We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient and good price”
Review of Meldrum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meldrum Hotel
Ranked #60 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed February 23, 2012

conveniently located, cheap room rates, nice room, service is okay but can improve by being more friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sudhir_Rajagopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 51 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed for 1 night in August 2011.

After a bad experience at a hotel round the corner, the Meldrum was a welcome change. The room was sparkling clean. The floor tiles shined. It was a great location - right in the centre of town and close to all the hawker food.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

This is not a fancy hotel, but good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brownsonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Nothing grand but definitely cleaner as compared to nearby hotels. 24 hrs of foods nearby and City Square for shopping. One of the best hotels near Malaysia customs. No frills.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

if your looking for a hotel with a nice view, large spacious room, big flat screen tv with room service, then this is NOT the place to be.
but if you're on a tight budget and need a place that is clean, comfortable, within the city centre for a good price, then meldrum hotel fit the bill perfectly. especially for backpackers outhere.
checking in was a breeze. the room is spacious enough although the bed is oddly placed near the wall. the bathroom is 'okay'. the tv only show few singapore and local channel (although this apply to most if not all the hotel in J.B)
all in all it is just ordinary budget hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zen012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We were going to nearby City Square for movie and Karaoke. We stayed a night at meldrum hotel as its location is quite convenient to the City Square.

The receptionists are not that professional. We reserved a standard room but only realized the room full with smoking smell when I stepped into the room. The receptionist never check with me regards the smoking room.

When we checked out. We passed the key to receptionist and were asked to wait for a moment. The receptionist never tell me how long to wait and waiting for what reason. The service at reception was not friendly and unprofessional.

The path from Meldrum Hotel to City Square seems not secure and uncomfortable. However, if you are walking along the main roadside then you are lower the risk of being robbed.

The food stalls were fantastic and particularly night market foods are one of the attractive reason of staying there.

We may come back to this place but may not be same hotel as there are other better options.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cklee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Stayed at the superior room in Meldrum Hotel (RM92) at first. There is free wi-fi on the 3rd and 4th floor superior room. However we found the room a bit small and changed to the deluxe room at RM132 which has a queen sized bed and a single bed. It is very conveniently located near to city square mall and directly opposite my favourite wanton mee stall. The restaurants are opened throughout the night and I loved the BBQ prawns and fish. Nearby there is also a lane with mobile food vendors - highly recommend the Penang Fried Kway Tiao and the Oyster Omelette. However most of them operate till 10pm only. There are quite a number of good food around the area such as haobi duck. The room is quite clean with a LCD TV. However I don't quite like the toilet which is quite cramped. Not much toiletries offered either - only soap. No mini fridge but quite expected as it is a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilylee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here on our last night after 3 weeks traveling around Malaysia. The staff here treated us like king and queen, they made sure we had the correct room for what we needed and went out of their way to make us comfortable (one man even making us a cup of milo while giving us some tourist tips).

The rooms are very clean and tidy and staff we met were a pleasure to deal with and very interesting. 10/10

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank torlboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.9 mi away
V3 Hotel - Nusajaya
V3 Hotel - Nusajaya
#57 of 109 in Johor Bahru
4 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zen Zeng Hotel
Zen Zeng Hotel
#58 of 109 in Johor Bahru
38 reviews
4 mi away
Grand Hallmark Hotel
Grand Hallmark Hotel
#68 of 109 in Johor Bahru
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#21 of 109 in Johor Bahru
893 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baguss Hotel & Serviced Apartment
2.3 mi away
Straits View Hotel
Straits View Hotel
#53 of 109 in Johor Bahru
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meldrum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meldrum Hotel

Address: No. 1 Jalan Meldrum, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meldrum Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Meldrum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing