We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude front desk staff”
Review of Meldrum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meldrum Hotel
Ranked #60 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed March 13, 2013

stayed here as its close to my Jobsite. usually i will stay at Citrus hotel. wanna try something new so picked up Meldrum.
During regiatration, front desk staff indirectly forced me to apply membership which i need to pay RM12. i could have stop her doing that but when i realize what they are doing, its already registered.
anyway, the bed is so so but the room filled with mosquito. a Big one literally. not a pleasant sleep.
During checkout the bill showed RM106 whereas the credit card receipt showed RM107. yes only RM1 but when i asked them why is the differences they said wait till the office open at 9am. Rudely asking me who is the one swiped my cc?
not going to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IbrahimRabani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 51 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Conveniently located.i hope that I can swimming in the pool someday..I mean meldrum hotel swimming pool..ahahah..maybe soon..keep it up..improve always needed. .mat ...nani..hmmm they're good staff.. :) I can't say more. .I'm always feel good staying here.. :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onynny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Taking the bus to Melaka the next morning, the big question for me was whether to stay the night in Singapore or go over the border to Johor Bahru, as I had heard some less charming things about the city of JB.
I chose the all-Malaysian option, and I am happy I did. There was absolutely nothing wrong with the city centre of JB, even late at night.
For my hotel in JB I chose the Meldrum, not a bad choice either. A very short walk from the border crossing, the deluxe room was decent value for money. Still the hotel was a bit run-down and had a quite a strong "budget hotel" feel about it, so I suspect that with the low prices in town a slightly pricier option in the same area might have been an even better choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StoffeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

conveniently located, cheap room rates, nice room, service is okay but can improve by being more friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sudhir_Rajagopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed for 1 night in August 2011.

After a bad experience at a hotel round the corner, the Meldrum was a welcome change. The room was sparkling clean. The floor tiles shined. It was a great location - right in the centre of town and close to all the hawker food.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

This is not a fancy hotel, but good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brownsonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Nothing grand but definitely cleaner as compared to nearby hotels. 24 hrs of foods nearby and City Square for shopping. One of the best hotels near Malaysia customs. No frills.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

if your looking for a hotel with a nice view, large spacious room, big flat screen tv with room service, then this is NOT the place to be.
but if you're on a tight budget and need a place that is clean, comfortable, within the city centre for a good price, then meldrum hotel fit the bill perfectly. especially for backpackers outhere.
checking in was a breeze. the room is spacious enough although the bed is oddly placed near the wall. the bathroom is 'okay'. the tv only show few singapore and local channel (although this apply to most if not all the hotel in J.B)
all in all it is just ordinary budget hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zen012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.1 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#25 of 109 in Johor Bahru
861 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 109 in Johor Bahru
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baguss City Hotel
Baguss City Hotel
#50 of 109 in Johor Bahru
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Insta Hotel
Insta Hotel
#39 of 109 in Johor Bahru
34 reviews
5.5 mi away
Silka Johor Bahru
Silka Johor Bahru
#29 of 109 in Johor Bahru
383 reviews
3.3 mi away
Elmark Hotel
Elmark Hotel
#33 of 109 in Johor Bahru
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meldrum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meldrum Hotel

Address: No. 1 Jalan Meldrum, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meldrum Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Meldrum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing