We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only recommended if you are in transit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tune Hotel Danga Bay
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. The main reason we stayed there is to take the coach to the Singapore Universal Studio the next day & leisure for other days. When we first went into the room, a molded smell fr the shower/toilet as it was not well ventilated due to it's inside the room, no windows for fresh/natural ventilation. Room is very small(compared to Tune Penang), just had enough space to walk in btwn, but luckily the beds are very comfortable & shower is good too. I bought the package for TV+Internet, only to find out the validity starts fr check-in & expired the next day 10am...in total, we only use TV+Internet couple of hours, not worth it at all...All in, i paid like RM107.07 nett per nite but didn't get much value of it...Thus, this hotel is only good for day use or travellers in-transits that needed to sleep & shower & paid the lowest prices for it. Hope these info are usefuls to all...good luck.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathPj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 849 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

I stay at this hotel for 1 day when i come back from Singapore.
The hotel is good, room clean and nice design.
But the location for this hotel is a bit far from the town area and have to use taxi as transport.
It's not easy to catch a bus within the hotel area.
The checked in time is 2.00pm sharp. You have to wait till 2.00pm then just can checked in. If you arrive early then you have to wait or deposit your luggage to the hotel for a certain fees.
Generally the hotel is good if you have any friend in JB who have transport can fetch you to go around.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john ha t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

My family comes down to JB for holiday. Checked in to tune hotel as it is near to my auntie house in Danga Bay...and I wish to come back to Danga bay too for a short trip agenda.
We missed the hotel at the first place as our GPS show us the wrong way...the fly over in front of the hotel ( newly build) confuse us...luckily we manage to find the hotel after a U turn at the front and at angsana ...as when we turned in to hotel from the back..The gate closed...we have to round to the front & enter to hotel...not feeling like a welcome entrance :) , ample parking place and security rounding give us a secure feeling..for family traveler....
check in was fast but the towel we bring up and have to bring down again during check out practice was a little in-convinces to us...but it was ok...
An emergency incident happen to my uncle, he felt down in the bath room due to his body weak ,luckily no bleeding and he was still conscious, I came down to reception and ask if any first aider can look into his condition..And i describe the condition of him, one of the in charge Mel..Told us it is not a minor situation and have to call the ambulance and advice that the general hospital is just nearby.
After a while my auntie from Johor came and the ambulance also arrive after 10 minutes...within that 10 minutes..the hotel first send the security up and then the security with the in charge Mel to see us at the 2nd time( and inform us to make him conscious -not to let him sleep) until the ambulance come, & send my uncle, and we also rush to hospital, before we leave to hotel..Mel gave us her phone and hotel phone and writes it on the paper and handover to me.....
The hotel called again to my husband to follow up my uncle condition after few hours while we wait at the hospital...we went back to hotel at might night....
The next morning, we checked out early and I met the security yesterday and he greet me and asked about my uncle condition, and I told him he is stable and have to monitor for one more day (48 hours) ...really thanks to Mel and the security guard for their support during this incident ...they are hearted people and the most valued people in the hospitality industry and also an good example to the hotel...though..Not a very good news for my uncle at the end of 48hours...but still very appreciate that the hotel have done the best in handling the situation of this emergency...thanks to your great staffs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChongFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

It's was my first stay at this hotel in JB. Location is ok & can be access by public buses from City Square Shopping Mall or JB Checkpoint. Fare for public bus to Danga Bay about RM1.50 per person. This hotel look much bigger compare with other Tunes. Room wise is ok & clean. Staff is good & polite. Around the hotel have others restaurant, bars, clubs, shops & other hotels. I was there on a Sunday & the tour desk was not open for me to arrange a shuttle to the airport the next morning. End up taking the public bus to Kotaraya 2 terminal for my shuttle to the airport cost about RM8. Taxi are available on call 24 hrs from the hotel but I was on a budget. Will return to this hotel again & hope it will stay the same.

Room Tip: Get a Double corner room on a higher floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Pleasant and helpful staffs at the reception. Stayed at Room 620. All A's for the facilities and amenities. Very clean.
The shuttle service bus to Marina Bay and Resort World are of par excellence. Very efficient and on time.

However, The shower room is clogged at times. Reported to the reception staff. Although had been repaired, the problem still persists.
Since the Hotel Restaurant is closed, the Reception staff should be well versed to guide guests where to go for food especially, breakfast. We were given a blank response and we had to walk around and finally found the 7 Spices Restaurant situated about a 3 min walk from the hotel is offering breakfast at 7.00 onwards but with the price equavelant to Sing currency. However nothing can match Penang food. There is also a Chinese Kopitiam at the back row opposite hotel operating from morning till 7.00pm with cheap so called Penang delicacies like Penang prawn mee, nasi lwemak and so on. Very cheap, if you want a kopitiam type of food but none of the satff at the Hotel front line had knoeledge of this. There is a huge Malay buffet style Nasi Padang Restaurant right infront of the Hotel which operates only at night. I have not tried.
Danga Bay which is about 15min walk looks like a failed project. Looks very dark with mostly all the lots closed. I dare not walk there since the atmosphere is not welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anand111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Room was bit small but with the price paying it is more than worth.
Near the hotel area have a few restaurant , must try the Indian Restaurant (can't recall the name) is just about 5 minutes walk from the hotel, it so delicious & spicy.
Still miss the spicy & taste til today.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene_G1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel Danga Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Hi There,

It is a great pleasure to have you as our guest at Tune Hotels Danga Bay.

Thank you for the review, however we are not a budget hotel. We operate on a limited service concept where we provide the basics, bed and shower.

Rooms are made to be space efficient, and by providing only the basics gives us the advantage of offering competitive room rates.

This makes perfect sense, where guests may use these savings to splurge outdoors; and having spent most of the time outdoors; all that are needed is a comfortable bed and shower for a wonderful slumber experience.

Thanks for the review, I hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Sharon DS - Manager (Customer Care)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Overall:
Very new building with ample facilities like
24 hr convenience store, restaurant, lots of free parking, 24 hr security.

Rooms:
Size: Average
Facilities: Adequate but you pay for what you need (ie, pay separately for aircon, TV, etc)
Cleanliness: Good and clean, although we did see a few ants running around.
Comfort: Very good beds and shower.. Can be a bit noisy with ppl walking in the corridor and avoid rooms facing the main road.

Room Tip: Book early and see comments on comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SekFoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
3.2 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
2.4 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,308 reviews
3.8 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 109 in Johor Bahru
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
659 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
6.7 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#3 of 109 in Johor Bahru
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Danga Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Danga Bay

Address: Lot PTB22819 | Jalan Skudai, Johor Bahru 80200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $20 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Danga Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Tune Hotel Danga Bay Johor offers easy access to Asia's first LEGOLAND(R) theme park which is 15-minutes' drive away, or you can hitch a ride with the shuttle bus provided by our hotel. Kids would love exploring the Sanrio Hello Kitty Town, Little Big Club, Thomas and Friends, and Barney at Puteri Harbour which is next to LEGOLAND(R). Daily shuttles transfers are also available to the doorstep of Resorts World Sentosa and Universal Studios Singapore. If you want to just shop, don't miss out on an exquisite shopping experience at Johor Premium Outlets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Danga Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com-Danga Bay Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing