We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service & great co-operation from staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thistle Johor Bahru
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service & great co-operation from staff!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I had a one night stay on the 18th of January 2014. It's a little too late for me to write this review but I guess it's better later than never.

I was looking for a hotel for a birthday surprise for my girlfriend and decided to try out Thistle since it has quite a nice review & I am impressed with the facilities it has & overlooking the sea, though not really near.

But unfortunately, when I checked-in into the Executive room, most of the rooms are already preoccupied. Hence, I wasn't able to get the sea view to my dismay. Secondly, I opted for a non-smoking level but I smelled smoke when we were on our way to our room.

Nonetheless, the staffs there are always displaying great service with a smile & courteous to you. They make you feel at home, Credit to the staff & management for that.

But what I wanted to highlight here was the main event. My birthday surprise for her wasn't really going as planned since the hotel had a few events going on. Hence, most of the places are out of bound to people, I called the room service and Mr Izzuan attended to me. He displayed great cooperation with me as he worked together to ensure I have a great surprise for her. After much discussion, I managed to get a private candle light dinner with her. I am very amazed with the set-up & the food that was prepared for us. It went as what I had expected it to be, He & his team, compromising of Mr Mizi & Ms Dania served me well throughout the dinner.
I would like to thank all of you from the bottom of my heart for making it a successful one.

To the managers who are in-charge of them, I believe they had done a great job & they deserve some credit. Kudos to them!

Once again, I had a great stay with Thistle, though I didn't get to enjoy the sea view as the other factors are more than enough to make up for that loss.


Warmest regards,
Your satisfied customer Mr K

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PappoiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleJB, General Manager at Thistle Johor Bahru, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Thistle Johor Bahru on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.
My team and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate your positive feedback on our facilities as well as the candle light dinner set up and food quality.
I am glad everything went as what you had expected it to be. I also thank you for your generous compliments to my team members especially Izzuan, Mizi and Dania, whose outstanding service made your surprise birthday dinner experience special and memorable.

Whilst it is good to know that the service was commendable I note your comments with regards to the smoke odour which came from our none smoking floor.
This shall be addressed.

Thank you again for your feedback and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back for more outstanding Thistle hospitality experiences.

Kind regards.

Edward and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    479
    331
    111
    74
See reviews for
429
244
42
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We selected Thistle as we were travelling with two fourteen year old boys and wanted a room that accommodated four adults (still can't understand 14 year olds considered adults when booking hotel rooms) and the place sounded nice, when we arrived a very friendly and warm welcome and went through the check in, we then asked what the bedding arrangments were for the four of us in the room that is advertised on website as for four adults and was told would need to pay extra for fourth bed, after some protest and pointing out to them that they said the room accommodated four they supplied the extra bed a no cost, the room is an apartment with king bed, once the extra beds were set up in the lounge there was no room to move with the other furniture but we made do.
The property is a nice place to stay the staff are very friendly especially a chap named Sashi an absolute asset to the place, he was working in one of the restaurants and really knows how to treat people right, we came back from an unpleasant trip into town and stressed out and he was so accommodating and understanding I hope management makes mention of him, he certainly deserves it.

Room Tip: For around $450.00 Aus a night expect more and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleJB, General Manager at Thistle Johor Bahru, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Thistle Johor Bahru on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.

I am very sorry for the lapse in service during your arrival. Please be assured that your feedback helps us to focus on what is important to our guests and we are addressing this service shortfall.

Whilst not an excuse, we apologize that there was a confusion in the package that you booked with us. We will strive to make it more clearer for future guests to better understand the offer in our website. For your information, only Apartments and Suites room type allowed maximum 4 persons in the room.

I appreciate your feedback on our friendly team members from Concierge and Sashi, our Assistant Manager from Steps lounge.

I truly appreciate your kind patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Edward and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

to begin with, our room had no mini fridge - they had the space, but it was empty with nothing. When we called to ask they said 'we should have requested when we booked the room'...seriously? it gets better, the phone is our room stopped working right after we called to request for a mini fridge, and no one came to check on it the whole time. We had to call for room service via our mobile phone to place our order for dinner. Iron is also upon request.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geetagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleJB, General Manager at Thistle Johor Bahru, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Thistle Johor Bahru on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.
I am sorry to learn that our service delivery has fallen below your expectations.
As we continually endeavour to deliver the best personalised service that all our valued guests deserve, your feedback very much helps us to focus on the areas for improvement.

I have noted your comments with regards to the mini bar in your bedroom. Whilst not an excuse, I can confirm that we are awaiting delivery of new mini bars for our hotel.
For this I truly apologies.

Your other comment about the bedroom phone has also been noted. This matter has been highlighted to the relevant Engineering team and necessary action has been taken.

Iron and ironing board service are available upon request.
I am sorry should the Iron and ironing board is not available during your stay.

I apologize once again for your disappointing experience but nevertheless hope for another opportunity where we may deliver a better stay experience to you and your family.
Thank you for staying with us.

Kind regards,

Edward and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We (10 pax) stayed for 2 Nights from 30 Jan 2014 - 1 Feb 2014. Check in was fast. Thistle has an amazing beautiful swimming pool, fitness gym and fantabulous room! Super duper nice! The breakfast quantity and quality was really good. Affordable price. The doorman are very welcoming. The Front Desk Agent, Haesen served me very well. Kudos to him. Thank you Thistle for the awesome accommodation and super duper service. 10 STARS! WE WILL BE BACK AGAIN!

Room Tip: I prefer deluxe room with sea view. AWESOME VIEW.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kruzeryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleJB, General Manager at Thistle Johor Bahru, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Thistle Johor Bahru on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed a truly Thistle experience and I very much appreciate your positive feedback on our service, team members, swimming pool, fitness centre as well as our bedroom.

We are humbled by your kind compliments and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards.

Edward and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

OK Hotel

My wife and I decided to stay at this hotel in December 2013, and we got the Legoland package, which consists of a one-night stay in the Deluxe Room + 2 adult and 1 kid tickets to Legoland. They allowed us to pick up the tickets the morning before we checked in since we wanted to go to Legoland on the day.

Positive:
1) Nice and clean room
2) Friendly staff
3) Good choice of food for breakfast
Negative:
1) Iron is on request. They even told my wife to let them know when she was done with the iron because apparently they didn't have enough.
2) They forgot to send the flowers that I added during reservation. They did send it eventually after I asked for it.
3) During checkout, I was over charged for the flowers. I didn't really notice it at the time. I emailed them asking for clarification. They admitted the mistake, and refunded the charge. I have to say that they were very responsive in this regard.
4) You cannot drive through the hotel lobby without getting the parking ticket. The only way out of the lobby is through the parking lot. I think this may be the reason the valet guy took about 15 minutes to get our car.

Overall, I think this hotel is just OK. Considering its well recognized name, I seriously thought that they could have done better. There are a few other better options in JB, so I think we may not come back unless absolutely necessary. Check out some of the photos we took while we were there!

Room Tip: Deluxe Room should suffice to those who have tight budget like us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syamsul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleJB, General Manager at Thistle Johor Bahru, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Thistle Johor Bahru on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.
We appreciate your positive feedback with regards to our clean bedroom, friendly team members and breakfast spread.
Your patronage is of great value to us.

Whilst it is good to know that the service was commendable I note your comments with regards to our Iron and ironing board facilities which are being addressed.

I am very sorry for the lapse in service with regards to your specific flower request and billings accuracy. I can confirm that this is not our normal standard of service however fully understand the poor perception created.

Thank you again for staying with us and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Edward and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a nite in this hotel with my family over a weekend. Checking in was a breeze but the second room supposed to be allocated to us got delayed for quite a long while. Only managed to get our second room around 4plus in afternoon instead of the half hour as promised. We waited for about 3 hours before we went to Recep to ask about the room. Only sfter which, the second room was cleaned up and given to us.

Rooms are abit dusty. Not very well maintained I must say but the full set of amenities are provided. Breakfast is quite ok not fantastic. The service staffs seemed to be slow to react and serve.

Location of hotel is good. Near to town.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank medgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleJB, General Manager at Thistle Johor Bahru, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Thistle Johor Bahru on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.
I am very sorry for the lapse in service during your arrival. Please be assured that your feedback helps us to focus on what is important to our guests and we are addressing this service shortfall.

I appreciate your feedback on our guest room's cleanliness and service standard. These shall be looked into.

Please accept our sincere apologies for your less than satisfactory experience with us.
We hope that there will be another opportunity in the future to deliver a much better Thistle hospitality experience to you.

Kind regards,

Edward and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Friendly staff, clean and big room. Everything was fine till we checked out. Concierge got us a blue cab with "Thistle Hotel Johor" on it. The starting meter showed 6RM and the driver smacked the meter. Usually it's 3RM if you take red colour cab. So I assume something is wrong with his action. The meter jumped at a fast rate. From Thistle hotel to Pelangi Mall costs 19.20. Felt that we were robbed though it's not very ex. DO NOT TAKE THE BLUE COLOUR CAB.

Can try the Ong Shun Seafood restaurant behind thistle hotel. About 7-10mins walk. Affordable price at 56RM for 650g of crab.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lxhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleJB, General Manager at Thistle Johor Bahru, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Thistle Johor Bahru on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.
My team and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We truly appreciate your positive feedback on our friendly team members and our clean and spacious bedroom.

Your comments with regards to the taxi service has been noted and shall be looked into.

I truly appreciate your kind patronage and look forward to extending our hospitality to you again in the near future.

Kind regards.

Edward and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.1 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
5.3 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 110 in Johor Bahru
850 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 110 in Johor Bahru
643 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#16 of 110 in Johor Bahru
679 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Johor Bahru

Property: Thistle Johor Bahru
Address: Jalan Sungai Chat, Johor Bahru 80100, Malaysia (Formerly Hyatt Regency)
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Johor Bahru
#3 Spa Hotel in Johor Bahru
#9 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thistle Johor Bahru 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're with us for business or pleasure, the Thistle Johor Bahru hotel provides the very best of Malaysia, including our legendary hospitality. At Thistle Johor Bahru we have 382 fully refurbished bedrooms, including 125 executive luxury rooms with spectacular sea views over the Straits of Johor. This Malaysian hotel also boasts 5, an outdoor 'resort-style' swimming pool, and fitness centre with spa. Everything you need in fact to indulge your body and soul in modern luxury and comfort. As you'd expect from a hotel in Malaysia and so close to Singapore, Thistle Johor Bahru also has superb meetings and events facilities making the hotel a prime destination for business. Thanks to our beautiful landscaped grounds, sea views and tropical climate, we are also a popular venue for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing