We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place if you only want a place to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bliss Boutique Hotel
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Like the concept of a theme and decor for every room, the rooms are one of the cleanest I've been to, and the hotel in general is nice.
The staff are very nice, helpful and pleasant.
The breakfast is the typical Asian breakfast (noodles and stuff) it's good if you like that kind of meals.
The location is quiet convenient, you can take a bus directly to city center.
Bottom line: it you are looking for a place to come back to at the end of the day and have a good night sleep and cheap, then this is the hotel to stay at!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank wajihb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Bliss Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 269 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Bliss Boutique Hotel very much. We made a stop on our road to Singapoore and luckily ended up in this hotel.

Its a very trendy hotel, quite modern, clean, the service is really good, the bathroom is very spacious (wich is VERY rare in this part of the world) and they have nespresso machines in the room.

I would definately go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank esvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Checked in for a week from 5-9 May 2014. Checked in was hassle free and staff was friendly.

Walking distance to indian foodstalls, some restaurants and also Pelangi Mall where you can find more food and some shopping too.

Parking is outdoors but guards will assure you that your cars are looked after at night with their own security monitoring.

Helpful and friendly staff makes the stay much more better too

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I booked this place as this hotel was nearby to Singapore's border. When i arrive to the hotel, i was not allowed to look or check the room before checking in . I have been to many places and this is the first time i was not allowed to check the room before checking-in. The hotelier insisted for my details despite having it as i emailed them ealier and requested for my identity card. Upon receiving my Identity card , i was allowed to look at the room. The room was a budget hotel and would be fine for a short stay . Then , i decided to stay and had to go to the bank as i neded cash.I was surprised as the hotelier insisted to hold my identity card untill i returned back to the hotel. I was not comfortable to leave my identity card with someone whom i've not met before. After a small argument , my identity card was return and i decided that i would not stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: No comment
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 1Choosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Both myself and hubby stayed at Bliss boutique hotel from 2/5/14 to 4/5/14.

The reception Staffs are professional and always willing to answer my endless queries..

We got the design boutique room..(room 258).
Room is facing the city/the road. Its kinda spacious. Even has a platform area beside the window, with a bean bag(which my hubby loves to chill on). Toilet is extremely crampy but good enuf to do your short necessities. We decided on this room as it has a fridge however was not chilled enough.

Maintenance guy (did not get his name) was very fast at coming up to our room(thrice) as we had trouble with the in room safe. Kuddos!

Breakfast buffet is relatively edible and has fair share of the local and western delights.. The menu has slight changes on day one and the second day of our stay.

Location of hotel is just a stone away from the Mamak( indian) food store (24hrs) and a short 5mins walk to the shopping centre Plaza Pelangi.. In case you are not driving, you can easily take the taxi at the plaza pelangi.. To travel about.. There are a few convenience store just along the hotel street.

Rows of spa/massage parlour just across the street.. We took the package from bangkok spa which provides free transport from Bliss Boutique hotel.

We will definitely come back again for short get away again.

Lydialfie sg

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lydialfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for once and the room I booked was Designer Deluxe. My comments are as follows:

Pros:
1) The room comes with buffet breakfast and the breakfast is widespread and excellent. In fact, this is the thing I like the most about this hotel:)
2) Room view is not bad.
3) The cleanliness of the room is acceptable.
4) The staffs are friendly.
5) Free fruit juice is served daily at the lobby.
6) The hotel is not that far from KSL shopping mall. So, the location is quite strategic if you have your own transport.

Cons:
1) The attitude of staffs is a bit rigid and dogmatic on their policy. Their buffet breakfast starts at 7:30am. On the last day of my stay, I went down to the lobby around 7:24am and when I was about to enter the cafeteria (Wine and Cigar Bar) to have my breakfast with my girl friend, I was stopped by a receptionist. I explained to her it was about 7:30am already and you know what, I was told that it was NOT YET EXACTLY 7:30AM. When I peek in through the glass door, everything was ready. I was really speechless. Then, I was waiting outside of the cafeteria and talking with my girl friend. Time past. By the time I looked at my watch, it was about 7:40am already. We were just sitting in front of them, waiting for the breakfast, but none of them remind us about the time. It was a bit disappointing.
2) The room is small.
3) Sound proofing is not that good. Early in the morning, I was awaken by noise coming from the outside of my room. It was a woman's voice. Laughing and laughing, non stop, very loudly. I had no idea whether she was a guest or a staff. My point is when there are people talking outside of your room, you can listen to what they say clearly. If they talk loudly, that's what you will get as well.
4) Parking lots are limited. If you make a booking during peak season, you will definitely be in trouble.
5) The bathroom is VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY small. It fact, it is the smallest hotel's bathroom I have ever used.
6) The design looks good but the room looks a bit old, mainly caused by cracking paints on the wall.
7) They don't provide 2 in 1 (or 3 in 1) shampoo (i.e. shampoo + body shampoo). Instead, they provide only soap and shampoo. To me, this is stingy.
8) TV reception is not that good as well. Although not all channels have blurry pictures, unfortunately, those I watch have blurry pictures -.-"
9) Water dispenser is unavailable.

In overall, this hotel is still a good hotel, especially the breakfast, but NOT as GOOD as what I have found from this website.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sean442014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed 3 nights for photo shooting at JB. All staff is friendly. Having security and CCTV to ensure car is parking safely along the roadside. This is really good. Room is small, but is clean and comfortable. Breakfast having limited of choice but taste still ok. Consider the price is cheap compare to big hotel, I am quite satisfy with the service provided.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank klsw82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.6 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 109 in Johor Bahru
229 reviews
1.2 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.7 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
2.0 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,298 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#14 of 109 in Johor Bahru
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bliss Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bliss Boutique Hotel

Address: 50 Jalan Jaya | Taman Maju Jaya, Johor Bahru 80400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $30 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bliss Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bliss Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing