We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveler rating
57
225
198
53
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
225
198
53
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscedar pointdeluxe roomwalking distancefood courtfood centrefamily suitehawker centrenight marketswimming poollocal foodhigh floorbig roomsized bedcomfortable stayholiday plazahotel lobbychecking in
Filter
Updating list...
511 - 516 of 559 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Stayed for one week, business center closed and staff useless to print boarding passes. Lots of attitude from staff, at least at the front desk and woman restaurant supervisor(?) not completely sure who she was but one thing I know is she is useless. Staff in restaurant was a mixed bag of nice and then just plain rude! Claim to not speak english then you can hear them having a conversation in english. Tell you to go get your own water! Then point in that direction and walk off. Food recycled from the buffet like prison food! One day tomatoes on salad bar then next day same ones in some dish! They waste nothing for sure!
After telling the front desk we were unsatisfied we threatened them with a trip advisor review and a letter to the manager and was told to voice my opinion...here it is guys you asked for it.
I have traveled many many places world wide and never stayed anywhere quite like this. Staff have the most fake smiles of any staff I have ever seen.
NOT ALL ROOMS COME AS ADVERTISED! We booked three rooms and two of them were to have two queen beds in each room, but instead had two twin beds. What they offer us? 10 dollars off each day. Sorry didn't make anyone sleep more comfortable. Bed hard as a board. All rooms are supposed to have stand up showers and they don't.
SMOKING ON NON SMOKING FLOORS! They actually have an ashtray at the elevators! That didn't get changed the week we were there!
Towels literally falling apart as you used them strings and sheets with holes and stains.
Obviously a cash cow for some company as they don't maintain anything.
Had several cock roaches in suite and many dead in hallways not being cleaned up.
The coffee tasted like volcanic ash. Room had water damage to ceiling that looked like it ran down wall behind paper and then became moldy. STAY AWAY and go somewhere else. Malaysia included. Severe disappointment. As a white man traveling you can't go outside at night as you can easily be mugged. We hit Thailand next and then Tokyo....go to Tokyo! Amazing service and clean as a whistle.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PopetteMidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

My wife and stayed in this down town hotel for 4 nights, as part of our Far Eastern holiday. It was a toss-up between this and the Thistle, where we previously stayed when it was the Grand Hyatt.

Location is good - bang in the middle of the city, within walking distance of Plaza Pelangi and other shopping and eating areas.

We had a room on the top floor (25), which is deluxe. It was ok - a fair size room, the bed was king size, there was a flat screen TV, and a mini fridge. The view over JB city is good. Bathroom is dark and rather old for a "new" hotel. No separate shower. Very dark when in the bath having a shower with the curtain drawn. No telephone in the bathroom, no TV speaker, and even no shaver socket.

The corridor leading to the room often had an unpleasant smell, which was a bit off-putting.

Breakfast buffet I would consider good, with a huge variety of food. Mostly Asian fare, less options for Westerners although it had the standard cereals, toast, egg/omelette, chicken sausage, pastries.

Swimming pool on level 11 is a disappointment. Very small and easily over-crowded. The gym next to it looked ok, although a bit small too.

Overall an ok hotel, but I would consider it more Asian than Western. Lots of Asian clientiele.
Compared to the Thistle I would say the Thistle has a more luxurious feel to it, for virtually the same price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mabok O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Well furnished and designed room with comfortable bed, nice 32" TV
Gym looks well equipped and swimming pool overlooks the edge.
Gorgeous view of the city from rooms on the higher floors.
Complimentary breakfast, standard, nothing special.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

The room was spacious, and clean. Fitted with 32" LCD TV in the rooms but with limited channels. The service by the staffs at the cafe could have been better, but overall, 3.5stars out of 5. I would definitely recommend this for business trip in Johor.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

A must-stay hotel! Value for money and lots of spacious rooms! Even though I stay in a standard room, I felt as if I am staying in a VIP suite. With entertainment and healthcare services within the hotel itself, this hotel is good enough just to stay indoor to patronise. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drexler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews