We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impromptu visit to JB, last minute choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Sentosa Hotel
Ranked #7 of 109 Johor Bahru B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Was in JB for one night, arrived late and this hotel presented itself in front of us. The rates were reasonable at first when we asked, but upon setting our foot in the room, we thought it was not worth the money. The rooms although quite huge, were nothing to shout about. In fact, I got a smoking room (and I didn't as for one) and the smell of lingering smoke filled the room.

The bathroom was small and hardly have any place in the toilet area. Toilet fittings were broken, they didn't bother to fix them back. As we arrived late, I was quite tired and did not have interest in turning on the miniature TV affixed on the wall. And when we woke up next morning, we rushed to check-out of the hotel.

Parking was near non-existent, as we had to park at the mall's parking and paid a hefty fee. Otherwise, you can park on the streets but risk having your car stolen during the night.

Only good thing about this hotel is outside of it. It is near to many good eateries. Getting around JB is also easy from here as it is almost in the heart of everything. Will I stay here again? Probably not. For the price of this hotel, I could probably find better if I booked earlier.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for non-smoking rooms if you're not a smoker. They have 2 wings, one has carpe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 129 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

The location of the hotel is very good, many eateries nearby the hotel. However, the hotel room is dirty, stain on the carpet and even they don't clean the shower screen, there are yellowish stain on the screen. Sound proofing is bad, u can hear people talking outside when the door is close. I was awake when people talking on the corridor at 2am in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamNKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The location is perfect, nearby Kimdo and 101 seafood restaurant, 24hr Old town white coffee, massage shop, lok lok ( husband and wife owner offer better service and cheaper price), pub. The room is spacious, twin beds can combine into one with a little gap. Double room has 3 pillows. Toilet is clean and the hot water facilities functions good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimsweetday_Goh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was a very good stay. The staff in the hotel are all very friendly and helpful in any enquiries that we have. The room rates are very reasonable and there is free wireless at the hotel lobby and in the room. The hotel is very accessible to shopping areas and there is alot of good food nearby. The rooms and toilet are clean. Overall i can rate it as value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ndatsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

You will love this place if you love food and massage. Kimdo seafood with the bbq stall is just in front of the hotel. luk luk available till 4am. aromatherapy at RM99 with steam room and buffet 24 hours. but normally we go to Zillion and Fizzio - Prefer Fizzio massage. Nice local food e.g. kwa ki fish ball noodle and soon huat bak kut nearby. Will definitely be back to the hotel as we love the food nearby.
We stayed in a deluxe room which was very spacious. It seems that only 1st and 2nd floor have big TV 42 inch - those on the 3rd and 4th floor only 21 inch. However almost everything else is chargeable- 10RM for extra pillow. $10 deposit for lan cable...have to request for hair dryer etc Like the free lans and safe box in the room. Big table which we spread our supper.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a big TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilylee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stay here for 1 night.

- Clean room and big enough (Compared to usual room)
- Clean Toilet with basic amenities
- Cute TV, I have to watch nearest as I can
- Nice location, a lot of cheap and yummy night food stalls within walking distance
- Cozy lobby
- Average breakfast

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leri X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Location : it is convenience for you to find food and there is guardian and Watson besides the hotel

Room: do not have built in hair dryer, you have to request at the reception. And guess what, they will collect it back after few hours and not on the next day during check out. So if you still need it on the next morning, you have to re-request it.. Swt... No laundry bag., remember to bring your own!

I really feel this hotel have housekeeping = no housekeeping. They charge every service they provide. My sister was asking for changing the wet towel to the new 1 after use, the housekeeping request for rm5/changing. Besides, when we request for cleaning service, we are informed by them that we might get charge depends on the service provided by the housekeeping..so does it mean the the room I pay only for the bed? What the housekeeping for?!

Although it stated that we can enjoy watching varieties tv channel in their hotel but guess what only 1/10 channel is clear.

For me, if I visit Johor next time. I will not stay at here anymore

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busybody9009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
2.2 mi away
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
#36 of 109 in Johor Bahru
330 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tune Hotel Danga Bay
Tune Hotel Danga Bay
#13 of 109 in Johor Bahru
852 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ritzton Hotel
Ritzton Hotel
#29 of 109 in Johor Bahru
19 reviews
2.2 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#21 of 109 in Johor Bahru
888 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sentosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sentosa Hotel

Address: Hotel Sentosa Jalan Sutera | Ground Floor, Block A, Plaza Sentosa, Taman Sentosa, Johor Bahru 80150, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $25 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Sentosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sentosa Hotel Johor Bahru, a three star urban class hotel is ideally located in the heart of business and 'Chinatown' district of Johor Bahru. Grand Sentosa Hotel is filled with happenings from day till night. Witness the liveliness of the city as night's falls, savour tantalizing cuisines or party and shop to your heart's content. Grand Sentosa Hotel Johor Bahru, which is within Plaza Sentosa, you can also enjoy shopping with a variety of anchors which include the largest family spa in Malaysia, F&B establishments and retailers include costume jeweleries, bridal galleries, optical, watches, Chinese medical halls, reflexology centres, family karaoke lounges , night clubs, discotheques, hair and beauty salon, cafes and various specialty stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Sentosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing