We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in JB”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tune Hotel Danga Bay
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Traveling easy as it is near the highway. There are many hotels. Danga Bay is wolking distance where at night many people are there. Many food courts. Traveling facilities to and back Singapore. 7-11 is there. From JB good bus service is available. And buses to Larking main bus terminal air port. At the ground floor is an AIR ASIA counter. And finally charges are good.
Normally before go to SG I stay here and late night I come from SG and stay here.
lesliekandy

Room Tip: Actually all are good. but i like near the lift. and also ironing facilities are there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesliekandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Danga Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay.

We hope you'll stay with us the next time you visit Danga Bay- Johor,

Warm Regards,
Sharon De Silva- Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (850)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 850 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

Tune Hotels are famous with its affordable & clean room to stay.its definitely my favorite whenever I want to take a bus ride ti Singapore because with its daily shuttle bus to RWS,it makes my trip even more cheaper & easier.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLLow76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Danga Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are happy to find that you leave us with a great experience following your recent stay. Thank you for the review.

Warm Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Tune hotel rooms ARE small. if you have a family then the quad room is great. Generally clean but both bathrooms smelt heavily of urine. Not much to do in the immediate vicinity, a handful of restaurants nearby selling mainly local food. you would need a car or travel by taxi to get anywhere. BUT it is cheap and is somewhere to get your head down for the night

Room Tip: Quad room for more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Danga Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear that you find our rates affordable and you have enjoyed your overall stay. However, we apologize for not meeting the cleanliness standards you have come to expect from us. Please connect with me directly at sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com with your booking details so that I could identify what went wrong during the housekeeping activities at the time of your stay.

Please rest assured, I have shared this review with the housekeeping team to improve their service and ensure that this does not happen again.

Thank you for the review and we hope to be given the opportunity to renew your experience the next time you come by.

Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This review is late. After my pleasant experience with Tune Hotel Downtown Kuala Lumpur and Tune Hotel Georgetown, I decided to book a room for one night at Tune Hotel Danga Bay during my trip to Johor Bahru with my sister. We came by bus from Singapore and were gladly surprised to learn that the bus stops right outside this hotel and for this reason I would say the location served our purpose well. It was already late in the evening and we were both feeling tired and exhausted after a long day so we were happy to save one taxi ride.

The Tune Hotel Danga Bay is excellent value for money. I booked directly at the hotel's website months in advance and I really got an unbelievably good rate, far less than what I paid to the other two Tune Hotels where I stayed earliler. In fact, it was the best deal for what the hotel has to offer: decent room with a view, the most comfortable bed and pillows, immaculately clean linen and pillow cases, and ensuite toilet and bathroom which is neat and tidy. With the hotel's efficient pest control system there were no insects inside the room and this guarantees a sound and peaceful sleep especially for someone like me who is allergic to insect bites.

The Hotel Hotel Danga Bay is housed in a big and impressive building; the lobby is spacious and has high ceilings. It exudes an ambience you usually find in expensive hotels. There is also a convenience store that is open 24/7 and an in-house tour company within the hotel grounds. Wifi is availabe for a modest fee and it worked well inside the room.

This property is located in a remote area, you need to take a taxi to get to the town center and other places all the time. But this is not really a big issue since outside the hotel there are many commercial establishments within the are outside the hotel: local restaurants, travel agency, foreign exchange, night club, etc.

In a nutshell, my third "Tune Hotel" experience is a blast. Will come back to this hotel when I decide to visit Legoland in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window at higher floors for a good view of the surrounding areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pinoytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Danga Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Fan,

Thanks for the review. I’m happy to hear that this is a return stay.

It's rewarding to find our signature bed and power shower coupled with great hospitality has made you come back for more.

Thank you for your continued patronage.

Warm Regards,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights for Legoland trip

Check in - 6th January 2014
Check out - 9th January 2014

Room: Twin bed room

Cleanliness: Very Good

Bed: Very comfortable

Bathroom: Average but acceptable

Staffs: Friendly & willing to help! Credit to the Front Desk Team, you guys are AWESOME! Too bad i forgot their names to mentioned here.

Location: Quite a distance to JB city center but you can take cab from here which cost you around RM10-15 to city center. But once the commercial center is completed the area will be booming!

Comments:
There is Legoland shuttle from the hotel which cost you RM15 per person to & fro. You also can take shuttle to Little Big Club and Hello Kitty. Tune Hotel Danga Bay a bit far from City Center, but there commercial center where you can find foods cafe and groceries stuff. 7E & AirAsia is just downstairs of building. You need to walk around 10 minutes to Danga Bay.

Tips:
If you from Senai Airport, instead of Cab take Sky Bus and it will drop you in front of Tune Hotel gate. The promotion fee is on RM8.00 only (Children below 7 got free ticket).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornnelius n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Danga Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We pride ourselves on the comfort, cleanliness and customer service and we are pleased to hear that we have fulfilled our promise in the case of your stay.

Going forward, we hope that you'll continue to look out for us in planning your future stays, and we in return, hope to continuously 'wow" your expectations in future.

Have a pleasant day.
Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Tune Hotel Danga Bay is the best hotel to stay if you are only coming to Johor for Legoland. It is on the highway that leads to the Legoland theme park, and a ride at 9.30 a.m took us less than 20 minutes to get there.


Booking -


We booked on the official Tune website about 1 month in advance, and got a great deal - MYR 450 for a 2-nights stay, with air-con and towels, and also including 3 Legoland tickets + free pick up and drop! This was a really good deal and worked well for us.


Arrival - by Transtar coach - Changi airport


we came by the Transtar coach service from Singapore Changi Airport T2. It was a complex ride, because one has to get down from the bus twice - at Singapore and Johor immigration - to process entry and exit - and the real issue is you have to get off with all your luggage.. A real hassle if you ask me, but there's no other way to get around this, unless you take a Taxi direct from Singapore to your hotel in Johor. This is of course a most expensive option - around S$ 60 -70 one-way, normal authorised Singapore-Johor cab.

The coach of course went to the abandoned and hopeless Kotaraya Bus terminal. AVOID this. Instead, after you clear Johor immigration, just follow the crowds and take a taxi from the outside the CIQ to the Tune Hotel, It should not cost more than MYR 10.


Location -


not near JB Central, but very good for Legoland. The deal we got was excellent, and its only a 15-min taxi ride to JB Central.


Lobby -


we arrived at about 12 noon, which was early. So I paid a reasonable MYR 15 extra for 2 hours, and we immediately got our room.

We were checked in by the very friendly lady at reception called Liana. We were the only people checking in, or checking out. It was a clean and quiet reception area. Drag your bags to your room, but no problem there.


Legoland booking -

after check-in, I went to the travel company outside to confirm our Legoland seats on the next day's bus at 9.30 a.m. You must reserve your seat as soon as you check in. We had already booked through the Tune website, so they just gave us our Legoland tickets and bus voucher.


7-11/ AirAsia shop -


There is a 7-11 and Air Asia shop connected to the hotel. Also a little seating area where you can enjoy a drink at night if you like. There are also some restaurants in the vicinity, and I would highly recommend -


Breakfast at 7 -

Excellent restaurant, cheap and great food, a 2-3 minute walk away. We had breakfast and dinner here and it was really good. Highly recommended.


Room -

The room itself was fine, we got the corner room on the 3rd floor, it was actually bigger than the Tune rooms at Tune LCCT Kuala Lumpur. The room air-con cooled the room in 10 minutes so that was a relief. Again, the rain shower was excellent, like in Tune LCCT. Bed and pillows were fine. There was the in-room safe, and a pay TV, which we did not use. Channels were very limited though. The view out of my room was of the highway, but there was no noise to disturb a good night's sleep. But keep windows shut due to the heat and maybe the mosquitoes!


Taxi to City Square Mall -


Just ask reception to call you a meter taxi. It will cost about MYR 8 by meter + MYR 2 for the hotel's calling charge to be paid to the taxi driver only.


Free Internet -


free wifi internet is given for 30 minutes. Speed was good. If you finish the 30 mins, just politely ask for more, and they will give it free of charge! They also have 3 computers in the lobby for use, as well as 2 massage chairs, which are coin operated.


Taxi to Senai Airport -


we had a 7.15 a.m flight, so we checked out at 5 a.m. Easy check-out and quick. Drag your own bags down, but again, not an issue.

i was wondering regarding a taxi at 5.15 a.m. I told the reception at check-out that I need a taxi. They telephoned, and can you believe a taxi showed up within 2 minutes. Wow! At 5.30 am it was a fairly quick 20 minute ride to the far airport. We paid MYR 49, which was the meter + midnight surcharge + MYR 2 for the hotel's calling service I think.


Senai Airport Johor -


This is an airport?????????

Unbelievable... You must see this airport to disbelieve it. It's small and haywire and chaotic. It's even worse than the low cost airport of Kota Kinabalu.


So the Tune Danga Bay, is a fine stay if you are visiting Legoland. Otherwise, if you want to be near JB Central then look at some of the other hotels, but the price, comfort and value of this Tune is excellent.

Room Tip: Book on the Tune website in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RainmanMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nites recently, on a leisure trip to both Legoland and Singapore. After long hours outside the hotel, all you want to do is have a good shower and sleep comfortably. This is exactly what this hotel offers, for those who spend more time outside the hotel. Value for money. Definitely my first pick if I am in Johor Baru.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaz2082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Danga Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly and that you had a good slumber experience

Compliments are always wonderful; it makes us motivated to be acknowledged while we take great effort in seeing into each and every need of our guests.

We are glad in making your stay a pleasant experience.


Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
3.2 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
2.4 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,310 reviews
3.8 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 109 in Johor Bahru
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
660 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
6.7 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#2 of 109 in Johor Bahru
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Danga Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Danga Bay

Address: Lot PTB22819 | Jalan Skudai, Johor Bahru 80200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $21 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Danga Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Tune Hotel Danga Bay Johor offers easy access to Asia's first LEGOLAND(R) theme park which is 15-minutes' drive away, or you can hitch a ride with the shuttle bus provided by our hotel. Kids would love exploring the Sanrio Hello Kitty Town, Little Big Club, Thomas and Friends, and Barney at Puteri Harbour which is next to LEGOLAND(R). Daily shuttles transfers are also available to the doorstep of Resorts World Sentosa and Universal Studios Singapore. If you want to just shop, don't miss out on an exquisite shopping experience at Johor Premium Outlets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Danga Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com-Danga Bay Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing