We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not autenthic but good”
Review of Gianni's Trattoria

Gianni's Trattoria
Ranked #19 of 1,244 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed June 24, 2019 via mobile

Second visit to this place, first time had pizza and was a disappointment, but the second time we decided to try pasta, appetizers and main, fettuccine bolognese presented like in Italy 1960 with the sauce on top of the pasta, non tossed and a handful of parmesan which I brushed aside. They were firm and tasty not home made thou but enjoyable. The parmigiana tastes great even thou it's a shortcut from the original recipe, no layers here but nice. The shank was tasty but a bit undercooked, the meat should come off the bone easily and it didn't. A very generous nocciole cake slice with ice cream was a good ending to the meal. Good place for casual italian dinner

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank Giorgio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 218 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2019

We ate here for lunch, ordering lasagna and shrimp / prawn with pasta dishes. While the waitress was new and should have told us that there were no avocados for our appetizer, we generally had a pleasant and enjoyable lunch. It was a nice change to eat good Italian food in JB.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank kmcgahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019

I loved the decor of the place. It is soothing for the nervous ones. The food spread is fine. I like the taste of the dishes. Gd quality at affordable pricing.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank anu_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2019

pass by this place once n caught my attention so I came to visit this restaurant a few days back to dine in with their set lunch menu
the food was simple and taste great the service is also great would love to come back to dine in soon.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geraldine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2019 via mobile

A great neighbourhood Italian restaurant easily reachable from JB city centre. Decor is simple but the food is really good and has a decent wine list. Had the king prawn papardelle which was excellent and coupled with a Rioja made for a wonderful meal. Service from the friendly Filipino staff helped to make the whole experience one you would wish to return to for a no-nonsense sensibly priced very tasty meal. Highly recommended if one needs their Pasta fix.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank TeMaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gianni's Trattoria also viewed

 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Gianni's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.