Cannot recall)

TV CHANNELS: Mainly local channels. For foreign channels there were ESPN, MTV TVBS –Taiwan, Discovery Channel and Star Movies. Quite an even mixed of options.

The room had a Panasonic LED TV.

SAFEBOX: Cannot recall if there was one

BATHROBE: N.A.

HAIRDRYER: May borrow from receptionist

BREAKFAST BUFFET: N.A.

RESTURANT: N.A.

ROOM SERVICE: Didn’t try

MASSAGE: N.A.

SWIMMING POOL: N.A.

LOCATION: I would cover abit more on the vicinity, for fellow travelers to move around. As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel was located within “Car City”, with many small shophouses providing car washes or repairs services. On top of that, there were other hotels like RIA hotel, JSL hotel and (at least) 3 other small hotels around Room Boutique Hotel.

Overall the area was definitely not a place to do retail shopping. However some reviews inaccurately stated that there was no shop selling essential items or eateries nearby the hotel. In fact there was a provision shop opposite the hotel.

Taken in context, no “Car City” stood alone. Its supported by a town surrounding it. Just 400 meters away from the hotel, there was an open air food court called M Zone Garden. If one were to venture around during daytime (where it was safer), within a 600m radius around the hotel, one would find quite a number of local Chinese dishes and some Malay food stores to experiment. One could also find other local marts and a Giant store nearby.

To orientate myself around the town, I used the Petronas petrol kiosk area as the anchor. It 1 street away from the hotel. Nearby Petronas, there was the BHP petrol station and a JB specialist hospital (its right across the main road, opposite BHP petrol station). Together Petronas, BHP and JB specialist hospital together, it would form a linear line.

7-11 was located along the stretch of shops opposite BHP petrol station and Petronas kiosk. On the other hand, near the BHP petrol station, there was a 1Malaysia store, selling essential items at a local price.

I hoped the above points somehow help fellow travelers navigate around the town, as it could be alittle challenging with no major landmarks to bookmark the navigation.


CONCLUSION: It was a good no-frill hotel. The room was creatively decorated with a lot of fellow travelers having complimented on that. For the space of a boutique hotel room, the layout was nicely arranged such that it was spacious to walk around the room. Only possible drawbacks for the room were the noisier air vent and if it could be better sound proof.

With the hotel being situated in a car city, it assured a quiet and peaceful place to rest, though there was a lack of shopping option. There were plenty of local foods for one to experiment on too.

Overall, it was an enjoyable stay. For a reasonably price nice boutique hotel, I would give it a 4 out of 5 stars and would return to stay.

Room Tip: There are definitely provision shops and local marts around the hotel. Its not a cave located in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sands_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I should have read the reviews thoroughly before booking...anyhow, this is a nice, clean and small hotel.
Checking in and out was fast and hassle free...just remember to have cash in your pocket because they only accept cash for deposit. Not much deposit needed though, only RM50, refundable upon check out.
Did not expect the mini suite to be so mini, and there's no bed, table and chair in the room. Mattress is laid on a platform to make it look special.
Although the room information mentions hairdryer available in the room, it was only available upon request from the reception. The reception was kind enough to let my wife keep it until we check out.
Although the bathroom is small, it is well maintained and very clean. However, the tiles are slippery when wet because it is those smooth type. Gotta be extra careful especially when applying shower gel during shower. Toothbrush set was provided in the room, together with two towels and other toiletries.
This hotel is not disabled friendly. There's no lift up to the rooms. There is only three floors in this hotel. However, we were glad to walk up the stairs after some heavy dinner.
If you are a light sleeper, get prepared to hear noise of people closing their doors or the next door's tv running on. This means people outside could also hear you talking inside your room.
Not convenient if you do not drive because it is located a short distance from JB town. Food is available around the hotel.
Overall, it is a nice hotel with friendly staff, but I think it is more suitable for business travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor. It is less noisy. But it might be smoking rooms on the top floor, so, might a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

When i travel to JB, I choose Rooms Boutique Hotel because it look very unique from the web.After i spend 2 nights at the hotel it is true that the room is very nice and clean with friendly staff value for money. Will come back to this hotel for my next trip to JB.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoonYow N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
500 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night for business trip. Colleague booked a standard room for me - but we went to have a look at the room before I stayed for the night. Decided to have look at their other rooms available - chic designs. I took the design mini suite - each room had different designs. So, the staff was nice enough to let me look at the rooms until I was satisfied with the rooms. Some of the rooms had mirrors next to the bed or on the ceiling which would not be comfortable sleep-wise. Overall, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swim_jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed here for 3 days 2 night, i was amazed the look of their rooms from their websites and it was exactly awesome in real life. the room was clean, lobby was clean, staff are friendly, everything was perfect. it was a really good stay. the room not too small. comfortable for 2-3 people in deluxe room. plus they also have design room for more pleasant experience.

but however the area might be quite far from Johor Bahru, about 15 minute driving. despite the area, everything was awesome! i had a really pleasant stay.

Room Tip: try to have their creative design room. experience a different stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AzraiiZulkiple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hallmark Hotel
Grand Hallmark Hotel
#54 of 103 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
2.0 mi away
JS Hotel
JS Hotel
#20 of 103 in Johor Bahru
4.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
10.0 mi away
Princeton Hotel
Princeton Hotel
#24 of 103 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Elmark Hotel
Elmark Hotel
#30 of 103 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
1.6 mi away
Silka Johor Bahru
Silka Johor Bahru
#33 of 103 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
6.4 mi away
Tune Hotel Danga Bay
Tune Hotel Danga Bay
#11 of 103 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms Boutique Hotel

Property: Rooms Boutique Hotel
Address: 41 Jalan Rosmerah 2/16 | Taman Johor Jaya,, Johor Bahru 81100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 103 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rooms Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Johor Bahru, Rooms Boutique Hotel is a 2-minute walk from local dining options. It offers design rooms with a flat-screen TV, room service and free Wi-Fi access.Hotel Rooms Boutique is 100 metres from the nearest nightclub and a 5-minute drive from Jusco Tebrau and Tesco hypermarkets. It is a 10-minute drive from Danga Bay and a 20-minute drive from City Square.Air-conditioned rooms feature their own unique décor and designer furniture. Tea/coffee making facilities and free bottled water are provided. Private bathrooms come with a rainshower and hairdryer.The hotel provides an internet corner with complimentary internet access. Staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with fax/photocopying, laundry and luggage storage services. Ironing facilities are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rooms Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing