We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible & Unacceptable reasons!!”
Review of Silka Johor Bahru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silka Johor Bahru
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed February 2, 2014

As we all know, first impressions are really important! this is the first time that i'm coming here with my family. Firstly we booked this hotel 2 weeks ahead via online. We reached here on Feb 1 at around 1.30pm. Normally hotels check in time is around 2-2.30pm..So while we waited , my dad went in to inform on our check in-the lady at the reception was freaking rude! Mentioned that check in is above 3pm..not a best way to speak to customers such!! with her shrude face & choice of words!! Therefore my dad called the supervisor & then we were asked to come by 2.30pm.
Fine, so we had lunch and returned at 3pm. That staff was not there- all new staffs- therefore another malay women-spoke rudely to me- no professionalism at all as a frontliner. Mentioned that the 2 deluxe room is not ready yet due to late check-out, housekeeping etc..they asked us to wait after 4 pm..then check in!THAT IS NOT OUR ISSUES AS WE ME BOOKINGS AHEAD!!
Instead we were handled by another Male staff called Navin- he was humble enough to explain things in a better way..He offered to show us the family room with one deluxe bed & 2 single beds. We had no choice to grab that as we had a function to attend..
But the room was not that good, the towels were not there- toilet papers , no mini fridge etc..we had to request for all this things!! Stress Stress Stress!!!!
My dad was very furious & upset about this. Being a 4 star hotel- they dont keep up to their standards at all! The reason we booked this hotel is because some-one recommended to us, perhaps 2 years ago- the service was better.!!
since we checked in at nearly 3.45pm, they allow us to check - out late the next day BUT we were not interested to be there- we left at 1pm.
The breakfast- it can improve way better.Very minimal choices of food.(not like the HOTEL standard)
Room- bathroom need to be cleaner-tiles,shower curtains,toilet bowl etc.
Only the bed & pillow was good in this trip.
Very dissapointing & we will never return to this hotel or suggest to anyone else!!

Room Tip: a/c was moderate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t-sha1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaJohor, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear t-sha1221

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

On behalf of the hotel, I would like to apologize on your experience encountered during your stay with us. We would also like to thank you for pointing out the areas that we need to improve on.

It is because of guests like yourself that take the time and trouble to inform us of your dissatisfaction that we can improve further on our services.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Silka Johor Bahru.

Warm regards,
Shahrir Naelis Amir
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 385 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

Had a nice stay at this hotel. Nice, clean, and simple room with a huge bed and 4 pillows. Loved that they are not cheap on pillows. All the amenities in the room works well. However the bathroom needs cleaning and it looks old compared to the well furbish room. Breakfast was okay.. not much choice at breakfast. Overall it was a good stay and worth the money spent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelfreak25625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaJohor, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear travelfreak25625.

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

We would like to thank you for the positive remarks on the hotel.

It is our fervent hope that the commendation will act as a motivational tool to our assosciate to further improve our level of service and efficiency while addressing guests' needs and requests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Silka Johor Bahru.

Warm regards,
Shahrir Naelis Amir
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Had a great sleep in a comfortable bed. Very friendly & efficient staff which gives the right impression from the start. A few small things could be improved in the room to keep the 4 star value: ironing board cover had burn marks, a few hair strands left on bathroom floor (a personal pet hate), no hand towel or face washer. Despite this the overall impression is clean & tidy.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavBlancAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaJohor, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear SavBlancAdelaide.

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

We thank you for staying with Silka Johor Bahru. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite of few areas that been high lighted for us to improve further.

May I take this opportunity to thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back at Silka Johor Bahru on your next visit to the city.

Warm regards,
Shahrir Naelis Amir
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Called silka to change date of my holiday but was told hotelclub did not booked my room and they are fully booked . Managed to call hotelclub to clarify to my surprise they now said there was a booking .
The manager later said I have given the wrong confirmation number after much argument. But he fail to understand when I specifically said hotelclub confirmation number instead of telling me this is the wrong number , his staff told me there is no booking .
I book this hotel because my wife wanted to try new hotel but I think I shall ban this hotel for ruining my holiday .

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank johnlee5864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaJohor, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear johnlee5864

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your experience stay with the hotel.

Feedback from guests is invaluable to us as it allows us to continually monitor and improve our service standards and hotel systems.

May I take this opportunity to say thank you once again and that we all look forward to welcoming you back to Silka Johor Bahru.

Warm regards,
Shahrir Naelis Amir
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I and my spouse arrived on 24th for Christmas vacation and I got special rate (thanks to my 2 months stay before). The room was not well managed; the bed sheet was not properly arranged, dusty floor maybe caused by previous guest and dirty tea cups and water heater. Please improve room services. The breakfast menu has improved than before, and I love the chinese style fried rice served on 26th. The table layout of the cafe is now better.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetrusSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaJohor, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear PetrusSimon.

Warm Greetings From Silka Johor Bahru.

Thank you for your return stay with us. On behalf of the Hotel, I am sorry to hear on your experience towards our room and amenities condition during this stay.

Your feedback has been seriously noted on and was personally high lighted to our Housekeeper for it not to re occur. Continuous training for our Housekeeping team is ongoing from day-to-day in ensuring the Hotel meet its service standard, regardless of having fully occupied rooms in stretch days.

On our Food & Beverage outlet and buffet spread menu, thank you on your sincere remark as the Hotel is looking in every angle to ensure our guests are satisfy and comfortable when patronizing us.

Once again, thank you for your constructive comments. We appreciate hearing from you as it is the best tools to help us in meeting our guests satisfaction and looking forward for your return stay with us on your next visit to Johor Bahru.

Warm regards
Shahrir Naelis Amir CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I checked in with 2 teenagers. Our room was business suite that come with one king size bed and one sofa bed. The hotel located walking distance to Tesco Plentong which you can do shopping anytime you wish very convenient. The price is reasonable. The hotel cleanliness is acceptable and the bed is very comfortable with 4 pillows. We had a very good night sleep. There's almost nothing to complain about this hotel. The room was equipped with safe deposit box, LCD TV, no bath tub but have standing shower. The room was nice and clean. The breakfast buffet was full of varieties from western to local food. We really love the egg station and also waffle cake that made freshly out from pan. We would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShidaRamli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaJohor, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear ShidaRamli,

Warm Greetings From Silka Johor Bahru.

First and foremost, thank you on your constructive feedback. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us during your recent trip down to Johor Bahru.

From day-to-day, the team of management and associates are moving forward in ensuring all of our hotel guests expactation during their stay with us are met and best delivery of services are delivered.

ShidaRamli, we are looking forward to welcome you again here at our hotel on your next trip to Johor Bahru and thank ylou again as your feedback towards Silka Johor Bahru will assist TripAdvisor future guests in choosing their hotel in this city.

Wishing you and family a Happy New Year!

Warm regards,
Shahrir Naelis Amir CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The service very slow .the housekeeping was soooo sucks. Never clean my room .i complaint at front desk. they said will get back to me until we check out never said sorry or give us a good compliment.

Room Tip: i do not recommend any room from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raszprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaJohor, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Raszprincess.

Warm Greetings From Silka Johor Bahru, Malaysia.

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip with family to Johor Bahru.

Your constructive feedback have been specially highlighted to our Housekeeper and Front Office Manager attention on how could it happened to Silka Johor Bahru hotel guest(s) and rest assured, it is highly been look into personally by me as the General Manager.

The management and associates are working from day-to-day into no reoccurance of experience such you have faced while staying with us, will take place again here at our hotel.

Raszprincess, we appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward for your return stay in the nearest future. Do contact me directly as an assurance, should you and family require further assistance on however mundane it may be.

Wish you Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Sincerely,
Shahrir Naelis Amir CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.6 mi away
Rooms Boutique Hotel
Rooms Boutique Hotel
#36 of 109 in Johor Bahru
50 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hallmark Hotel
Grand Hallmark Hotel
#66 of 109 in Johor Bahru
36 reviews
2.4 mi away
JS Hotel
JS Hotel
#26 of 109 in Johor Bahru
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Elmark Hotel
Elmark Hotel
#30 of 109 in Johor Bahru
10 reviews
5.5 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#21 of 109 in Johor Bahru
887 reviews
5.7 mi away
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
#19 of 109 in Johor Bahru
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Johor Bahru

Address: Jalan Masai | Mukim Plentong, Johor Bahru 81100, Malaysia (Formerly Dorsett Johor Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $19 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka Johor Bahru 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Johor Bahru is a value led international chain hotel in Johor Bahru, Malaysia. It has 252 well-appointed rooms that are suitable for families, business and value-conscious travellers. Located near Jusco Tebrau City, the hotel is less than 20 minutes from Johor Bahru City Centre and less than 15 minutes from the Singapore border (woodlands checkpoint). Silka Johor Bahru is also the only star rated hotel exclusively associated with the Johor Premium Outlets (JPO) which is about 25 minutes away from the hotel. Asia's 1st Legoland themepark is only a 25 minute drive away. Silka Johor Bahru also has a range of food & beverage outlets, meeting rooms and a banquet hall which caters for all dining, function and event needs. You'll never miss home when you stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silka Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing