We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing great, but then again, that's probably true for most JB hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand Paragon
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We stayed over 1 weekend in Dec 2009. The check-in staff was very kind to upgrade us to a room with an extended bedroom, the extension being a former balcony which is now enclosed. So that gave us a little more space in the room. The fixtures in the bedroom and bathroom are tired-looking. All in all, very functional but hardly cosy. Lifts take a long time, even though there are 3.

The website gives the impresion of the hotel having an infinity pool. In reality, it is a rather old-fashioned hole-in-the-ground sort of pool, more a dipping pool than a swimming pool. Gym - very basic and limited equipment.

The cafe on the ground floor which serves breakfast was a mad house. Obviously the number of guests exceeded the seating capacity as there was a long queue of people waiting for a table. Quite stressful for the ones eating in the cafe, as the people in the queue would be staring at you. On the Saturday evening, the toilets just outside the cafe next to the main lobby smelt so bad I wondered how some guests could sit in the lobby area! Even though the hotel was fully booked that weekend, that is still no excude.

From my observations, I believe this hotel is popular with the locals for business seminars (which was what my husband was there for) and wedding dinners/parties. I can't imagine any tourist traffic here. So if you are going to be here overnight for 1 of these reasons, stay by all means. The room's generally clean and functional, parking more than ample and hotel is easily located. If you want good local food and you have a car, Taman Sentosa is just across the highway.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spitfireSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 496 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank m3rry_su
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
Thank AlexFund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Camere al piano 8 sono mini appartamenti con cucina, belle camere spaziose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1960EnricoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed February 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 28, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
2  Thank Juntaro1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pasquale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.6 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
671 reviews
1.1 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#14 of 109 in Johor Bahru
705 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,328 reviews
3.7 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#3 of 109 in Johor Bahru
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Paragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Paragon

Address: 18 Jalan Harimau | Taman Century, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $49 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Paragon 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Grand Paragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing