We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Sweet & Simple"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bliss Boutique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Sweet & Simple"”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Love Love Love this Boutique hotel..- Points: 1)The breakfast is really really basic..Cannot expect much.. 2) Try to ask e reception for e room which is not facing the road.. It can be abit noisy. + points: 1) The location is very good. Walking distance to Pelangi Mall.. 2) Every room has different design. V attractive and beautiful room. 3) You can park your car infront of the hotel and the guard will look after for you. 5*****

Room Tip: Try to ask for e room which not facing the main road.. It will be a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QasehAnwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    121
    59
    10
    6
See reviews for
60
96
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Love this Boutique Hotel.

Negative Points
1) The room can be very noisy if it is facing the road. Ask for one that is away from the main road
2) Breakfast is really basic. Alternatively, you can always skip it and have something else.

Positive Points
1) The location is very good. It is 1 min walk to Pelangi. and 15mins walk to KSL. The prata eaterer beside the hotel services very yummy food. The fried chicken is yummy.
2) Bliss has one of the best Wifi in johor. It automatically connect to wifi after your once login unlike other hotels, you have to login again and again. The strength of wifi is very strong too.
3) The room design is so attractive and beautiful. You will enjoy the stay.
4) The lobby is very beautiful and cosy...
5) You can just park your car infront of the hotel and the guard will look after for you.
6) You can ask the Reception to show you some of the rooms and pick the one you like.Every room has difference design.

Room Tip: do not take any room that faces the main road as it will be very noisy at nite from the moving vehic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowymango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Simple budget hotel with a touch of design aesthetics here and there.

That pretty much sums up this hotel for me.

On a side note, staff are proficient in English and friendly, always wearing a smile. This establishment will make for a good one night's stay if you are in Johor for a night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonLee1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Book a designer boutique room through Agoda and not having any problem with check-in. Unique room design and exactly the same as shown in the website. Room was clean and the only problem is poor positioning of power socket i.e one on top of the LCD TV and the other at the bedside. I observe no socket near the small safe and to get some hot water you need to carry the kettle to the bedside to get the job done. Snowy TV reception and most of the satellite channel down on the night of my stay except FOX Sports channel. Another thing to highlight is the low water supply in the bathroom and to make worst the following morning around 7.00am while taking shower there is no water supply to the extent the water heater with built in pump failed to deliver any water. It takes me about 30 minutes to wait for water.

During check-out escalate the problem to the staff and hope action will be taken to address the issue. Please avoid room 3-118 and personally i will not stay at this hotel unless i could not get a room elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid room 3-118
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpmy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I picked this hotel based on the reviews from tripadvisor and I agree with the normal sentiment about this place. It is a nice place with great service and everything we needed. I am rating it as a very good three star hotel.

After making the decision to stay here I contacted the hotel using their website and got very good service from Nurain. Initially I booked two rooms using agoda for one night, I wanted to pay using paypal. I then decided to extend our stay to 3 nights so we could go to singapur as well. Agoda had nothing available so I emailed Nurain again, and was informed the same rooms were not available so I would have to change rooms after the first night, to which I agreed. Upon check in I was informed that the bigger family room had become available due to cancellation and we could stay all together in one room for the three nights. Check in was a breeze! I was surprised since this was the chinese new year weekend and I expected a big crowd.

Our room had two beds that comfortably fit two people, we were travelling as a family of 4, our daughters are 11 and 14. The room was neatly arranged for all 4 of us, meaning 4 pillows, 4 towels, 4 dental packs, 4 bottles of water, 4 slippers, 4 tea/coffee bags, 4 cups, etc. :-). I am including pictures of our room. The toilet and shower are in two different areas separated by a wall, each with individual doors. There was an electronic safe, hangers, a tea/coffee making pot, coffee and tea, sugar included, bottled water refilled daily, a flat screen tv with some cable channels, small table and lamp. No closet and no windows, this made the room dark and quiet at night, and to us it did not feel weird, it was actually quite nice that way.

I'm not too familiar with the hotel location, but we drove from Penang and found it with a gps without a problem. Parking was easy, the security guard received us with an umbrella as it was raining. It is true the area is not precisely a tourist center, we found it to be very practical though. You can walk for less than 5 minutes to a small mall. Outside the mall there is a 7-eleven and some local shops. Inside the mall there is a cold storage, nando's, sushi king, popular, auntie anns, and many other nice restaurants and shops.

Nurain arranged the tickets and transportation to Legoland for us, they showed up on time for pick up and drop off and the times were flexible. It took about 30 minutes to get to Legoland. She also arranged the transportation to Universal Studios in singapore. We had to buy the tickets on our own, and I recommend you do so online, as the queue is long. I took about 45 minutes to get to USS from the hotel including the border crossing. Our driver had the forms with him so we filled them up on the way.

The hotel had breakfast included, it was mostly the same every day, bananas and papaya, samosas, sausages, tea, coffee, cereal, noodles, char kuey teow, roti canai, mushroom soop, hard boiled eggs, orange juice, toast. Breakfast was at their bar, which we did not visit at night but it looked cozy for a drink after the parks. Reception was always having a nice aroma, there was always cold juice waiting at any time of day in the computer room next to the lobby, and one of those massage chairs to relax after a busy day. They also provide free wi-fi.

Our itinerary was arrive around 3pm on Saturday, check in, visit the glass temple, a mosque, the zoo, then have dinner at nandos and go to bed. Sunday we went to Legoland and came back around 7pm. I will post a review on it as well. Monday we went to universal studios and came back around 8pm. Tuesday we drove back to Penang after breakfast.

So that's it. I have nothing but good things to say about Bliss Hotel. It is a very good three star hotel. Customer service by Nurain by email and in person by all the staff was great. Check in and out was easy. Breakfast was nice every day. The wifi worked all the time, so did the TV and cable. Complimentary water, coffee, tea, toothbrush, wifi in the room, and internet, massage chair, juice at the lobby. We stayed there mainly to have a place to come back after the parks, and it was a lot more than we expected.

Thank you Bliss!

Room Tip: We had the family room, nice and quiet for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BriegelDgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Travelled to Johor Bahru and did not regret choosing this place. Was pleased with the way the place looks, the security system in place as well as the appearance of the [windowless] room. The wireless Internet was speedy.

The front office staff was friendly and I appreciate the fact that she tried to make guests feel welcomed. The water pressure could be improved though. All in all, a comfortable and blissful stay.

Worth every penny paid (without sky high expectations). I can only hope that they maintain their standard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spratly00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Bliss boutique hotel is strategically located in JB town. A hotel utilizing a shop lot building and i must say they have planned the layout nicely. Although its a budget hotel, you would still feel the ambiance of a proper hotel. Staffs are friendly and helpful. A lot of eating area and 7 eleven around the hotel. A short walk to a nearby suburban mall. For those looking for tranquility, please bear in mind that this is not the place as the location is exactly in town and facing a main road. But for those who's looking for a hotel in the city, this place would be ideal.

However when asking for a room, do ask for a room with window view and the biggest room size. Though the price is the same for deluxe room, size of the room may varies. Luckily i got a bigger room for myself though my cousin's room was a lot smaller.

Overall, its a good place to stay for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: As for the biggest room of the same type. Usually corner room is the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anis_azri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.2 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
1.6 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#6 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
0.7 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#9 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.5 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#37 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bliss Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bliss Boutique Hotel

Property: Bliss Boutique Hotel
Address: 50 Jalan Jaya | Taman Maju Jaya, Johor Bahru 80400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bliss Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bliss Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing