We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Thumbs up!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grand Paragon
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed January 13, 2013

First time staying here and we return with wide smiles :)
Great experiences, from booking period to the check out process. Highly recommended to all.

PRE-STAY
We've made a 1-nite booking under Asiarooms.com and emailed to Grand Paragon Reservations unit just to check whether it got thru. Their response was very prompt and our request for Deluxe connecting room was noted immediately.
After few days, we've decided to extend our stays for another night and correspond thru email. Yet again, their reply was very fast and even though there's a several hiccups, the reservation officer, Joanne Yaw reliably and efficiently rectified it and our booking was confirmed with the ease of mind.

DURING STAY
We opt for the late check in at 6pm to 7pm. However, we arrive early around 5+ and was very delighted to hear that our rooms are ready. Check-in was a breeze. The manager (i forgot her name!) is very efficient and works at a very fast paced. It took only several minutes!

Our rooms on the 16th floor was spacious and cosy. The super single bed fits 2 Asian-sized adults. Bathroom was clean and spotless. Window view was amazing, we could see parts of Johor Bahru & even a bit of Singapore.

Breakfast is a simple affair. Usual Malaysian delights: Nasi Lemak & Roti Canai. Western dishes of cold cuts and assortment of bread and danish. Chinese cuisine of Seafood Porridge and Noodle Soup. All of them quite good and tasty.

Walking distance to Pelangi Shopping Mall with plenty of F&B choices such as Secret Recipe, Auntie Anne's, Nandos and many more. There's also carts along the way to Pelangi SM, selling Malaysian Favourites; Ramly Burger. (Not sure if it always there).

Grand Paragon, we will come again soon :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junqitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 514 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel 4 times now and always find it to be great. The staff are friendly and helpful in all areas of the Hotel. The Breakfast is wonderful as are other meals. We like the situation of the Hotel in relation to eating and shopping of any kind, clothes, shoes, and also close enough to China Town shops. Taxis are easy to get and if not around the Staff will gladly call one for you. The Room Rates are very good and this will always be my choice of Hotel In Johore Bahru. We always hoilday over Christmas and New Year and find Johore Bahru a terrific place to be, day trips an be done quite easily.The Aircons in the room are very cool.

Room Tip: Higher floors re best for the view also when the rain comes across it is terrific to watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Came here as part of legoland. The rooms was really nice and clean and quite spacious. The beds was great with really nice pillows. breakfast was quite poor so I would recommend you can go out and eat. The location is really good as its very near KSL and immigration.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seeyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed with the 2d1n tour to legoland with traveller 101 so checking in was handled by them and not by the hotel's frontdesk. There were a number of couches around though I would have preferred a few more as there were many people looking for a place to sit.

Our room on the 16th floor was cosy and the bed was lovely to sink in. The hotel had put up 4 pillows on the bed, which saved me the hassle of taking the pillows out from storage. The pillows were really comfortable tooo! Had a great night's rest.

There wasn't much interaction with the hotel staff, other then at meals. On the first night, we had dinner at the japanese restaurant on the "M" floor. When we entered, there was barely anyone there however, a few others came to the restaurant throughout our dinner. The place was still largely empty. The manager brought us to the non-smoking section, and as we requested to sit side-by-side each other, he recommended that we sit facing the TV that was in the restaurant. Anyway, the food was great! and it cost us about 200RM for 2 people.
The other meals was at breakfast before we checked out. I noticed that the hostess's heel seemed to be falling out. Breakfast just tasted average but thats just normal.

The location of the hotel was rather convenient as it was less than a 10mins drive from the immigration, only a 5mins walk from JB's popular shopping mall, KSL Mall, and also a 5mins walk away from another smaller mall, Pelangi Plaza, in another direction (don't other going there if you are intending to shop). Its a quiet old mall, very different from KSL but you can go there if you want to get away from the crowds.

We watched a movie at KSL which ended past midnight. So we had to walk up a straight slope up to the hotel. It seemed quite safe for that short distance, even though there were no cars around, as there were road lamps and also a police stand right outside the Grand Paragon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have stayed at Grand Paragon quite a number of times and I have always enjoyed my stays. Dropping by over in Johor from Singapore for a weekend trip, Grand Paragon is always my first choice because of the pleasant rooms and the close proximity to various food joints and shopping malls.

Prices for the rooms are a little on the high side compared to other hotels but trust me...if you are looking for a relaxed and comfortable stay, the pricing is reasonable. I have stayed in quite a number of other hotels in JB and yes, they are much cheaper but be prepared for some negatives such as really basic rooms without much frills.

The management mostly accommodate late check-outs and that's always a plus point if you do not want to rush in the mornings on your check-out day.

Beds are comfy enough but do ask for extra pillows cos the pillows can be a little too soft (which I personally do not like).

Most importantly, security-wise is good and hotel staff are professional which is definitely good in JB.

Make this your choice if you plan to stay in JB for a couple of nites to ensure a safe and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Always ask for a complimentary upgrade and if rooms are available, they should be more than likely t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JonLee1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Second visit to this hotel.

I've sent queries via email to KSL & Grand Paragon regard to Legoland & hotel package, only Ms Joanne from Grand Paragon replied.
Swift responds & planning from her for my family of 5 (3 young kids). Confirmation via email allowed. We paid cash when we arrived.

The package was MYR485 (1 night deluxe stay, 2 adult lego tkts,2 way CAR transport to legoland).
I took up this package as I don't have to share the transport with others by bus which others have offer & pick up time is 6pm from legoland.
On the day at legoland, we asked the driver to pick us at 8pm instead of 6pm. (My husband gave him tips when we reached hotel)

Anyway, it was a smooth & pleasant stay. I will still choose this hotel for my next visit to JB.

Room Tip: Deluxe room with 2 queen size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sngsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My friend and me book a 2 nights stay here. our room is a twin queen bed n huge. The room furnitures look tired but still acceptable.

Toilet is huge but lighting is poor. There is no separated shower n bath tub so be prepared to shower in the tub. Find that it is a waste of space though.

Breakfast was average and has the usual variety of asianand western fare. They charge rm 20.88 for my 8 year old son breakfast so be prepared to pay for those with children 4 years n above.

Location is good as i am able to drive to KSL shopping centre in 10 mins.

Swimming pool is small but acceptable. The gym is mediaocre though i did not try but only pass by.

Just a note that the power was down on a Saturday night for abt 1 - 2 hours..

Overall wouldnt mind staying for a short stay with family.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mum2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.6 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
691 reviews
1.1 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
1.4 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#14 of 109 in Johor Bahru
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
1.8 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,364 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Johor Bahru
Amari Johor Bahru
#2 of 109 in Johor Bahru
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Paragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Paragon

Address: 18 Jalan Harimau | Taman Century, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $49 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Paragon 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Paragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing