We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“friendly staff, ok for 1 night stay !!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of GoodHope Hotel Skudai-Johor Bahru

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
GoodHope Hotel Skudai-Johor Bahru
Ranked #77 of 103 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“friendly staff, ok for 1 night stay !!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We were here in Feb 2014, stayed for 1 night.. If U’re not a fussy type of guest, this place should be OK to spend for a night (sleep & shower), do not expect more than that, as this was not a 5-star hotel.. the service was quite good and friendly staff, except that, the window was dirty, dare not even touched the window.. average breakfast spread..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne_Smd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    7
    9
    8
See reviews for
9
3
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Booking a hotel could sometime be like a lottery and hope it is good and the choice is right. What more if the name is GoodHope Hotel, certainly you will be hoping for the best. GoodHope Hotel Skudai, Johor at best is between 3 to 4 star hotel depending on your own experience. It is the best hotel in Skudai in comparison to the other hotels nearby. It is popular among tour groups as it provides hall for seminar and could accommodate large group.

It is easily accessible from PLUS Highway from the north after the last toll booth and then exit to Skudai/Pontian. The rate is very reasonable and could be made as staging point to go to Legoland or Johore Premium Outlet. Due to the number of rooms available - breakfast could be quite a havoc and be smarter to choose the non-peak hours. At night the coffee house restaurant is quite empty but the food are just delicious - nasi goreng kampong, mee rebus, mee mamak, satay and the rest are truly delicious.

The rounded corner lot rooms will gives a perfect bird's eye of the Skudai town, uninterrupted as there are not so many high buildings and in fact GoodHope Hotel is the highest building in the same vicinity. Overall the service, the facilities etc is of 3-4 star value. Despite that, it is having a good occupancy rate as it is considered the best hotel in Skudai.

So, if you run out of hotel rooms to go to Legoland or wants to be nearer to Johore Premium Outlet instead of staying in Johore Bahru and avoid the traffic, GoodHope Hotel could be the hotel you are looking for and hope you have a good experience. But you need to assess the hotel based on 3-4 star rating as it is what GoodHope Hotel is. Good Hope and Good Luck.

Saharudin Muhamad Toha
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Elderly Couple
Staying 31.05.2014
Report: 06.06.2014

Room Tip: Take the round corner upper level suite with amazing view of Skudai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAHARUDIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

It is compatible with the name, Goodhope...

Stayed here for a day with business meeting over the weekend. Overall hotel condition is average, a bit old and the surrounding have limited amenities.

The plus point for this hotel is located next to highway and can make a fast exit to town or highway.

Food choices at breakfast is limited and not value for the money that you paid for. Unless there is no choice, please explore other places before decide booking here.

Room Tip: Should get the room nearer to their modem, wifi connection can be bad when more users login to the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

The worst hotel for a deluxe room of rm258. Breakfast buffet choice very poor. Need lots of improvement. Only 'hope for good'overall service not so bad. Room cleanliness was horrible. Bathroom not clean.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank rloganathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

- Bad Service
- Air cond not working properly, low power. My cousin been using ice-box as 'air cond' additional.
- Broken room's door, We have been trying 5-10min to unlock the door at each time.
- Lost 2 bags of property
- Not enough of bedroom needs (towel, soap and etc).

**Our first and last visit, for sure.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank petronella3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aasiaat, Greenland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My secretary booked me this hotel for one night and that was the last time she will do so - not her fault, but a bit of research would have shown this to be the last place on earth to have me stay.

Check-in . . . not a smile to be seen nor a greeting, the staff seemed to be more interested in their make-up than in looking after guests.
Room? Yes, I got a freshly renovated one . . . that hadn't been cleaned for weeks according to the dust that was everywhere.

The TV. Yes, I remember having one like this when I was young - last century . . . and who knows what had been done to the remote control in that time.

Check-out? Miserable.

I do wonder why they used the word 'Good' in their name . . . perhaps it is the only time it was ever used in reference to this nasty, nasty place

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeVulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crawfishetouffee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

hotel building is old but has underwent refurbished. Small car park.

Good
=====
Bed is comfortable. King size bed can fit 2 of us plus our 3-year-old child.
Neat and clean bathroom.

Bad
====
Found cockcroach - to me, this is unacceptable.
Low water pressure in bathroom. No cloth hanger in bath room. Just basic toiletries - just 2 adult towels, no hand towel.
Poor breakfast food selection. For egg station, the omelette is already pre-cookedand chef is constantly away. If you reach the place at 9.30am, you have hardly things to eat. Finished fruits are not re-filled.
Loud morning praying sound. I'm a Malaysian and have been staying in this countries for more than 30 years and I never had problem with mosque .But this time, the morning praying sound was extremly loud, I thought the loud speaker must be directly facing the room I'm staying. Disappoited with this as I asked for quiet room.

I've paid RM140 for Standard King (size bed) room. Overall I feel this is too expensive for the price that we're paying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crawfishetouffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johor Bahru
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
The Fern Lodge
#4 of 13 in Skudai
4.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bzz Hotel
Bzz Hotel
#2 of 13 in Skudai
4.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
9.8 mi away
No photo provided
V3 Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ulu Tiram
3.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Grand Hallmark Hotel
Grand Hallmark Hotel
#54 of 103 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
8.7 mi away
AmanSari Express Hotel
AmanSari Express Hotel
#57 of 103 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pariss Hotel
Pariss Hotel
#6 of 13 in Skudai
3.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GoodHope Hotel Skudai-Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GoodHope Hotel Skudai-Johor Bahru

Property: GoodHope Hotel Skudai-Johor Bahru
Address: Goodhope Hotel No. 1 Jalan Ronggeng 5 | Taman Skudai Baru, Skudai, Johor Darul Ta'zim, Johor Bahru 81300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 103 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — GoodHope Hotel Skudai-Johor Bahru 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your GoodHope Hotel Skudai-Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing