We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but location a bit off”
Review of Hotel JSL

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel JSL
Ranked #33 of 102 Johor Bahru B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Clean but location a bit off”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Location is off the main road. Converted from shop houses and surrounded by business establishments such as machinery-related, workshop and auto resales. There's only one pub in sight. No other restaurants can been spotted. Recommended for travelers with car given the location and also free parking right in front of the hotel. There's a security guard outside and surveillance camera.
Service is OK. Fast check in.
Rooms are clean. Booked the family suite with 2 double beds. The windowless room is situated on the ground floor with 2 aircons. There are two washrooms with showers and liquid soap. One with WC. Toothpaste, toothbrush, bar soap and clean towels are provided. There is a public water dispenser along the corridor for hot and cold drinking water.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
batam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

stayed there for 3nights, can't complain too much, worth the money, nice and comfortable bed, breakfast are below average, 100rm/ night include breakfast, the only problem is very far from town, and hard to find taxi, my advise is call this jjb taxi wherever you want to go, fast response and all its cabs use price meter no negotiation :D the phone number is 07 - 3559922

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fooyongli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Travelled on Aug 7 to this so called biz hotel with my gf. Chose this place due to good reviews and budget but never did I expect this will be the worst hotel I had ever stayed. Really lousy location, far from everywhere. Cab fare going around 20 rm per trip to town. No food around this place except for a few rundown small coffeeshops. Wifi damn slow, breakfast was seriously below average. Worst part is, they took away my passport and they forgotten to return it to me after I checked out. As I was in a rush, I forgotten about it till I reached the borders of Singapore and I had to cab all the way back to get it. A total of 40 rm! The staffs there just simply laugh at their own stupidity when I called to check with them and didn't even apologise for leaving my passport in their printer for the whole day. Fyi, the staffs there don't really care about the guest except the standard greetings and procedures during check in. With this amount, you could actually lived at a better budget hotel in that area or nearer to town. Will never ever come back to this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ern1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I've seen high rate for it and traveled there. My room was much smaller than I've expected. Towels and bed sheets were not clean. their pillows were big and so hard. No fridge in room. Not good breakfast. And thin walls that you can hear next door. A disco in neighborhood which will bother you till 3am. location of hotel is full of repair shops and auto show rooms. I'll not go back again. Just recommended for small business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiarash-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

For its price, I think it's pretty well maintained, and there was security constantly looking over your car parked outside the hotel. It isn't a fantastic location, but the cleanliness more than makes up for it. The room wasn't huge, and it seems the walls were a little thin as well, as we could hear the room beside us in the middle of the night (but in all fairness, they were a little loud as well). Breakfast spread was standard - 2 dishes to choose from, and toast. All in all, it was quite a value for money hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dericjtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We check in to Motel Suites, its a cozy king bedded room, inclusive of a bathtub, with free Wifi at the Hotel, comes with a personal Garage beside our room, it feel great to know that our car is safely park in the garage with secuity camera overlooking our car.

However room is without safe box & a fridge.

Room Tip: if u have a car chose the motel suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Isis71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We spent almost 3 weeks in a standard room at this hotel. It's a budget hotel only in terms of price - 88 RM/night with discounts for weekly stays. We had a very comfortable king size bed, desk, big bathroom (shower only), night stands, large flat-screen TV, hot water boiler. Room is small but large enough not to feel claustrophobic. They give you in-room coffee, free mineral water and all the filtered drinking water you want, and nice Malaysian-style breakfasts (half-boiled eggs and bread every day, plus some kind of noodle dish, rice dish or soup) - actually, we thought the breakfasts were pretty good! They clean the room daily - even the common areas are sparkling clean. Everything was well maintained - all the lights worked, a/c was good, wi-fi was excellent, no leaks or damages of any kind.

The hotel is within an easy walk from a bus stop that takes you right downtown (and right past the Carrefour and KSL, if you're headed that way). From JB Sentral, any bus going to Rosmerah will get you there. The hotel is about 4 blocks behind the bus stop (coming from JB) - a little tricky to find the first time. There are loads of great restaurants nearby - no need to go far for good food. Nice neighborhood, too - no worries about going outside at night.

Staff has been fantastic - so helpful and friendly. No problems at all during check-in or check-out. This must be the best value hotel in all of JB and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Each room seems a little different, so you might want to look at what they have first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tumbleweeds023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.1 mi away
Rooms Boutique Hotel
Rooms Boutique Hotel
#30 of 110 in Johor Bahru
50 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Vistaria
Hotel Vistaria
#32 of 102 in Johor Bahru
22 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ardens Hotel
The Ardens Hotel
#1 of 102 in Johor Bahru
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel 193
Hotel 193
#29 of 102 in Johor Bahru
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
I-Style Hotel
I-Style Hotel
#21 of 41 in Johor Bahru
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Okid Hotel Johor Jaya
Okid Hotel Johor Jaya
#45 of 102 in Johor Bahru
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JSL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JSL

Property: Hotel JSL
Address: 93 Jalan Ros Merah 2/16 | Taman Johor Jaya, Johor Bahru 81100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel JSL 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel JSL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing