We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget, clean & convenient hotel”
Review of J Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
J Hotel
Ranked #3 of 108 Johor Bahru B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stay in J Hotel on 4/4/13 with my family & my friend family. 1st time stay in JB & J Hotel give us an comfortable stay even is only 1 night. The hotel location is great, surrounded with good food stall & restaurant, convenience shop & fashion boutique & it's only less than 5 min walk to Sutera Mall. The hotel designed with different type of room that suite individual taste & needs, most important is cleanest of the room. Staffs are friendly too. Highly recommended to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kho L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 90 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel had rather basic amenities and might be considered average if not for the aesthetically pleasing décor. The experience of being in an urban and hip hotel starts even before you step in the lobby. It is located in the rather upscale area of Johor Bahru, with many restaurants, cafes, fashion boutiques and spas around. We never had to go very far to get what we wanted/needed.

Some little details about the hotel - such as the position of the room's wall-mounted flatscreen TV, or even having side tables and lamps on both sides of the queen bed - just made everything feel comfortable. There are however, a few things I think they can work on. The corridors leading to the hotel rooms had a noticeably stale smell. Perhaps it is a lack of ventilation. Our room did not have a window at all, BUT did not have any smells (a plus point). Also, the walls of the hotel are hollow, so you can hear your neighbours clearly if they speak in a slighty loud tone. We were awoken by the bathroom concerts of the family staying beside us.

I had an enjoyable stay in this fun hotel, and I would come back for another visit. They played out well in their niche of being a relatively affordable boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nclsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed in J Hotel whenever we decided to go to Sutera Mall for good food & massage. Although there are many other hotels in Sutera, this considered the best location. It is also very well designed with bright coloured furnitures at the lobby & some of the designer rooms. This has added colors to the room and make it really cheerful.

The basic amenities is well provided and importantly it is always clean, with fresh white towels. Staff is helpful and always ready to assist. Although the rooms are non-smoking, but is not within their control, at times you may encounter strong cigarette smell. However once reported to the staff, they will try their best to clean, spray freshener & open the window to get rid of the smell. So that is a very responsible effort and nice gesture coming from the staff. Thank you and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ongtay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I was stay in this hotel for 2 days. I stay at level 3. The wifi is terrible and when shower, toilet is without hot water. Complain also useless. Management never take action of those 2 issues that I described. Hope this hotel will take action of these 2 issues for more improvement.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eric8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I was stay here for quite a while. This hotel is nice. Location good, walk out is much of fnb around this hotel. Especially I want highly comment En Fizi and Ms Ina , they are friendly and responsible. I believe that they will make this hotel more improve, keep going on . Hope to see both of you soon

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yung12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

1. Arrived and attended to promptly
2. Brightly coloured walls everywhere
3. We stayed in Room 219 and 210
The hotel was nice to provide us with room side by side
But alas, Room 219 was full of smoke from the last stay-in
4. Definitely for the bed and breakfast short break

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed at the Superior Room for 2 nights as we intend to go to Legoland.This hotel is near to Legoland (about 15-20mins drive).We find this hotel a very good place to stay as the room are clean and spacious with very good interior design.It is also located near Sutera Mall for shopping and have a lot of F&B outlets nearby the hotel (walking distant).A special mention to En Fizi for his good and marvelous customer service.He is definitely an asset to your fabulous hotel.Keep up the good work.Recommended place to stay.Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damien71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.2 mi away
Mood Hotel
Mood Hotel
#42 of 109 in Johor Bahru
43 reviews
7.7 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 109 in Johor Bahru
233 reviews
6.4 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
3.9 mi away
Tune Hotel Danga Bay
Tune Hotel Danga Bay
#14 of 109 in Johor Bahru
849 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
#16 of 109 in Johor Bahru
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Hotel

Address: No 89 Jalan Sutera Tanjung 8/3 | Taman Sutera Utama, Johor Bahru 81300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $26 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — J Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J hotel is strategically located in Iskandar Malaysia, accessible within 30km from Senai Airport, the Woodland or Tuas check points. You may shop-till-you-drop at the Johor Premium Outlet or enjoy a family's day at the Legoland Malaysia, both ceonveniently near at hand. Foodies will be enthralled that we are literately surrounded by over 70 F&B outlets, all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your J Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing