We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suria City Hotel JB”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru
Ranked #80 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed October 28, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 114 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2009

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel, when I and my husband open the room door we can smelled the damp when we turn on the air con the air comes out smelly so we decided to change room, they show us a king size bed room when we decided to take it they said they have to look at our room see if we use it yet so we let them check our room and when they realised we haven't touch anything in the room they said you can't change room because that's the hotel policy. I was quite upset if that's the hotel policy why they show us another room? we complaint we finally change the room. This room is much better apart from the title floor haven't been mob for a long time, it was sticky so we have to mob the floor with floor math. The air con wasn't cold so I check the filter and it was full of dust ridiculously dirty no wonder air con not cold so I wash it. The room is quite small but the bed is comfy. When I turn on my laptop it wasn't any signal for this hotel so I have to call the reception, he said I have to go to lobby for wifi but on their website this hotel should have individual wifi in the room, I asked him about that he said there is only cable in the room I need to pay to use it I said I thought it was free and he "ahhh" for a few seconds then he said it's free. So anyone want to stay there make sure you don't pay for it. When I called to asked for toilet paper and change the towels I have to wait about 1 hour and I have to call many times to remind them, lucky I didn't have any stomachache. The breakfast has no much option but the spicy fried kwai teoy(fried rice noodles) is delicious. For people that haven't got any transport, his hotel is about 15 minutes away from city center and is not easy to get a bus or taxi, not easy to get food either.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittymiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed September 2, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed August 17, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

The location of the hotel (according to the map) is good, within walking distance to Johor Bahru city centre and the railway station. However, the walkway is not clearly sign-posted - we found the 'route' by observing the locals! The hotel SERIOUSLY lacked ambience - the staff seemed very de-motivated and sad; and badly trained and unprofessional. The restaurant where we had breakfast was uninspiring - the food, by any standard was 'crap'! The pool was closed for refurbishment. On the plus side, our room was spacious and clean. The view from outside our room was great - we could see the 'causeway' or bridge to Singapore, and the Strait of Johor. At check-in we were told that the credit card machine was broken, and that we had to pay by cash only. The front office staff did swipe my card, but later confirmed that the machine was really BROKEN. So, we gave them cash. I am now back in London. This morning I received my credit card statement - lo and behold... they did charge my credit card. This means that we paid them TWICE! So very annoying! I hope they will refund my money soon. Next time we're in Johor Bahru, we will stay at the Blue Wave Hotel next door - which looked more happening! Suria City Hotel is a true NO STAR hotel - terrible!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastWest121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank xylnao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reservationjb, Guest Service Officer at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank andik1pras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reservationjb, Guest Service Officer at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.1 mi away
Insta Hotel
Insta Hotel
#38 of 109 in Johor Bahru
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meldrum Hotel
Meldrum Hotel
#60 of 109 in Johor Bahru
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#25 of 109 in Johor Bahru
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Silka Johor Bahru
Silka Johor Bahru
#28 of 109 in Johor Bahru
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
#31 of 109 in Johor Bahru
326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropical Inn Johor Bahru
Tropical Inn Johor Bahru
#73 of 109 in Johor Bahru
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru

Address: No 10 Jalan Bukit Meldrum | Tanjung Puteri, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $19 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suria City Hotel, Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing