We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Comfortable and Clean Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grand Paragon
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Kuala Lumpur
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Comfortable and Clean Room”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The room is spacious and comfortable with Wifi access, iron for ironing clothes and astro/tv for entertainment! The room's main switch burnt on the next morning and in less than 10 minutes the technicians arrive promptly to sort out the problem! The restaurant food is quite good too with lots to choose from and overall the services are excellent!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    185
    180
    43
    19
See reviews for
129
105
22
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Supposed to be 4* and only 3 years old but I think it is 3* and feels a lot older. Rooms are clean, basic and facilities limited other than the exellent hotel shop which is open from 0800 - 2300. Shower pressure a trickle and hot water rather luke warm. All bars closed during the day due to State licencing laws. Japanese resturant a good spot for lunch but the Cafe for breakfast and dinner is nothing special. Parking very good. Taxi service needs to be called by hotel as no passing trade. Overall, average but first time in JB so dont know if this is the local standard.

Room Tip: In a quiet area but see if you can a room with views towards Singapore
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic_Weston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had our wedding dinner in the hotel recently. In the package, it come together with 1 junior suite, so we decided to change it to a family suite. Some of our guest stay in the hotel as well, the feedback from the guest is that they very enjoy their stay because the size of the room is quite big and also very comfortable. The staff is always ready to help at all time. The breakfast is quite nice with vary selection and in a nice environment. For our family suite, we had a very relax and comfortable room for us to rest after a very tired day. The room is very clean and also each too got their own tv so that we don't have to fight over with the tv channel.

At here I want to express my appreciation and special thank to all the staff, especially Ms Hee, the person in charge for the whole event, she even came to the hotel when she's on-leave to make sure everything is fine and also Mr Yazid, who take care the wedding dinner, you had make the wedding dinner a very good experience for all the guest. Thank you both of you very much!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiewmingHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I called reservation on a Friday night for a double room but was told only the deluxe twin room i.e. 2 queen size beds, is available. But upon check in on the next night, we were upgraded to suite! That's how my RM290 became worth it :o)

Location: Hotel is approximately 10 mins from Johor customs and City Square shopping center by metered taxi. Cost less than RM7, depending on traffic.

Check-in: Reception requested for RM400 in advance as payment & security, but due to shortage of cash at my side, they requested for my credit card for verification. I paid the RM290 only upon check out on Sunday.

Room: We stayed on the 25th floor smoking room #2504 which is the nearest to the lift so it is really convenient. Our room look out into the city but not much of a pretty view.
Bed is confortable though pillows are soft. For suite, the living room is separated from the bedroom. Each side has its own TV but share one TV remote control.
The bedroom has a big bathroom which comes with a shower, tub & toilet, while the living room has a small toilet. The iron, ironing board & hair dryer are kept in the wardrobe.
There are some stains on the carpet but no big deal. It's still clean overall.

Wi-fi: It's free with average network. Ask for the password when you check in. You need to input the password when you log into your gadget's Explorer. Only then you can use the other apps on your gadget.

Toiletries: Towels, toothbrush, toothpaste, body lotion, soap etc are provided...which is good!

Dinner: We didn't eat in the hotel but opt to walk 10 mins to the 24-hour eateries nearby, which is around the Plaza Pelangi shopping center. Tasty & definitely cheap!

Breakfast: Price includes breakfast for two. The buffet spread consist of both local & Western. Quite generous & tasty in general.

Swimming pool: It's a small one located on the 11th floor, where the gym, hair salon etc are also there. The pool has a small section for kids, & the other section is 1.2m standard height. You can request for towels at the counter of the pool entrance.

Overall it was still a good short weekend getaway from Singapore! :o)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aznilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My family(2adult/3kids) 1st time stay in JB 's hotel.On 15june, we walk-in ard 10am & gave us a deluxe room with 2queen size bed.They allow us to check- in immediately!
Free wifi whole bldg,,daily free bkft,a small pool,etc. International buffet dinner serve fresh oyster, smoked salmon, asam laksa, beef slice,etc. Nice & cheap@MYR50(adult). Breakfast (chgn some daily) serve chicken hotdog, nasi lemak, beef bacon, french toast, etc.
This hotel easy access to a lot places,KSL,danga bay,zon duty free by taxi. An advice to go danga bay, hard to get taxi back.Luckily my hubby asked the taxi driver who drove us there, come back to fetch us aft 2hrs.
Over all, we find it safe & happy during our 2nite stay. Security is most important to us as we have young kids. THINK twice or read more reviews before you make your selection.
We will choose this hotel again for our next trip to JB.
Counter & cafe service, thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sngsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Needed a short getaway not too far from home. Wireless internet was essential as it was a trip planned to get some work done too.

Boyfriend combed the immediate vacinity around the customs and found this hotel. One of the tallest hotel in the area. The hotel apparently is popular among some wealthy people as we saw many big cars parked in front of the hotel lobby.

Paid a little more for a suit that comes with a little pantry and living room. The pantry was well equipped with an en suite of cutlery and a dinning table. A huge rotating flat screen TV divides the bedroom from the living room. A down side for such an amazing suite was the lack of bath tub in the toilet.

The location of the hotel was fantastic. A short 10min drive leads you to great eating places. Taman Sentosa is around the corner. We particularly like this location as it was pretty centralized from the food places that we had wanted to go.

The hotel offers free parking to hotel residence. But you have to go to the reception to ask for the exit coupon whenever you plan to exit the carpark.

Felt so in love with this room that I kind of miss it even after 2 months. With the objective of this trip being eat, rest, work, the fundementals were met. The ease of driving back to the room after a satisfying gourmet adds on to the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smiling_mango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 734 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Convenient to reach, well trained staff, good rooms, Excellent breakfast, reasonable daily rates with late check-out possibility. Hotel has a Japanese Restaurant

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SadhanaRakesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.1 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
1.8 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
636 reviews
3.7 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 109 in Johor Bahru
832 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#17 of 109 in Johor Bahru
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Paragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Paragon

Property: Hotel Grand Paragon
Address: 18 Jalan Harimau | Taman Century, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Paragon 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Grand Paragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing