We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Hotel near to SG & JB Sentral - need improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru
Ranked #76 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This Hotel is few kms away from JB Sentral. Good for visitors who have their Own Transport.

* The view of Singapore City is very good and can watch the Causeway Bridge & Woodlands Checkpost from this Hotel ( which is in JB / Malaysia )

The Sultan's Fort view is also good .

We had a warm welcome from the front office staff and the stay was good.

Few points were - the Bath room was very small and not clean when we checked in.

Hotel Rooms not have WIFI but can use internet by having a cable ( got from the Reception Staff )

I could watch Vasantham TV ( Singapore ) in my room so could able to spend the nite watching the news channel.

Carparking is not so good in this hotel.
Breakfast was simple food with traditional Malay items but however other items like Milk, Cornflakes can help foreign visitors.

Value for money as i booked thru Agoda.com

Visiting JB Sentral is very easy ( with our own car ) as it was very near.

The Glass Temple ( Rajakaliamman Temple ) and RajaMariamman Temples are very near.

Overall the stay was good.

Room Tip: Please carrry an Internet Cable - Because the Hotel asks for 15 RM Deposit for a small Cable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsdurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Guest Relations Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for spending some valuable time reviewing us.

We appreciate your kind comments and certainly look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 117 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

got myself a deluxe room since standard room located eithin the creepy old block. the reception was so slow in dealing with check-in throught agoda. fir parking, you have to park at old block for better security. the room was big but average... no nice decor or wow facilities inside.... too simple & quite disappointed with this hotel for its awesome location. strategic near CIQ and Stualang Street. facing the Tebrau Straits toward Singapore but we got a room facing an empty wall of the neighbouring hotel! the breakfast still acceptable for he price etc RM158.00 that we've paid. overall was average. do not expect anything except for a sleep and meal. such a waste for this kind of location.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goshocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed there on 17/6 for a business trip. Given room at the south wing on the 7th floor. Nicely done with the basic things. Twin sharing room. Very good location near to the Zon, next to JB Sentral and you can see the causeway from the balcony.
I must say that the front office employees are attentive and responsive.
My second stay was on 20/6 also for a business trip. Stayed at the south wing again but a different room. Still the same twin shaing setup and happy with the room for the price that was paid.
A decent hotel at a strategic location.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
Thank MHasni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I stayed in a room with a view of the strait.the room is pleasantly decorated. Functional and have everything that I need.
I love the fact that it is loacted very close to the check point to Singapore.Convenient for me because visit Singapore is part of my itinerary.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mad_yahya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I was impressed with the courtesy of the staff and the way they handle my bookings and stay.

Room Tip: For single traveller, ask for main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eddy1KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

the price of the hotel was ok and affordable, however i'm not very satisfied with the room and service they had. the building looks very old and not attractive. the pool was small and the room also below the par. they keep the remote at the front desk, thus i had to go back to the counter and collected it myself. the staff also gave late responds to my complaint which i have to repeat my respond 2 to 3 times to be heard. never gonna stay there anymore.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KlNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

It is value for money, however the hotel can be better with more security enhanced at the parking area of north wing. Despite that, the room service and daily clean up is quick, good and acceptable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nozafira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.4 mi away
Meldrum Hotel
Meldrum Hotel
#59 of 109 in Johor Bahru
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Insta Hotel
Insta Hotel
#41 of 109 in Johor Bahru
35 reviews
5.3 mi away
Silka Johor Bahru
Silka Johor Bahru
#32 of 109 in Johor Bahru
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tropical Inn Johor Bahru
Tropical Inn Johor Bahru
#71 of 109 in Johor Bahru
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#21 of 109 in Johor Bahru
887 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baguss City Hotel
Baguss City Hotel
#51 of 109 in Johor Bahru
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru

Address: No 10 Jalan Bukit Meldrum | Tanjung Puteri, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $19 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suria City Hotel, Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing