We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the prices, best for short trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bliss Boutique Hotel
Ranked #16 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth the prices, best for short trip.”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed 3 nights for photo shooting at JB. All staff is friendly. Having security and CCTV to ensure car is parking safely along the roadside. This is really good. Room is small, but is clean and comfortable. Breakfast having limited of choice but taste still ok. Consider the price is cheap compare to big hotel, I am quite satisfy with the service provided.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klsw82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    121
    59
    10
    6
See reviews for
60
96
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in a family room for 4. The room was small and windowless but it didn't matter as we only stayed one night. The hotel is easy to find and there are coffee shops nearby. If you don't mind a 10 min walk it'll get you to a bigger restaurant and more eateries. Still, I think it's a convenient and nice play to stay if you're driving. If not, taxi is a must and they are not hard to find as Plaza Pelangi nearby. The buffet breakfast had limited choices but enough to keeps my family happy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KopiGian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

I like to complain, but this may be my favorite hotel in the whole world! The staff is so kind and patient and truly is there to serve just you. The food is awesome: the breakfast is all hand prepared, with friendly staff, who will cook anything to order. The Nasi Lemak is the best in all of Malaysia. The owner is a kind and gentle man who makes it a point to greet visitors. The hotel location is so close to the bridge to Singapore, I stay there even during a Singapore visit! The room is spectacular, see the attached pictures photos. Beds are comfy and clean, with nice thick duvets. The rooms are small-ish but the bathroom is fantastic. Unlimited hot water, very large thick towels, and everything is spotless and clean. This is a great get away town, with lots to see and do. The staff will guide you to the beautiful shops and museums and cultural sites. The Pelangi mall is immediately next-door, with lots of Western style shopping and food. Don't miss the fun decorations inside Bliss Hotel... Very bright and colorful. This is an A+ hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidPlate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

photo of bliss hotel is very nice and it was so good as to make us surprised that the hotel was far below expectations.
This hotel is old hotel that faces made lightly. carpet is very thin and ragged.
be careful if you pass the card is lost, you will be charged 20 rm
cleaning service could get in even we put a sign dont disturb
cleaning service always put clean clothes on a dirty carpet
no chairs in the room
wc and shower bath wearing very narrow folding doors
cramped and stuffy air despite already 30 turn on
sometimes like hard locked, so it should be a slam hard
expensiveness compared to the quality we received

Room Tip: be careful if you pass the card is lost, you will be charged 20 rm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rudiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

hotel is about 1 & 1/2 miles out of town on a busy dual carriageway which is also a regular bus route. side of hotel faces some waste ground (you might call it a field) just up the road are several eating options and we found a nice bar across the road.
easy travel into town for a couple of ringets and walkable if you have to (we did because whole city shut down for end of chinese newyear celerbrations)
per booked with agoda so room allocation was sorted quickly. recption looks very modern but the corridors upstairs were dark and dingy. our room (on the side) was clean as were the bedding and towels. had a couple of comfortable and peaceful nights sleep.
breakfast was local style be we found enough to eat that suited us.
crutial test - would we use it again - probably not

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank berni109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This review has been a long time coming, and for that, to the staff and management of Bliss Boutique hotel, I do apologise.

I apologise because of this, ...we simply had the most wonderful time at Bliss and I wish I could have written this review much much sooner. Alas, schedules simply got in the way.

Our trip to Bliss was in November 2013. I planned a short getaway for my girlfriend's birthday. After reading the reviews here, I decided to give Bliss a try. I had one special request tho, and that was to be able to surprise my girlfriend by cooking breakfast for her at the breakfast lounge.

Ms Rani from Bliss called to clarify my (what must have been strange) request and was so very helpful in arranging for it to happen. Each step was coordinated to a tee so that my partner would be totally unaware of the surprise.

At check-in, we were greeted with genuine smiles. That was especially nice after a long trip down from KL.

We checked into our suite and were more than pleasantly surprised by the space and layout of it. Sat upon a white platform, was a grand king-sized bed - it was comfortable, so very comfortable. Directly behind the bed, separated by a feature wall was the humungous "wet" area which consisted of twin sinks, a standalone bathtub, bathroom with a rain shower to the right of the room and the loo to the left.

There were some really nice touches which showed that thought and care went into dressing the room. Tea lights placed in deep red holders were placed next to the bathtub for that little extra ambience if needed. The coffee maker (was it a Nespresso?) provided us with excellent java through our short stay. There was a recliner close to the bath, looking out the window you could just see the world, in this case, traffic on Jalan Tebrau, go by and a massage chair in the room as well - unfortunately tho, the neck rest was a little stained so we chose not to use it.

Ms Rani took personal attention to helping me organise the surprise after we checked-in as well. She was lovely enough to organise for rose petals and aromatherapy oils for my girlfriend to have a good soak in the bathtub - which she thoroughly enjoyed, while I caught up with world news on TV - i wish that there was football channels though, which would have made it perfect for me.

The next morning, after a quick pop over to Cold Storage about a 4-5 minute walk away for breakfast supplies, i brought my girlfriend down to the wine bar where breakfast was served where she was blown away by the surprise. That couldn't have been pulled off without the kindness and attention of both management and staff. There were a couple of hiccups along they way, but these were expertly outmanoeuvred by the staff to make things happen. Kudos to each and every one of you (should you read this)!

That said, I won't be able to provide a review of breakfast provided by Bliss, I'm afraid.

After two nights in the suite, we checked into another room for half a day while we waited for flights. It was smaller, but cosy, and I'd imagine having a good night's rest there.

There's plenty of good food in the vicinity, from good local fare to quality international cuisine, all within walking distance as well.

All in all, I'd definitely recommend Bliss Boutique. Our stay was made memorable by the sheer professionalism and genuine attention by Ms Rani and her staff as well as the lovely rooms and comfortable beds. I'm definitely coming back ....as a matter of fact, I'm checking in again tomorrow! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wholly_monk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

First visit to Bliss Hotel. Chose this hotel based on past reviews and decided to give it a shot. Hotel is just a short drive from the immigration. Not too difficult to find. Upon reaching the hotel, i saw that there was a car wash beside it and the car wash looked pretty professional. Its 12ringgit for a basic wash and vaccum. After the car wash, i drove to the front of the hotel and there were open lots reserved for guests at bliss hotel. Not that many lots though, about 10 or so. A security guy will be there to guide you into one of the lots. The hotel exterior looks really nice and bright with lots of colours. There is a minimart a few doors down and Plaza Pelangi is about 50m away. The hotel interior is very trendy and the staff at the reception were very cheerful and helpful. The hotel has colour themed based rooms and the staff showed us an album of all the rooms. We liked the Green Burst room as it had tassels around the bed and we loved the colour. I liked the security of the hotel, you have to tap your keycard to get access to where the elevator was. And the elevator itself was pretty cool, it was all touch screen. However upon reaching our room, we discovered that there wasn't a fridge. We called reception and checked. They mentioned that not all rooms have a fridge, so we requested to change our room and the staff were very helpful by bringing us to show the other available rooms which had fridges. We finally chose the lavender room as it was abit more spacious. The bed was nice and comfortable and the light fixtures were pretty nice. The room had nice big window but it can't be opened. The bathroom was really small but it had a nice overhead rainshower fixture. The room does not come with a dvd player, but you can call reception and request for one. Its a non smoking hotel so you can either smoke just outside the lobby or at the hotel's Wine & Cigar bar. The bar opens at 5pm and it has a decent stock and variety of wine. Breakfast is also at the same place with a decent buffet spread. If you are vegeterian, do inform the reception upon check in and the chef will specially prepare your breakfast according to your liking! Overall, i had a very pleasant stay at Bliss Hotel. Will definitely return again soon to check out the other colour themed rooms!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kumarfromsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.2 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
1.6 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#6 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
0.7 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#9 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.5 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#38 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bliss Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bliss Boutique Hotel

Property: Bliss Boutique Hotel
Address: 50 Jalan Jaya | Taman Maju Jaya, Johor Bahru 80400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bliss Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bliss Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing