We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, good location”
Review of J Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
J Hotel
Ranked #3 of 99 Johor Bahru B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Value for money, good location”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

A friend recommended this hotel to us. Great location, walking distance from Sutera Mall.
We stayed in the Mini-boutique room which is spacious and clean. Unique & interesting room. The staffs there are very friendly and helpful. There are a few restaurants around, prices of the food in the restaurants are reasonable.

The cons are: No bathtubs. As mentioned by other reviewers, the pillows are relatively hard.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugar1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    51
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
24
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This journey to Johor Bahru, was my wife idea's.
Found out this hotel from google. Then try to browse the website, we found out the design very unique & catchy. We booked for 8 July until 10 July.
The location to the hotel very easy accessible. Located in Sutera Utama, very convenience for stay, eat, shop, & fun. The hotel site in middle of the shop complex, where got a lots of Cafes & Restaurants, Boutiques & Hair-dressing, Entertainments, & only walking distance to Sutera Mall.
We amazed when step in to the hotel and saw grand piano on the lobby. We booked Superior room, the room size is enough for couple stay. All the furniture still brand new i think. The wi-fi still ok. We didn't try the hotel foods, as arround the hotel got alots of food for us to try :)

Room Tip: We only tried the Superior Room, but so far we very like it. If got chance, we would like to try ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SquallChou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This place is just fine. stayed here because had an early flight out of Sentai and did not want to have to do an early morning rush from SIngapore. It is neither near JB Central nor the airport, sort of half way. There is a decent mall a short walk away with lots of restaurants. took the city bus here, but this is not recommended since there is a good walk from the highway with no sidewalks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2011

spacious room, clean and unique design in each room. location is great, near to eateries and a shopping mall. nice & friendly staff .
cons : very noisy early in the morning coz our room is at the back of the building which is facing few restaurants kitchen. and we found the pillow are very hard ,very uncomfortable to sleep on.

Room Tip: should try on their mini boutique room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tprado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Boutique hotel which was not heavy on the pocket. Clean, excellant service,amazing decor with attention to colour and details.Good location to many eateries and a mall.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adeesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

The J Hotel is a great find. 3 minute walk to Sutera Mall which has great shopping and a huge selection of restaurants, This could be said of the whole area surrounding this establishment. The staff in particular Rafise are a real credit to the J. The pictures on the web are a true reflection of what you see is what you get. We had the Superior room and stayed 3 nights. 24 hour security together with modern TV with good selection of channels made it almost better than some 4 star options. Location was good for us as we had some appointments in the area so staying at any of the other more popular hotels would have meant more traveling time/taxi fare etc. From the Terminal that you arrive by taxi or bus from Singapore it cost us $20 ringgit to get there. We were prepared with a google map of the location and that together with a quick call to his base made it easy for driver to find. We need to be back in April and will definitely be staying at the J again. Another large shopping area is Jusco at Bukit Indah about 15 minutes away. The only suggestion I have is a screen for the shower so that water doesnt go everywhere in the bathroom and perhaps slightly better lighting in the room. Alternatively a lamp on the side of the bed so that one could read if they wanted to. The J has a variety of other rooms so we may find ourselves checking out something different for the next visit. Thanks to the team at the J and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LKOEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
7.1 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
7.7 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 109 in Johor Bahru
215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mood Hotel
Mood Hotel
#28 of 109 in Johor Bahru
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Granada Johor Bahru
Hotel Granada Johor Bahru
#9 of 109 in Johor Bahru
334 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
6.3 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Hotel

Property: J Hotel
Address: No 89 Jalan Sutera Tanjung 8/3 | Taman Sutera Utama, Johor Bahru 81300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — J Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J hotel is strategically located in Iskandar Malaysia, accessible within 30km from Senai Airport, the Woodland or Tuas check points. You may shop-till-you-drop at the Johor Premium Outlet or enjoy a family's day at the Legoland Malaysia, both ceonveniently near at hand. Foodies will be enthralled that we are literately surrounded by over 70 F&B outlets, all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your J Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing