We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Experience with Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Ranked #37 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Experience with Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My initial perception of small and medium size hotels mushrooming in towns and cities was that of catering to budget travellers and tourists particularly to hitch hikers and backpackers. Therefore the level of standard is beyond expectation. However when I read the feedback from the Internet on Citrus Hotel, Johore Bharu, I gave myself a trial. Consequently I booked my reservation. When I arrived at the hotel the facade was average just like its surrounding buildings. I checked in at the reception counter. The staff attended to me was polite and courteous, helpful and knowledgeable. As a result I upgraded my room to a club room with a very reasonable addition to pay. The appearance of the front office was bright and cheerful. The room we occupied was clean, spacious and all the facilities were provided. Location is central, within walking distance to the mall, immigration and eateries.

We like the services because the staff members give their best to the request we made. Overall they are attentive, polite, helpful, cheerful, courteous and warm.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and occupy a club room which is on the highest floor, non-smoking and a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happylady_1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnegueWeil, Operations Executive at Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Happylady_1811

Greetings from Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru!

Thank you for your generous compliments to our staff at Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru. It is always a pleasure to be of assistance and when it makes a difference, and this is how it should feel. A refreshing review and makes me smile whenever guests are happy. I am also glad that you found the location, facilities and amenities of our hotel to your satisfaction.

We appreciate your positive comments about the friendly service you received during your stay, and it has been passed on to department heads and the hotel team members. We once again thank you for your support and appreciate you for taking the time to write this review.

The team members and I look forward to welcome you back home to our hotel whenever you drop by Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru!

Best regards
Eugene Liew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    281
    265
    110
    71
See reviews for
284
186
86
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel is situated at an excellent location, just across JB Central to get to Singapore and next to JB City Square (a mall with everything under one roof). Informed the receptionist that we wanted a more quieter room away from the lifts and he happily obliged and arranged for us. We were given a room in level 10. The room and bathroom is clean, ac is efficient too. However, i find the wifi connection to be bad and not stable. The username and password provided and printed on the paper does not work and we had to call the reception to get another username and password. I was able to connect to the wifi but it dissapeared quickly. My sister had problem connecting to the wifi with the username and password providede by the receptionist. It seems like there are a few username different from the ones printed on the slip provided. Parking is a problem but we informed the hotel earlier during booking and a parking lot was reserved for us at a gas station nearby. Overall it is an excellent place, would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnegueWeil, Operations Executive at Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Christine C

Warmest greetings from Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru!

Thank you very much for the fantastic review and I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience. I am also particularly pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the hotel's locality, services and value for money.

With regards to the login username for the wireless internet, we are aware of the situation, and currently we are undergoing steps to further make it easier to log on. If it has caused you any trouble during your stay my sincere apologies.

We look forward to welcome you back when you drop by Johor in the near future!

Safe travels and take care
Eugene Liew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Went for a shop trip and stay over the weekend. Service wise is good as I feedback that I would like to change a room with window. The staff arrange another room promptly.

Location is excellent the hotel is walking distance from the City Square. Business centre is cozy with the availability of pool table..

Would return to this hotel if I am intending to go for short trip again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenLee_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnegueWeil, Operations Executive at Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear BenLee_SG

Greetings from Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru!

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru in this write up.

I am pleased to know how much you had enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you receive from our associates.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards
Eugene Liew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Ive stayed for 3d2n, last minute decision to stay in jb. Booked online and had a good price. We arrived late around 11pm from kl, and our 1st impression was whoa, this place looks like chow kit road. It's like a red district as its just around the corner to jb central. My only disappointment was there were no parking for guests! I have to park around 200m away from the hotel and worried the whole night about my car. there are couple of paid parking but the rate was rm2/hour! If I were to park the whole day then might as well get a better hotel with free and gated parking! Other than that we have no complaint except some stain on the towel. New hotel with good bed and carpeted inside the room.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Yazid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnegueWeil, Operations Executive at Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Yazid S

Seasons greetings from Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru!

We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write such a great review. We are happy to hear you had a great stay except for the car park problem. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We have provided a car park map online at our website to assist guests on where their cars can be parked.

Once again, thank you for your invaluable feedback and we look forward to welcome you back when you return to Johor Bahru.

Regards
Eugene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were looking for an hotel close to Singapore and Citrus was perfect (right next to the customs'gates). The position was also nice to take a walk in the market area of Johor, which was really nice. Hotel was really clean and staff very nice and helpful. A really good balance within price and quality!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tink1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnegueWeil, Operations Executive at Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Tink1978

Greetings from Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru!

Thank you for staying with us and we are delighted to hear that your stay was an enjoyable and memorable one, as one would expect when staying at Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru, a brand under the Compass Hospitality group. I am also happy to hear that you have found our products and services good and value for money. Feedback like yours will motivate our staff to strive and serve our guests better.

The team and I look forward to your next stay with us at Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru whenever you drop by Johor.

Warmest regards
Eugene Liew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
324 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Staff was nice but more smile is needed.Lift was slow and small as what others has mentioned. Location wise was excellent as it was just a bridge across to City Square. Room was just nice, everything needed was available. Nothing much to complain about.

Room Tip: if you do not want to face 4 walls, it is better to choose a club room instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PEili K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnegueWeil, Operations Executive at Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear PEili K

Warmest greetings from Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru

Thank you for staying with us and we are delighted to hear that your stay was enjoyable! I have taken note with regards to your points and feedback like yours will further motivate my associates to strive and serve our guests better.

The team and I look forward to welcome you back again to Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru whenever your travels brings you to Johor Bahru.

Warmest Regards
Eugene Liew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here just one night when we were travelling from Singapore to Kuala Lumpur. We chose this hotel bcause of it's location near JB Sentral. We walked down there with all of our luggage. We had a three person room (family) at the third floor. The room did not have a window so we did not suffer from outside noise. The room was nice but nothing special, although we liked the orange wall with giant painted chandelier. Breakfast was nice and staff was very friendly.

the towels and wall in the bathroom had some stains (probably old blood). Beds were comfortable, we slept really good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miep_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnegueWeil, Operations Executive at Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Miep_11

Warmest greetings from Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru!

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit and I have taken note pertaining to the towels and walls. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences it had caused you during your stay and rest assured that we have reviewed and a remedial process has been initiated.

Please do not hesitate to contact our office we can be of any assistance to you. The team and I look forward to welcome you back to Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru whenever your travels bring you back to Johor.

Regards
Eugene Liew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.1 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#6 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#15 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baguss City Hotel Sdn Bhd
Baguss City Hotel Sdn Bhd
#53 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Insta Hotel
Insta Hotel
#29 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
#17 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meldrum Hotel
Meldrum Hotel
#60 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru

Property: Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Address: 16 Jalan Station, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru is a newly renovated JB hotel located at the heart of Johor Bahru’s Central Business District. This centrally located hotel is across the road from City Square Shopping Center, and within easy reach of the CIQ (Customs Immigration Quarantine) Complex as well as Singapore bound and local taxi stands.Citrus JB consists of 125 stylishly designed rooms equipped with modern conveniences that include wireless Internet connection, 32” LCD flat screen TV with cable and more. Citrus Hotel JB offers not only the utmost comfort to guests but also facilities and services such as a café, a club lounge, function room, wireless Internet connection throughout the hotel and much more to support the requirements of both the business and leisure traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing