We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand Paragon
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We went for a family suite with 3 rooms at a very reasonable price. Location is good, right behind the hotel is a open space food court with nice food. And 5mins walk away there is 2 malls. Hotel staff is helpful in getting family (7-seater) cabs for us over the stay of 4 days. Buffet breakfast is nothing fascinating but is ok. Swimming pool is ok as well with a children pool.

Just one thing, don't stay near the top floor as it is a little noisy from the lounge music.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J3ffng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 489 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

I like this hotel because it's near to shopping mall. I stayed here during business trip. Room is standard and fine. I do not like the coffee during breakfast as it tasted super weird (not nice at all).
We can walk to KSL city about 5 mins. And behind the hotel have food court, they open till late night. You must try grilled chicken wing in one store there...it's super nice! Go with your friend as walking behind the hotel is pretty dark.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiliChng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Service was good and staff were friendly and helpful. Facilities were as described, but could be better maintained and cleaner. Water in the swimming pool looked like coffee. Décor is generally plain and old style. General smell of cigarette smoke in the air. Average comfort. If staying for short periods, probably okay. Very central to amenities and food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoeyTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Checked in on 9th August for one night stay.

Check-in was smooth and easy. He asked my preferred room type, and arranged accordingly.

Room is spacious and comfortable, stayed at 17th floor, and facing a nice view of the straits.

Slight noise from the street where people do karaoke at night, but the noise did not affect us as it was not loud. (Perhaps that the advantage of staying at higher floor?)

Hotel facilities are good, they have swimming pool (not big), massages at reasonable price, but too bad the steam bath room for ladies at Level 11 is out of service.

The next day breakfast was horrible. The staff unable to manage the large crowd. Guests, including me and my husband were waiting in line and queue for 15 minutes to before we are allowed in to the Para Para cafe. (First time that this occurred to me that I have to wait before I could sit). One thing I noticed, the staff themselves were disorganized. It would be good if they could communicate via WALKIE-TALKIE to ease their communication. When we managed to walk in, I noticed that there were many empty seats at the back area but people were still queuing. The manager (In purple shirt that morning - with tie), he was going up and down to tell the counter girl on the available seats in the dining hall. Walkie-talkie definitely will help!

Food-wise, overall is okay. Wide range of choices, they just need to adjust their table setting I guess, to accommodate their guests.

Location wise, it is walking distance to a mall, and only 10 minutes drive to the heart of JB.

I would stay here again if I visit JB, hope they can improve the breakfast arrangement. - Otherwise I would have rate them 5/5.

Room Tip: Get the higher floor - but they do have sky lounge at Level 26, so not sure whether there will be no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shobra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Despite the number of rooms available, the front desk provides discrete service. Many people book this place for partying within Johor Bahru as the rates are friendly and the room spacious. From this property, its within close vicinity to night activities. I recommend paying for the suite. Its worth the while for a guys night out. Will be back should another party arise!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PillowBook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed with my family over weekend in a suite. The toilet flushing has no pressure. Basin drainage very slow. The suite has three TV sets, one in each bedroom and one in living room, however, there is only one TV remote control. Same for the air-conditioning system, only one remote control to share among all guests. The food quality at the coffeehouse is average. The front desk staff failed to follow up on our extension of pay. Hence, we were locked out of our room. Housekeeping staff cannot understand English. We requested for change of towels, never done! We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this Hotel 6 times and have never had any problems at all. Breakfast caters to all tastes, and great choices. Rooms are large and very clean, beds are comfortable. The staff have always been very friendly and no request has ever been denied. Close to 3 major shopping malls and plenty of dining outlets. Congrats to all the staff of this hotel, it is a total pleasure to stay.
Lyn and Brian Mildenhall

Room Tip: All rooms have great views, one side to Singapore the other to Malaysia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaki642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.1 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
0.6 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#14 of 109 in Johor Bahru
690 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,308 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Johor Bahru
Amari Johor Bahru
#2 of 109 in Johor Bahru
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Paragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Paragon

Address: 18 Jalan Harimau | Taman Century, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $48 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Paragon 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Grand Paragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing