We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thistle Johor Bahru
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel is located not far away from town area, taxi fare to town is about RM10. The service is good and they provide free shuttle to some shopping mall, legoland and JPO. The timing of for the shuttle is inside the lift. Room is spacious but the bed sheet is a bit dirty with smell. The breakfast is good with variety.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 690 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed there for a night over the weekend and it was fully booked I understand (Malaysian School Holidays). Checking in was really fast and so was the check out. Plus points for that.

Room wise, it could be better. Our AC wasn't controllable so towards the later part of our stay, it was quite wintery. Had to switch it off to stave of frost bite. The TV cabinet needs some serious repair as one of the hinges has broken and we couldn't slide it in. House keeping must have been overwhelmed as our first call to them for extra towels and blankets was answered with a "we are all out" but they managed to pull through for us. Thumbs up to them.

Door men needs to be better trained and fluent in English as we got a blank face when we pulled up and said we were checking in. Porter was there to help but again needs better training. Took a long while to get our luggage into our room. Room wise is just average with your usual bathroom with a tub (no shower), shower cubicle and open WC.

Didn't explore the hotel so can't comment on facilities except the pool looks nice but the car park needs some serious uplifting. Its dark and the car park lift needs some new ID in it. Not a great impression if you parked your car first before going into the lobby.

Breakfast was disappointing since its fully booked we didn't get to eat at the proper restaurant but was sent to one of the ballrooms. Simple spread with typical food, was hoping for something better and better coffee.

Overall a bit average for Thistle brand especially compared to Thistle PD. Could be better and needs to be better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viperal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

It is a hotel which supports recycling campaign by providing recycle bins.
There are quite a number of magazines in the room and executive lounge. The swimmping pool is awesome and so are the sceneries.
But the breakfast could be improvised in terms of selection and taste e.g: Puteri Pacific Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HRS_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

A pleasant stay, room is big and clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly. Hotel is located in the city. We were allowed late checkout by the receptionist on duty that day! Sorry we didnt get her name. Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annaquarius89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The customer service at this hotel is very good. They were helpful with luggage and with checking-in, as well as offering to get a taxi for you should you need one. The room is spacious and has a nice view of the straits however traffic on the roads in front kept me awake as I wasn't sleeping too well. I would suggest taking a room not facing the front if you are a light sleeper. Breakfast is the same as other hotels but taste wise is good.

Room Tip: I would suggest taking a room not facing the straits if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank altanative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I was at Thistle Johor Bharu recently. Something interesting come into my mind. I saw tooth picks, written, "make your dentist smile", printed handwritten besides the Thistle logo. This is a small effort but it means a lot to me being the hotel guest. Most hotel management do not concern on things like this. It shows that the Thistle Management appreciate their guests and try to be "personalized" in every single matter pertaining to their service. Thistle JB is seen to be very particular on what will make their guests happy and feel "being attended" at all time. Congratulations to General manager and the team for this effort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAZLI H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The staff at thistle was quite nice and helpful. The rooms were very poorly lit. Our room had a problem with the bathroom door. We were there for a three day training program and were mostly in their conference halls through the day. The vegetarian food options were extremely limited on all days. There are cheaper and better food options not very far from the hotel. (Walking distance).
When you ask for water to be sent to the room, only two tiny bottles will be sent , so ensure you always ask for extra. Thistle has a great pool side bar which we found perfect to socialise in the evenings. Overall a decent stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luckyshankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleJB, General Manager at Thistle Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Thistle Johor Bahru on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.

It is very nice to know that you liked the poolside bar and were happy with the good service you received from the team. We have also taken note of your comment with regards to your bathroom door and in room lighting and actions are in play to address the issue.

Your feedback on our vegetarian food options has been brought to the attention of our Food and Beverage team for review as we take steps to further improve our variety and offerings.

We hope that there will be another opportunity to extend our Thistle hospitality to you in the near future.

Kind regards.

Edward and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.1 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
5.3 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#3 of 109 in Johor Bahru
930 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Johor Bahru
Amari Johor Bahru
#2 of 109 in Johor Bahru
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
2 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
680 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Johor Bahru

Address: Jalan Sungai Chat, Johor Bahru 80100, Malaysia (Formerly Hyatt Regency)
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Johor Bahru
#3 Spa Hotel in Johor Bahru
#10 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $63 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thistle Johor Bahru 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're with us for business or pleasure, the Thistle Johor Bahru hotel provides the very best of Malaysia, including our legendary hospitality. At Thistle Johor Bahru we have 382 fully refurbished bedrooms, including 125 executive luxury rooms with spectacular sea views over the Straits of Johor. This Malaysian hotel also boasts 5, an outdoor 'resort-style' swimming pool, and fitness centre with spa. Everything you need in fact to indulge your body and soul in modern luxury and comfort. As you'd expect from a hotel in Malaysia and so close to Singapore, Thistle Johor Bahru also has superb meetings and events facilities making the hotel a prime destination for business. Thanks to our beautiful landscaped grounds, sea views and tropical climate, we are also a popular venue for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing