We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JB City Hotel

JB City Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JB City Hotel
Ranked #58 of 101 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

This is the hotel if you are on a tight budget. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. There are windows and non windows room . I recommend the window rooms and at least you know if its day or night. The only complain is that they do not provide drinking water as they only provide a water dispenser on the 2nd floor minus the hot water.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hairy_Harun_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Batu Pahat, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We ran out of options and had to find a place to rest for the night. Got a Classic room for RM109. King sized bed, old furniture, old tv. Very convenient however. The room facing the main road is quite noisy. At least the bathroom is quite clean.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank monada76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

The room is spick and span, spacious and well-lit. There are plenty of parking lots and a few mamak stalls nearby. Danga bay is easily accessed (less than 10 mins driving). Distance to Tasman Sutera Utama where you can find a shopping mall and a lot of interesting restaurants also around 10 mins driving.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MonkeyTeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

It was actually easy to find, but with the many road diversions, you really gotta drive cautiously in order not to miss it. As long as you stay on Jalan Skudai Kiri which is off the expressway, you will find the hotel.

The lobby is quite huge, and the check in was a little slow but manageable. I booked a triple room and a family room, both of which are spacious. They are not spotlessly clean, just basic clean with dust at the corners. We found small cockroaches in both rooms when we arrived, and one of them was crawling on the bed. The triple room had a funny smell. The family room had a stained wall at a corner, and the air conditioner made a loud noise every 10-15 minutes.

The bathrooms were clean, with much toiletries provided. Perhaps a shower curtain could be fixed up, otherwise the floors will be wet.

There are TVs in the rooms, and there are water (hot and cold) dispensers on every floor. We were disappointed that there's no fridge in the room because we wanted to keep our drinks cold.

We didn't get to try any food at the hotel or nearby since shops were closed due to a public holiday, but there are a few fast food restaurants nearby.

Overall, it's a very basic hotel with helpful staff. If you're a very light sleeper and you're very fussy when it comes to cleanliness, keep looking. Otherwise, one or two nights is fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank broadshouldersgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

At first I was a little doubtful on the hotel when i was browsing it on the website but to my surprise it exceeded my expectation. The room is spacious and clean. The staffs are friendly and helpful. Value for money!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Yippiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
7.1 mi away
Hotel Time
Hotel Time
#69 of 101 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
3.5 mi away
Zen Zeng Hotel
Zen Zeng Hotel
#35 of 101 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tune Hotel Danga Bay
Tune Hotel Danga Bay
#11 of 101 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Meldrum Hotel
Meldrum Hotel
#49 of 101 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
5.7 mi away
Elmark Hotel
Elmark Hotel
#28 of 101 in Johor Bahru
4.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grand Hallmark Hotel
Grand Hallmark Hotel
#54 of 101 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JB City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JB City Hotel

Property: JB City Hotel
Address: NO. 195 K-M, Jalan Skudai Kiri | Batu 4 1/2, Tampoi, Johor Bahru 81200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 101 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — JB City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your JB City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing