We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Sentosa Hotel
Ranked #9 of 105 Johor Bahru B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Grand Sentosa hotel is clean and economical. It has decent rooms with windows (overlooking a huge wall, as that of no windows) but internally is well put together. Toilet and bath facilities are good, the room is pretty spacious. The breakfast is decent. It is currently on good rates so worth a stay. Vicinity is nothing fabulous, the seafood restaurant across the road is always crowded but food is nothing fantastic. Sentosa is not at all decently open. There are massage palours around with some provision shops and cheap eatery. Thats about it. I think for the property to be worth a stay, the vicinity needs further development but judging from the looks of it, Sentosa will probably be as dead as it is now than in 5 years.

Room Tip: Pay a buck or two more for the better rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Grand Sentosa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 125 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2011

Was staying here for my Singapore Universal Trip.

The location of the hotel is not very nice. Hard to find if you are driving here the first time - no signboard leading to the hotel.

The transaction were smooth, from checking in until checking out.

The rooms has no view at all but it is fine to me as i am only staying here for my sleep! The TV was small - maybe the smallest that i found in hotels - maybe like 15 inch, not sure. But my 22 in monitor definately bigger! Breakfast served on the 1st floor of the shopping mall (same building) - the hotel does not have a coffee house. However, there is a 24hr coffee shop right outside. And not a place to spend your time with your family & kids - no activities at all.

The staff was very helpful.

And the charge is MYR140 for Deluxe Room with King Bed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nawza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This hotel is in a pretty good location where it is just besides The store @ Taman sentosa. Hotel Price @ 100RM is pretty decent as it is opening special for walk-in. But I have forgotten to ask them when the promotion is going to ends.

I have no chance to try out the breakfast as special rates didn't include in it. But no worries, as there's plenty of coffee shops around the hotel. Or you can go ahead to the 24hrs Old town coffeeshop for breakfast too.

The walls are thin as I can hear the music from the PUB downstairs pounding away, The bedroom is simply design and furnished with basic furnitures. To my dismay, there's no hairdryer in the toilet. Nevertheless, overall is a decent stay for a night.

Room Tip: Get far from the lift... if not it is pretty noisy to keep hearing people footsteps outside the door...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hicheerios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Come across this hotel via Air Asia Go and since the price is very low at S$31.00 per night (after a 15% discount) decided to give it a try. Some hiccups during check-in as the reception does not have my records in their computer system but this is sorted out within 30 minutes.

Realize the hotel which is located same row with The Store supermarket & a 24 hours Old Town White Coffee outlet and at least 2 pubs at Plaza Sentosa just open for business about a month ago and has 260 rooms. Lobby looks grand but when you reach the room it looks kind of budget hotel with basic facilities and a small Samsung LCD TV. I believe no breakfast is served at this hotel but you can always enjoy a nice cup of coffee at Old Town. At night plenty of hawker stall around so easy to get some nice foods.

Overall a nice stay at this hotel. Will stay again in my next visit.

Room Tip: Plaza Sentosa where the hotel is located is currently under refurbishment and a lot of outlet is not...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpmy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onemaniacbola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: lokasi hotel yang strategis karena dekat dengan pusat perbelanjaan
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wilaadipurnama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
Thank Yoyok W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Paragon
Hotel Grand Paragon
#19 of 109 in Johor Bahru
487 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
0.8 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Regency Hotel
Hallmark Regency Hotel
#20 of 109 in Johor Bahru
174 reviews
2.3 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 109 in Johor Bahru
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sentosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sentosa Hotel

Address: Hotel Sentosa Jalan Sutera | Ground Floor, Block A, Plaza Sentosa, Taman Sentosa, Johor Bahru 80150, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $28 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Sentosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sentosa Hotel Johor Bahru, a three star urban class hotel is ideally located in the heart of business and 'Chinatown' district of Johor Bahru. Grand Sentosa Hotel is filled with happenings from day till night. Witness the liveliness of the city as night's falls, savour tantalizing cuisines or party and shop to your heart's content. Grand Sentosa Hotel Johor Bahru, which is within Plaza Sentosa, you can also enjoy shopping with a variety of anchors which include the largest family spa in Malaysia, F&B establishments and retailers include costume jeweleries, bridal galleries, optical, watches, Chinese medical halls, reflexology centres, family karaoke lounges , night clubs, discotheques, hair and beauty salon, cafes and various specialty stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Sentosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing