We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but can be better”
Review of Silka Johor Bahru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silka Johor Bahru
Ranked #41 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just been there yesterday. We stayed 2 for nights. we usually stay in thistle but gave this a try because of the price & sixe of the room & recommendation by others.
It turned out that this is actually a residential area with a club house facility but they turned it into hotel. So you are sharing the facility with the rest of the resident's.
i booked Business suite but was upgraded to Executive suite due room unavailability. But i cant differentiate between both although frontdesk mentioned executive is better. Many guests upset because check in was late around 4 PM but manager is hands on and very calm + helpful in managing the situation. Lucky i arrived quite late so we just need to wait around an hour but not sure about others. Breakfast is acceptable considering that this is not a 5 star hotel. carpet stained there is not need to have 2 writing desk in one room. prefer to have small dining table.
Facility wise :
Parking : Dissapointed when you have to park in building next door and no elevator.
Gym :Dissapointed. small and no towel. 3 people at one time because there are only 3 key to acticate the the machines there.
Pool : nice and clean. kid's is only 0.5m so quite alright.
Bell boy: they managed to hide from me :) So we need to carry our bags ourselves.
Housekeeping: can evident their proactive, they fix my phone & provide sajdah. Appreciate it !
Garden & playarea for kids: nice but you have to walk to 5 th floor to enjoy it but since i cant go to gym so its fine for me
overall is alright and still recommend to others because it value for money.

Room Tip: - suggest the business suite for big family - NOTE that no tub only rainshower - require car to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanihamid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramanesh N, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear amanihamid,

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

Thank you for staying with us. First and foremost, we would like to apologise for the shortcomings that you had encountered.

We have taken note of your comments in regards to the gym facilities and level of service. Hence, we have conducted necessary trainings and issues have been rectified by the departments concerned. Nonetheless, thank you for acknowledging the efficiency of our Housekeeping services.

With regards to the car park, please be rest assured that we have taken all necessary steps to minimize inconveniences by providing concierge and personalised service during rainy days for our valued guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback as this will help us to monitor and improve the quality and services provided to our guests. We look forward to having you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 387 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

There were 5 of us; 3 adults and 2 kids. We stayed here for 2 nights the objective of this trip was to to visit legoland and Hello Kitty town. With old folk and younger kids, what's most important for us is the accommodation, which is really good - new, nice, clean and very well furnished. Facilities are ok, depends on the individual needs, do not expect resort equivalent standard :), otherwise, this is above average for this category of hotel. Staffs are friendly and helpful though service could have been more efficient (probably that was a peak period and the hotel was fully booked). Distance to town vs. to the theme parks are almost the same, about 20+ min., not much of a problem if travellers are driving.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STMC1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramanesh N, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear STMC1314,

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Johor Bahru.

As a value-led hotel, we are honoured that you and your family had a wonderful experience and truly appreciate your positive comments. We are constantly improving our services as guests’ satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you and your family back for another memorable hotel experience whenever your travel brings you back to Johor Bahru.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on our family trip to Johor Bahru and Singapore last November. We stayed in the family room, and it is spacious with separated bedroom for adults and kids. We truly enjoyed our stay there, with clean and well-equipped room. Wifi is available which also make me connected to my business world although I am on holiday..: -). Staff are friendly and helpful, especially in guiding us the directions to the Legoland and also Johor Premium Outlet. They also gave us precise information and instructions on how to get into Singapore etc, as this was our first self-driven trip to Singapore.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YKTANG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramanesh N, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear YK T,

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

Thank you for staying with us during your last visit to Johor Bahru.

We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience throughout your stay with us. We pride ourselves as a value led-hotel with quality service and guests’ satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us.

Once again, thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to having you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed with our family in this hotel and had an excellent stay. The room was very clean and had a good selection of toiletries. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful from check-in to departure. The restaurant had a good selection on the menu and service was firendly and the food tasty. We took advantage of the Legoland package which was great value and the staff were great in arranging our pick up at a time suitable to us. We will definitely return to Silka. The pool was fine and parking was easy. We liked the location because it was away from the busy Johor traffic.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markrt_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramanesh N, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear markrt_13,

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Johor Bahru.

We are very pleased to learn that you had a delightful experience throughout your stay with us. Your acknowledgement of the service rendered by our associates will be used as an example in our upcoming training in our efforts to upkeep hospitality excellence for our guests.

We look forward to having you back to the hotel whenever your travel brings you back to Johor Bahru.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel is really nice, the room as clean and of a good size and balcony (I guess not all rooms with balcony)

The Hotel is well maintained and with very friendly, attentive service and reasonable prices. ample parking space.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramanesh N, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Michelle C,

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Johor Bahru.

We are very pleased to learn that you had a pleasant experience throughout your stay with us as we pride in our tagline, “You’ll never miss home”. As a value-led hotel, we offer a variety of room types that will suit every guest’s requirement from the lower room category, the Standard Room to the higher room category that is the Business Suite. Your acknowledgement of the services provided will further motivate our team to upkeep hospitality excellence for our guests.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back to the hotel whenever your travel brings you back to Johor Bahru.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Actually this accommodation is good...but the problem is there is a room without a window !! and the carpet smells moist. There is no fresh air circulation for this room n feel like you sleep in VVIP prison's cell.

Suggest the hotel's management do mention this type of no-window rooms in their website to avoid un-expected shock from guest.

The food for breakfast is just so-so.

Overall GOOD...

Room Tip: better call the hotel directly for room's condition instead of using web page.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MustaineJr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramanesh N, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear MustaineJr83,

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

Thank you for staying at our hotel and communicating your feedback to us.

We have 3 different room categories namely, Standard, Deluxe and Business Suite. Our Standard Rooms are aimed at value conscious travellers and are without windows but please be rest assured, all safety and security aspects of the hotel are well taken care of at all times. As quality and cleanliness is of the utmost importance, we are in the midst of changing the carpets in our guestrooms and the process will be completed by the first quarter of the year.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope that our shortcomings will not place us in your permanent disfavour and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel whenever your travel brings you back to Johor Bahru.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our experience with the Silka didn’t get off to a very good start when the online agency Agoda charged my credit card more than the price they quoted for the package we selected. The overcharge wasn’t enough to make an attempt at recovery worthwhile, (hours and hours negotiating with Agoda and the card issuer?...I’ve got better things to do with my life. I just cancelled my account).

It has to be said that some of the staff at the Silka really were trying hard and the impression given by the modern glass and tiled foyer was encouraging. The doorman in particular was very attentive, bringing iced tea and a newspaper to us whilst we waited to be served at the front counter.

As always I’d been insistent on a non-smoking room but nobody had been able to confirm the availablity during the booking process. I mentioned this several times to the booking clerk during check-in, the repetition prompted by complete silence in reply, other than what appeared to be a wry smile on his face. The check-in took a lot of keystrokes and a loooooong time which helped to raise my anxiety about getting what I needed. In the end though, all was well. Yes, a non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor. Whew!

This hotel is a part of a condominium complex and our first awareness of what this meant was the parking of the car. Convenient, low level parking is reserved for the residents of the condo, hotel guests being relegated to the second and third floors, no elevators. Because our business trip kept us out late each night of our stay, in practice that meant the third floor. No elevators. OK, OK, so I’m not very fit but older or disabled people or those who worry about dark corners need to take a three story climb in a dirty fire escape isolated from the hotel into account when considering the Silka.

As we moved through the hotel towards the room we were again struck by the dedication of the staff who had obviously painted the artworks on the walls themselves in the “naïve art” style.

Finally we arrived at the room, opened the door and wham! The wry smiles were explained in full as the musty stink of the place hit us in the face I don’t mean a lightweight “gee, is there a smell in here?” kind of smell but a full-on, deep-dark-dungeon rankness, perhaps especially piped from swamps below the site to the sixth floor.
Further disappointments awaited. The “business suite” we’d booked consisted of two small rooms with sliding glass doors, (mostly off the tracks) between. Two cheap, dilapidated office chairs, both with broken gas lifts, presumably prompted the marketing executive’s fantasy. The online description mentioned two “rain showers” in this room and that was so, one in each of the bathrooms, however one couldn’t be enticed to rain. Hot water appeared to be delivered from a small capacity heater so considerate spouses will make their ablutions short unless the significant other enjoys chilly showers.

A small bar-fridge was provided but it was unplugged when we arrived. Pulling the refrigerator out from under the table to discover why it didn’t work, (and to subsequently plug it in), enabled us to write the word “Dusty!” in the thick film of dust on the top but it may be some time before the house staff discover the hint.

By now we’d driven through heavy monsoon rain and motoring lunatics for nearly 5 hours and it was early evening so packing up, climbing three storeys back up to the car and finding an alternative just wasn’t an option. So we turned up the airconditioner and went out in search of food, hoping the stink would dissipate under the technological assault. Alas, it did not but whilst exploring the nearby (and excellent), Tebrau City Mall, we had the presence of mind to purchase one of those candle powered oil burners at the 5 Ringgit shop. With 4 hour candles burning non-stop and double ration scented oils we managed to make the room bearable for most of the time.

The bed was very comfortable and the linen appeared clean. There was no wardrobe, but to make up for it there were multiple stains on the carpet in both rooms of our “suite”. Our tarrif included a broadband connnection but people serious about social networking are advised to bring your own as outages were common. Several calls to housekeeping for a hair dryer were eventually successful after about 45 minutes.

We did take a look at the “club facilities” included with our room the next day but didn’t use them. The sauna was tucked away in a dirty, smoky toilet near the pool and locked up tight, requiring application to the “security centre” for access but not indicating where said centre might be found. Who wants to sauna in a toilet anyway, right? The pool looked ok, although somewhat smaller than implied in the photos online.

Breakfast buffet was included. The egg station was good, despite the girl having to use old, incredibly battered frypans not unlike the ones I threw away a couple of months ago. Observing kids wiping the excess butter off the communal knife with their fingers put me off the toast and the coffee was more or less undrinkable so, on balance the eggs werent enough to entice us to breakfast the second day. If you’re determined to stay at Silka, take one of the tarrif options which doesn’t include food.

In summary, this is an hotel in which most of the staff are probably doing their best without being given the necessary money and resources to create a pleasing atmosphere. Our advice: Whatever you’re doing in JB, do it somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for one that isnt musty, if such rooms exist
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amcara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramanesh N, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Amcara1,

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

First of all, we are disheartened to learn that you had an unpleasant experience during your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for your detailed observations as it is the feedback of this nature that will advocate us in achieving hospitality excellence to our valued guests such as yourself.

We have duly noted your comments with regards to the room conditions and action have been taken by the managers concerned for immediate rectification. Please be rest assured that the management have been duly notified of your comments on the other areas highlighted and immediate measures have been taken to improve the conditions. Nevertheless, thank you for acknowledging our attentive and friendly associates.

At Silka Johor Bahru, security and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance. We have taken all necessary steps to minimize inconveniences in regards to the car park by providing concierge services for our valued guests, personalised service during rainy days, sufficient lighting at the staircase and 24 hours security on standby.

Once again, thank you for communicating your feedback and we hope that our shortcomings will not place us in your permanent disfavour and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.9 mi away
Rooms Boutique Hotel
Rooms Boutique Hotel
#33 of 109 in Johor Bahru
50 reviews
2.4 mi away
JS Hotel
JS Hotel
#27 of 109 in Johor Bahru
28 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hallmark Hotel
Grand Hallmark Hotel
#68 of 109 in Johor Bahru
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Elmark Hotel
Elmark Hotel
#34 of 109 in Johor Bahru
10 reviews
8.5 mi away
Nex Hotel Johor Bahru
Nex Hotel Johor Bahru
#49 of 109 in Johor Bahru
9 reviews
5.5 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#22 of 109 in Johor Bahru
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Johor Bahru

Address: Jalan Masai | Mukim Plentong, Johor Bahru 81100, Malaysia (Formerly Dorsett Johor Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $22 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka Johor Bahru 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Johor Bahru is a value led international chain hotel in Johor Bahru, Malaysia. It has 252 well-appointed rooms that are suitable for families, business and value-conscious travellers. Located near Jusco Tebrau City, the hotel is less than 20 minutes from Johor Bahru City Centre and less than 15 minutes from the Singapore border (woodlands checkpoint). Silka Johor Bahru is also the only star rated hotel exclusively associated with the Johor Premium Outlets (JPO) which is about 25 minutes away from the hotel. Asia's 1st Legoland themepark is only a 25 minute drive away. Silka Johor Bahru also has a range of food & beverage outlets, meeting rooms and a banquet hall which caters for all dining, function and event needs. You'll never miss home when you stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Silka Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing