We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy & clean”
Review of Silka Johor Bahru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silka Johor Bahru
Ranked #39 of 111 Hotels in Johor Bahru
selangor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cozy & clean”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel is really nice, the room as clean and of a good size and balcony (I guess not all rooms with balcony)

The Hotel is well maintained and with very friendly, attentive service and reasonable prices. ample parking space.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramanesh N, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Michelle C,

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Johor Bahru.

We are very pleased to learn that you had a pleasant experience throughout your stay with us as we pride in our tagline, “You’ll never miss home”. As a value-led hotel, we offer a variety of room types that will suit every guest’s requirement from the lower room category, the Standard Room to the higher room category that is the Business Suite. Your acknowledgement of the services provided will further motivate our team to upkeep hospitality excellence for our guests.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back to the hotel whenever your travel brings you back to Johor Bahru.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    152
    118
    40
    27
See reviews for
84
34
14
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Actually this accommodation is good...but the problem is there is a room without a window !! and the carpet smells moist. There is no fresh air circulation for this room n feel like you sleep in VVIP prison's cell.

Suggest the hotel's management do mention this type of no-window rooms in their website to avoid un-expected shock from guest.

The food for breakfast is just so-so.

Overall GOOD...

Room Tip: better call the hotel directly for room's condition instead of using web page.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MustaineJr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramanesh N, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear MustaineJr83,

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

Thank you for staying at our hotel and communicating your feedback to us.

We have 3 different room categories namely, Standard, Deluxe and Business Suite. Our Standard Rooms are aimed at value conscious travellers and are without windows but please be rest assured, all safety and security aspects of the hotel are well taken care of at all times. As quality and cleanliness is of the utmost importance, we are in the midst of changing the carpets in our guestrooms and the process will be completed by the first quarter of the year.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope that our shortcomings will not place us in your permanent disfavour and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel whenever your travel brings you back to Johor Bahru.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our experience with the Silka didn’t get off to a very good start when the online agency Agoda charged my credit card more than the price they quoted for the package we selected. The overcharge wasn’t enough to make an attempt at recovery worthwhile, (hours and hours negotiating with Agoda and the card issuer?...I’ve got better things to do with my life. I just cancelled my account).

It has to be said that some of the staff at the Silka really were trying hard and the impression given by the modern glass and tiled foyer was encouraging. The doorman in particular was very attentive, bringing iced tea and a newspaper to us whilst we waited to be served at the front counter.

As always I’d been insistent on a non-smoking room but nobody had been able to confirm the availablity during the booking process. I mentioned this several times to the booking clerk during check-in, the repetition prompted by complete silence in reply, other than what appeared to be a wry smile on his face. The check-in took a lot of keystrokes and a loooooong time which helped to raise my anxiety about getting what I needed. In the end though, all was well. Yes, a non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor. Whew!

This hotel is a part of a condominium complex and our first awareness of what this meant was the parking of the car. Convenient, low level parking is reserved for the residents of the condo, hotel guests being relegated to the second and third floors, no elevators. Because our business trip kept us out late each night of our stay, in practice that meant the third floor. No elevators. OK, OK, so I’m not very fit but older or disabled people or those who worry about dark corners need to take a three story climb in a dirty fire escape isolated from the hotel into account when considering the Silka.

As we moved through the hotel towards the room we were again struck by the dedication of the staff who had obviously painted the artworks on the walls themselves in the “naïve art” style.

Finally we arrived at the room, opened the door and wham! The wry smiles were explained in full as the musty stink of the place hit us in the face I don’t mean a lightweight “gee, is there a smell in here?” kind of smell but a full-on, deep-dark-dungeon rankness, perhaps especially piped from swamps below the site to the sixth floor.
Further disappointments awaited. The “business suite” we’d booked consisted of two small rooms with sliding glass doors, (mostly off the tracks) between. Two cheap, dilapidated office chairs, both with broken gas lifts, presumably prompted the marketing executive’s fantasy. The online description mentioned two “rain showers” in this room and that was so, one in each of the bathrooms, however one couldn’t be enticed to rain. Hot water appeared to be delivered from a small capacity heater so considerate spouses will make their ablutions short unless the significant other enjoys chilly showers.

A small bar-fridge was provided but it was unplugged when we arrived. Pulling the refrigerator out from under the table to discover why it didn’t work, (and to subsequently plug it in), enabled us to write the word “Dusty!” in the thick film of dust on the top but it may be some time before the house staff discover the hint.

By now we’d driven through heavy monsoon rain and motoring lunatics for nearly 5 hours and it was early evening so packing up, climbing three storeys back up to the car and finding an alternative just wasn’t an option. So we turned up the airconditioner and went out in search of food, hoping the stink would dissipate under the technological assault. Alas, it did not but whilst exploring the nearby (and excellent), Tebrau City Mall, we had the presence of mind to purchase one of those candle powered oil burners at the 5 Ringgit shop. With 4 hour candles burning non-stop and double ration scented oils we managed to make the room bearable for most of the time.

The bed was very comfortable and the linen appeared clean. There was no wardrobe, but to make up for it there were multiple stains on the carpet in both rooms of our “suite”. Our tarrif included a broadband connnection but people serious about social networking are advised to bring your own as outages were common. Several calls to housekeeping for a hair dryer were eventually successful after about 45 minutes.

We did take a look at the “club facilities” included with our room the next day but didn’t use them. The sauna was tucked away in a dirty, smoky toilet near the pool and locked up tight, requiring application to the “security centre” for access but not indicating where said centre might be found. Who wants to sauna in a toilet anyway, right? The pool looked ok, although somewhat smaller than implied in the photos online.

Breakfast buffet was included. The egg station was good, despite the girl having to use old, incredibly battered frypans not unlike the ones I threw away a couple of months ago. Observing kids wiping the excess butter off the communal knife with their fingers put me off the toast and the coffee was more or less undrinkable so, on balance the eggs werent enough to entice us to breakfast the second day. If you’re determined to stay at Silka, take one of the tarrif options which doesn’t include food.

In summary, this is an hotel in which most of the staff are probably doing their best without being given the necessary money and resources to create a pleasing atmosphere. Our advice: Whatever you’re doing in JB, do it somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for one that isnt musty, if such rooms exist
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amcara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramanesh N, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Amcara1,

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

First of all, we are disheartened to learn that you had an unpleasant experience during your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for your detailed observations as it is the feedback of this nature that will advocate us in achieving hospitality excellence to our valued guests such as yourself.

We have duly noted your comments with regards to the room conditions and action have been taken by the managers concerned for immediate rectification. Please be rest assured that the management have been duly notified of your comments on the other areas highlighted and immediate measures have been taken to improve the conditions. Nevertheless, thank you for acknowledging our attentive and friendly associates.

At Silka Johor Bahru, security and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance. We have taken all necessary steps to minimize inconveniences in regards to the car park by providing concierge services for our valued guests, personalised service during rainy days, sufficient lighting at the staircase and 24 hours security on standby.

Once again, thank you for communicating your feedback and we hope that our shortcomings will not place us in your permanent disfavour and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights as it was close to Pasir Gudang. Did a late check-in and they were pretty fast about it. However upon reaching to my room, found out that the carpets were stained and the room was not well cleaned. Also, they forgot to give us all the amenities (i.e. floor towel, face towel and etc). On the final day of my stay, the maintenance staff tried to enter the room in the morning without knocking while me and my girlfriend were asleep. When i opened the door to confront him, he told me that the reception told him that no one was staying the room. This happened again with the cleaning people.
When confronted the front desk people upon check out, they were not even apologetic about the whole incident. You could honestly find a better hotel in Johor for a similar price with better rooms and definitely better service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoot23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramanesh N, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear shoot23,

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

We are disheartened to learn that you had an unpleasant experience during your recent stay at our hotel.

First of all, we would like to extend our apologies for the inconveniences that you had encountered. Amenities like toothbrush, shaver and others are only provided to guests staying in the club floor level and also for deluxe and suite room categories only. However, all other basic amenities are provided across all room categories.

With regards to the staff entering your room, I have learnt that there was a miscommunication; therefore steps have been taken to prevent reoccurrence. As quality and cleanliness is of the utmost important, we are in the midst of changing the carpets in our guestrooms and the process will be completed by the first quarter of next year.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope that our shortcomings will not place us in your permanent disfavour and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel whenever your travel brings you back to Johor Bahru.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I've been to plenty of hotels in jb and most of the time I depend on tripadvisor to decide. Unfortunately, this time, it was off the mark. Room was terribly filthy and the toilet was disgusting. Desperate need of a total cleanup and maintenance. Breakfast is not worth mentioning. The only positive thing is there is a welcome drink for customers who have to WAIT for our room to be ready past our check in time. I do not mind the wait since it was a busy weekend, but at least ensure cleaning is worth the wait! Near to a big supermarket but almost all jb hotels are as so. Please avoid at all cost. You pay much lesser for tune hotel - much cleaner and better amenities. N tune is a BUDGET hotel. Says a lot for silka. Oh and I booked two rooms. Same comment for both.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank number1mummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramanesh N, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear number1mummy,

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

We are disheartened to learn that you had an unpleasant experience during your recent stay at our hotel.

First and foremost, we would like to apologise for not giving the due attention to the particular room that you had stayed in. In our efforts to upkeep cleanliness standard and meeting guests’ expectations during this holiday season, we have provided 24 hours Housekeeping services for our guests’ convenience.

As we pride ourselves as a value-led hotel that provides quality service to our guests, we have failed in several occasions as you had duly pointed out. Please be rest assured that your feedback has been highlighted to the managers concerned for immediate rectification.

Once again, thank you for communicating your feedback and we hope that our shortcomings will not place us in your permanent disfavour and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel whenever your travel brings you back to Johor Bahru.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The worst hotel I ever stay. Please avoid this hotel. Front desk is very slow response. Asking for kettle & give the unserviceble unit. Ask for replacement unit & instead send the replacement kettle they send me a towel. The room service is terrible as well had ordered the foods for 1 hour. My wife called & complain. Then suddently the staff come in & asking again what menu that been ordered. Then most another 1 hour the food coming. I won't stay this hotel anymore.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nizamzainal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramanesh N, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Nizamzainal,

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru. Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

We apologize if we did not meet your expectations for your recent stay. We always strive to make every customer happy and sometimes along the way, during busy periods we slip up and for that we apologies once again.

During busy periods, there are sometimes delays in checking in, room service, etc although we try to the best our ability to minimize guest waiting time. We also have a lot of trainees in our fast paced and high turnover industry and sometimes these trainees do not produce our usual standards and speed of service. We are constantly providing training and making all our trainees and staff understand the importance of great service within our industry.

Please do not let this experience deter you from visiting us again. I would like to personally invite you to give us another chance to prove to you why all our customers are so happy every time they stay with us. Please contact me at your earliest convenience.

Thank you for your patience and understanding and I hope to see you and your family again soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the standard room yesterday. It was kinda last minute arrangement . Overall hotel was quite acceptable for the price range I had paid $ 138 ringgit wth inclusive a simple b/fast. The biggest turnoff is the musky carpet .
Full of stains n it's really time for a wash . Toilet was clean but it come without stuffs like toothbrush or shaver or dryer. Bed was average. Wifi reception was good using iPhone despite staying ok 8th floor. For Singaporeans. My Singtel connection is also well received in my room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiaRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramanesh N, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear KiaRio,

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru and thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

We are changing all our guestroom carpets and it will be completed by the 1st quarter of next year. We apologise for the inconvenience that we caused as our main priority is cleanliness and to ensure all our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay with us, everytime.

Amenities like toothbrush, shaver, etc are only provided to guests staying in the club floor level and also for deluxe and suite room categories only. But all other basic amenities are provided across all room categories.

Thanks once again for your favorable review and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you and your family again in the near future.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.6 mi away
Rooms Boutique Hotel
Rooms Boutique Hotel
#30 of 111 in Johor Bahru
50 reviews
2.4 mi away
JS Hotel
JS Hotel
#24 of 111 in Johor Bahru
25 reviews
2.2 mi away
Elmark Hotel
Elmark Hotel
#33 of 111 in Johor Bahru
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Hallmark Hotel
Grand Hallmark Hotel
#68 of 111 in Johor Bahru
35 reviews
9.2 mi away
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
#16 of 111 in Johor Bahru
95 reviews
7.1 mi away
Tune Hotel Danga Bay
Tune Hotel Danga Bay
#15 of 111 in Johor Bahru
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Johor Bahru

Property: Silka Johor Bahru
Address: Jalan Masai | Mukim Plentong, Johor Bahru 81100, Malaysia (Formerly Dorsett Johor Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 111 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka Johor Bahru 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Johor Bahru is a value led international chain hotel in Johor Bahru, Malaysia. It has 252 well-appointed rooms that are suitable for families, business and value-conscious travellers. Located near Jusco Tebrau City, the hotel is less than 20 minutes from Johor Bahru City Centre and less than 15 minutes from the Singapore border (woodlands checkpoint). Silka Johor Bahru is also the only star rated hotel exclusively associated with the Johor Premium Outlets (JPO) which is about 25 minutes away from the hotel. Asia's 1st Legoland themepark is only a 25 minute drive away. Silka Johor Bahru also has a range of food & beverage outlets, meeting rooms and a banquet hall which caters for all dining, function and event needs. You'll never miss home when you stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silka Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing