We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different sizing in Deluxe Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand Paragon
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed there a couple of times and each time, the size of the room gets smaller..... Just my luck.... If you stay right at the end, you will have a big room. If you stay right in the middle, you get tiny Deluxe Room. you can see the layout at the back of the door and you'll understand what i mean.

Pillows provided are flat ! Need to request for a few more pillows.... Breakfast was not bad though.....

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, do request for a room few levels away from the lounge/KTV. If not, you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ee Von L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 495 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

Spend a night on the eve of Chinese New Year. Check-in around 1.00pm without any problem and was given room no. 1311 on the 13th floor. The room was nicely decorated, modern, clean and fitted with a Sharp 32" LCD TV with about 20 channels. All the channel was clear not like some other hotel with poor TV reception. Mattress of high quality and the air-con was cold enough. No complain on the bathroom.

Breakfast was great and with a lot of choices.

Room Tip: Can reach KSL City Mall in under 10 minutes provided you take the shorter route on the right once yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dpmy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Booked a Family Suite last weekend for a night. Pros:

Huge rooms and bathrooms.
Each room has a good size tv.
Check-in/out was a breeze.
Sleep quality was good, mattress firm.
Breakfast very good, though could be better with more varieties
Complimentary parking for 2 or more cars possible, even with just a room

Cons:

Cigarette burn marks on carpets and sofas
Tired furnishings
Room was warm especially during the day, aircon doesn't work well eventhough their technician came to fix it. My mom was complaining as she couldn't sleep well. All of us slept without the blankets.
Lobby looked too "china" for me and the Chinese New Year decorations made it worse.
Traffic was a nightmare, hard to get in and out of the hotel as cars won't give way to you and it was a single lane drive on both directions. Furthermore there's a new mall, KSL city, situated quite close to the hotel so that definitely adds more congestion to the area.
The toilet bowl in one of the bathrooms kept flushing throughout our stay but we didn't bother to call and get it fixed.
We were on level 25 and there's a skybar on level 26 but the music and noise sounded like it came from my room. No sound proofing at all. Went on until almost 2am. Didn't really bother us cause we usually sleep late but I wonder how did my neighbours react to this.

Room Tip: Get a room on a lower ground level, away from the skybar on level 26 if you're a light sleeper o...
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
Thank fazzigucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

This hotel looks a lot older than its actual age. There was mold growing around the base of the wall and carpet near the bathroom and tears in our room's wallpaper. There was also stains on our bedsheet. The towels provided had a smell while the corridors leading to the rooms was dark and padded with tacky looking carpeting. Some of the rooms, ours included, was located in bizarre nooks shared with neighboring rooms, which meant that if you and the guest of the neighboring room were to open your doors at the same time, you and the neighboring guest would be faced with an awkward situation in which your backs could be literally pressed up against each other. Really bizarre layout if you ask me.

The location is great but other than that, the hotel is disappointing, including its complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bittenbytheTbugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Got a good reputation from in law that this hotel was a 5-stars hotels with good service. However when i try to check in the room, the reception just could not tell me the time that i can get the room when her reason was the cleaner still working on cleaning the room. it get me more upset when others guests that arrived later than us can get to the room early. Besides that, i am expecting the hotel to be smoke free hotel since it was sign of smoke free in the lift and some of the hotel lobby however just finding people smoking either in corridors or in the lobby area. Furthermore, i had to call 3-4 times just to get hold of a reception at midnight... For the breakfast, the food was quite ok, However just finding the manager and the waiters/waiteress were showing bad attitude to the guests. Just not sure what happen to the smilling face that they supposed to show to the guests? The worst thing, i am still finding some used tissue under the bed. Am I really staying in a 5-stars hotel or a 4 star hotel?

Room Tip: Better ask to see a manager if the check in desk cannot provide you the room during check in time as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cptaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I stayed here while in JB on business. There is a lovely roof top bar with views of Singapore and the city. As usual in South East Asia, there is the usual human cattle of Koreans and Chinese hogging the facilities (not that I have anything against them). Not too far from the port, local night life and Singapore.

My company paid for my stay here, if it was up to me I would have probably have chosen somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeBonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

i will never never want to step in again! v poor services! counter only 2 staffs and check in have to wait for 1 hrs which check in time was 2pm!!!!! staff poor service ni smile face a all!suppose to be a happy trip!

Room Tip: bedsheet lots of stain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.6 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
669 reviews
1.1 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#15 of 109 in Johor Bahru
705 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,326 reviews
3.7 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#3 of 109 in Johor Bahru
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Paragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Paragon

Address: 18 Jalan Harimau | Taman Century, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $48 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Paragon 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Grand Paragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing