We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Smells like cigarettes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 90 Johor Bahru B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Smells like cigarettes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

It's a boutique hotel with a minimalist concept, and you get what you pay for. Personally I didn't mind it as the place was relatively clean, big shower stall and modern furnishings.

The superior room; good for smaller-build individuals as the place is quite small and there isn't much space for large bags and many things.

Location: just a short drive from Danga Bay, a place with a few restaurants overlooking the water. The entire town itself is unremarkable, as I would not have went there if it wasn't to visit Legoland.

The only thing that I really didn't like was the smell of cigarettes in the corridors, the hotel and even in the room when the hotel itself is a non-smoking hotel.

Sometimes the price tag can serve as an indicator of expectations.

Room Tip: Go for the bigger rooms if you have two bags or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jee_Yg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    35
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
19
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Get a superior room with just RM 101 per night. Check in is fast, they do take RM 50 as deposit. My room is at second floor. No lift provide. Bed is nice, complimentary wifi is really good. A modern bathroom design with sliding glass door. Hot water is great. The hotel provide complimentary coffee and tea sachet in the room. LCD TV and AC good enough. However my room got no window.

Few nice restaurant nearby. One of it is Restoran Singgah Selalu, but you need to cross the highway in front hotel area, just wait about 1 minute, then the road will clear for you to cross. We have a really good dinner with live band in this restaurant (11 pm at that time).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rezzqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is my regular hotel whenever i come to JB. It is strategically located at Danga Bay which is just a few minutes drive to JB town. It's clean and new ! Love the pillow, bed, rain shower and the fun interior design ! Friendly staff ! FREE WIFI !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beornb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandakan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

staffs were very courteous, friendly and knowledgable. price is very reasonable and rooms are comfortable with modern designs. we didn't have problems in finding places to dine nearby. the good point also it is located just next to police station. no safety issues :). definitely coming back to this boutique hotel in future!

Mr. Kevin & all staffs..you guys really did a good job!


Mrs. Gene Tan

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rayner888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My band - the Two Hats Gang - were put up at Danga Bay's Zoom Inn boutique hotel when we performed at Bar Lazio, last week. The hotel is really good, the rooms very comfortable, small but when all you need is a hot shower and comfortable, this is a great place. The service by Zainab Idris and her team is very warm. They are all out to please you and very helpful at giving direction and even a short ride into town. We also checked out the executive suite (they have four units) and found quite good for parents and a kid. There is a bus service just around the corner for anyone who to visit Singapore's Universal Studios and Sentosa Island. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CruzinAlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. The room is clean and cozy, staffs are friendly and helpful. Nearby Tune Hotel so is easy to locate. There're cafe and food stall around neighbor. Absolutely worth for the money!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank j4janc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
3.2 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.0 mi away
Tune Hotel Danga Bay
Tune Hotel Danga Bay
#12 of 103 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
3.8 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#5 of 103 in Johor Bahru
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Rooms Boutique Hotel
Rooms Boutique Hotel
#31 of 103 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
2.4 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#8 of 103 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel

Property: Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel
Address: Unit 7 8 & 9, Block 7, Danga Bay, Jalan Skudai, Johor Bahru 80200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Designer Hotel For Everyone" - That is our philosophy and concept. Stylish, affordable, clean, secure and friendly hotel that is easily accessible by car. Our 28 uniquely designed rooms come with complimentary WIFI internet connection, hot and cold rain shower, in-house convenient store, business facilities (internet stations - complimentary usage, faxing, photocopying and etc.), secure room key card system, daily housekeeping, complimentary bottle water and coffee/tea, 5 Star hotel standard King Koil mattresses and in-room LCD TV with satellite channels. Our close proximitiy to Danga Bay beach front marina centre, upcoming Iskandar City Development(where Legoland is located), Causeway Link Bus Station, Larkin Sentral Bus Station, Johor Bahru city centre, highway to Kuala Lumpur and Woodlands Interchange (to Singapore) make it a convenient location to be. Car park area is free and safe as we are located a few doors away from a police station. Our staffs are trained to guide you to various dining/entertainment hotspots and tourist attraction that Johor Bahru and Malaysia can offer. Pick us for the sheer business convenience and peace of mind "home away from home" experience where impeccable service, beautiful beaches, comfortable yet stylishly designed rooms and classy restaurants await. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing