We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru
Ranked #82 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We booked into Suria City Hotel only because we could not get a train to KL until the following morning. The receptionist who checked us in was nice enough and the reception area was pleasent enough. Our room however was not. It was dirty and there were some rather unpleasant stains on the wall. We had been given a room with a connecting door, which was unlocked with a table put in front of it to prevent it being opened. The sheets had footprints on them. We actually slept in our sleeping liners because of the state of the bedding. There is only wifi in the lobby and it is weak at best. In fact the following morning it was not working at all and I was told that it was my computer and phone that were at fault! Breakfast was ok, nothing special. The hotel is actually in a great location, just a five minute walk from the station. Shame that was the only thing that was any good.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Guest Relations Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your recent feedback. We strive to offer the best possible service and any feedback encourages our team to ensure our guests are feel comfortable and enjoy their stay.

Your comments has been passed to the relevant department heads and steps are currently being taken to ensure that all our guests enjoy the products and services offered by the hotel.

Once again thank you and we look forward to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    24
    40
    26
    21
See reviews for
19
14
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This Hotel is few kms away from JB Sentral. Good for visitors who have their Own Transport.

* The view of Singapore City is very good and can watch the Causeway Bridge & Woodlands Checkpost from this Hotel ( which is in JB / Malaysia )

The Sultan's Fort view is also good .

We had a warm welcome from the front office staff and the stay was good.

Few points were - the Bath room was very small and not clean when we checked in.

Hotel Rooms not have WIFI but can use internet by having a cable ( got from the Reception Staff )

I could watch Vasantham TV ( Singapore ) in my room so could able to spend the nite watching the news channel.

Carparking is not so good in this hotel.
Breakfast was simple food with traditional Malay items but however other items like Milk, Cornflakes can help foreign visitors.

Value for money as i booked thru Agoda.com

Visiting JB Sentral is very easy ( with our own car ) as it was very near.

The Glass Temple ( Rajakaliamman Temple ) and RajaMariamman Temples are very near.

Overall the stay was good.

Room Tip: Please carrry an Internet Cable - Because the Hotel asks for 15 RM Deposit for a small Cable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsdurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Guest Relations Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for spending some valuable time reviewing us.

We appreciate your kind comments and certainly look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

got myself a deluxe room since standard room located eithin the creepy old block. the reception was so slow in dealing with check-in throught agoda. fir parking, you have to park at old block for better security. the room was big but average... no nice decor or wow facilities inside.... too simple & quite disappointed with this hotel for its awesome location. strategic near CIQ and Stualang Street. facing the Tebrau Straits toward Singapore but we got a room facing an empty wall of the neighbouring hotel! the breakfast still acceptable for he price etc RM158.00 that we've paid. overall was average. do not expect anything except for a sleep and meal. such a waste for this kind of location.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goshocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed there on 17/6 for a business trip. Given room at the south wing on the 7th floor. Nicely done with the basic things. Twin sharing room. Very good location near to the Zon, next to JB Sentral and you can see the causeway from the balcony.
I must say that the front office employees are attentive and responsive.
My second stay was on 20/6 also for a business trip. Stayed at the south wing again but a different room. Still the same twin shaing setup and happy with the room for the price that was paid.
A decent hotel at a strategic location.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MHasni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur,malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I stayed in a room with a view of the strait.the room is pleasantly decorated. Functional and have everything that I need.
I love the fact that it is loacted very close to the check point to Singapore.Convenient for me because visit Singapore is part of my itinerary.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mad_yahya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I was impressed with the courtesy of the staff and the way they handle my bookings and stay.

Room Tip: For single traveller, ask for main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eddy1KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2011

the price of the hotel was ok and affordable, however i'm not very satisfied with the room and service they had. the building looks very old and not attractive. the pool was small and the room also below the par. they keep the remote at the front desk, thus i had to go back to the counter and collected it myself. the staff also gave late responds to my complaint which i have to repeat my respond 2 to 3 times to be heard. never gonna stay there anymore.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KlNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.2 mi away
Meldrum Hotel
Meldrum Hotel
#61 of 109 in Johor Bahru
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Insta Hotel
Insta Hotel
#37 of 109 in Johor Bahru
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
#27 of 109 in Johor Bahru
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#39 of 109 in Johor Bahru
835 reviews
0.2 mi away
AmanSari Express Hotel
AmanSari Express Hotel
#64 of 109 in Johor Bahru
38 reviews
5.3 mi away
Silka Johor Bahru
Silka Johor Bahru
#41 of 109 in Johor Bahru
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru

Property: Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru
Address: No 10 Jalan Bukit Meldrum | Tanjung Puteri, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suria City Hotel, Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing