We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience and terrible stay”
Review of Silka Johor Bahru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silka Johor Bahru
Ranked #32 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bad experience and terrible stay”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I had 8 guests attending a wedding and we put them up in Silka for a few nights. And it was a huge mistake. There are a few room types available and the cheapest ones do not have windows! Not only do the carpet smells as a result of the mold and lack of ventilation, these rooms can pose a danger in the event of a fire! Imagine trying to escape in the event of a fire... The doors are also not fire resistant!

Not only are the rooms smelly, maintenance was bad. Towels were not provided and has to be asked for and there's no daily tidying of rooms... Until we made a formal complaint to the manager! Needless to say, for the amount we paid, we expected much, much more.

If I have guests coming over again, I will be hesistent putting them up at Silka again. The Thy Executive hotel is nearer and is much cheaper and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glencore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramanesh N, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Glencore,

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru Hotel.
Thank you for the feedback of your recent stay at Silka Johor Bahru Hotel. We truly apologize for the inconvenience we caused during your recent stay here. We have 3 different room categories namely, Standard, Deluxe and Business Suite. Our standard rooms are aimed at budget conscious travellers and are without windows but rest assured, all safety and security aspects of the hotel are well taken care of at all times.

Also, in the best interests of our guests, if the Do Not Disturb sign is hung at the door, our housekeeping staff will not provide the standard service as outlined by international hotel standards.

Once again, we apologize if we did not live up to your expectations and we would like have an opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    151
    117
    39
    25
See reviews for
82
33
14
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perak
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We made a last minute booking via its website, due to a family emergency. We needed a hotel nearest to hospital sultan ismail, jb..and it has to be convenient and baby friendly. I was very hesistant, as the ramadhan promo is only rm129++ for a deluxe room, and it being a three star hotel. I dont know what what m getting myself into. But the hotel proved me wrong. Its a quaint little hotel. Our rooms are super cosy, minty clean, new and yeay! Child friendly ! No sharp bends and bumps, and *phew*no bulky tv cabinets. The staffs are super friendly. And the ramadhan buffet is yums. Driving from the hotel to HSI, tesco, jusco tebrau city is a breeze too (with a gps hehe). But, um,. Parking is a bummer as it is in the other building.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kechik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kattie64, Public Relations Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Kechik

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru Hotel. Thank you for your positive feedback of our services rendered during your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves by providing the best possible hospitality experience to every guest that walks through our door and we certainly had great pleasure serving you.

Once again we look forward to welcoming you back and experiencing our very own Silka hospitality which is a whole new experience everytime.

Thank you for staying at Silka Johor Bahru Hotel, you'll never miss home!

Ramanesh Keith Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Silka hotel is clean and cozy, good choice for business travel in Johor. I have stayed here on several occasions and always had a good relaxing sleep. :)

The rooms are clean and they have a friendly staff.

Will definitely come back for future travels in Johor.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the street...it gets a bit noisy sometimes..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nat_minero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kattie64, Public Relations Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear nat_minero

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru Hotel. Thank you for your positive feedback of our services rendered during your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves by providing the best possible hospitality experience to every guest that walks through our door and we certainly had great pleasure serving you.

Once again we look forward to welcoming you back and experiencing our very own Silka hospitality which is a whole new experience everytime.

Thank you for staying at Silka Johor Bahru Hotel, you'll never miss home!

Thanks



Warm Regards,

Ramanesh Keith Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Me & my family had a last minute weekend getaway in JB 2 weeks ago from Singapore. As our hotel choices are all fully book, I decided to stay at Silka Hotel based from the Trip advisor reviews . I was kinda hesistant at first as it was a 3 star, but when I reached Silka Hotel, i'm glad I made the right choice.

First, is the security. You will really feel safe (and your vehicle as well).
Secondly, staff was really nice and friendly. The receptionist was very patient with me regardless of any silly questions I gave her. They also have this "self-service" complimentary drink besides the reception that "cools" you down while waiting to be checked-in (or out). My nephew actually loved the grape juice/ice lemon tea.
Thirdly, breakfast was all good, limited but good.

As for the room, it was actually very pleasant room for a 3 star hotel. Though it was small, but it was clean and comfy. Only thing that bothers me is the bathroom. It was small & clean as well, but I believe they could still improve on the cleanliness??

Location wise, I think is great. It's near the Giant, Tesco Extra, Pandan Market and almost half an hour drive from the main JB city.

Lastly, I would like to compliment one of their staff (which i didnt get his name). My husband inquired about the attractions nearby such as good place to eat and stuffs like that and this staff he was trying his best to guide my husband the places he is familiar with. After we have checked in, rested and about to leave the hotel to go to the city in the afternoon, this staff literally chased my husband to his car and pass him the map that he searched online and printed out. It was very thoughtful of him.

I will gladly go back to this place again if given the same scenario. ((=

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nizzie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Nizzie09

Greetings from Silka Hotel Johor. Thank you for your positive feedback of our services rendered during your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves by providing the best possible hospitality experience to every guest that walks through our door and we certainly had great pleasure serving you and your family.

We view every feedback from every customer seriously and once again thanks for your favourable review and we’re glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again.

Thank you for staying at Silka Hotel Johor, your home away from home!

Ramanesh Keith Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Dorsett/Silka Johor for three days after travelling from Egypt. I decided on this particular occasion to stay in Johor Bahru, rather than in Singapore, as at that time, I had not found a reasonably priced hotel in Singapore that I thought was truly great.

I was quite impressed with the Dorsett/Silka, the price I got it for was incredibly cheap, around half what you pay in Singapore for a similar hotel of the quality. After arriving very tired after my flight, I got a very good breakfast at the restaurant (on demand, not buffet), and then checked in.

The rooms were of very good quality - my room was very large, with really nice decor. There was a large HD television, and I found the wi-fi to be steady as a rock for three days (not one disconnection !). There was room to walk around within my room, and also the bathroom was quite large and very nicely finished.

There are no hallways to the part of the Dorsett/Silka where I stayed, so it gets humid going from your room to the bar/restaurant/reception. I met the manager while I was there, and he was a very nice fellow. When I got back to Australia, a hotel staff member left some hotel keys in with my luggage, and a couple of months later when I returned to Johor Bahru, I made a trip to the hotel to take the keys back.

The only issue I had was with a driver that the hotel set me up with. I thought he wanted 80 Ringit to take me to the Little India part of Singapore, but he wanted $80sg !

Aside from that, I recall that a can of soda water was very expensive too. But, that's about as negative as I get. It seems a way from both JB Central & also Singapore, but I didn't have a problem getting around Johor (taxis are very cheap - I tipped as much as what the fare was !), and the second day I went back into Singapore, I went by taxi to JB Central then took public transport.

The staff were incredibly polite, and noteworthy as being friendly.


These days, I tend to stay in Singapore and commute to Johor Bahru, but I would not hesitate to stay at the Dorsett/Silka again if I was to elect to stay in Johor.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PietroMorrizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Hmmm. The first impressions were not good. In this day and age and especially you expect breakfast to be included in the price. I can't remember the last place I stayed where it wasn't. This was pretty disappointing.
Then the room was supposed to have internet via wifi, but it wouldn't connect. Apparently the first 3 floors are ok for wi-fi, the middle 3 are hopeless and the upper 3 have LAN Lines... so for two days no internet so no emails until I moved to the 8th floor and was given a LAN line to connect. (Note there are no LAN outlets on the 6th floor. Can't honestly comment on other floors.) It would seem a simple thing to run extra wireless outlets on all the floors.
The staff really do try hard and are typical Malaysians... very welcoming and kind. They were the best part of the hotel.
The rooms are pretty tiny, and one had hot water to the hand basin, the other didn't.
The bar fridges are unstocked.
The restaurant is pretty good, and the chef makes a pretty tasty meal, no complaints there. The bar is ok.
It is in the middle of suburban wasteland: there is a Giant, and Tescos within walking distance, anything else is a taxi. A tip, it has only just changed names to the Silka Johor, before it was the Dorset, so if you are in a taxi trying to get home, ask for the Dorset, its what the drivers know.
It is located on a major intersection: if road noise is a problem for you maybe look elsewhere.
Overall I enjoyed the staff and some of the others staying there (I was there 5 nights.) I would stay there again: but would book a room on the 8th floor with a LAN line for internet.
it represents about value for money and no more.

Room Tip: If you are there on business and need internet book into the 8th or 9th floor and use a LAN line rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is my second time staying here.1st time very happy n this round very upset with e room maintainance and sound proof. Made 2nd complaint then action. Such a room rate really not worth. Not breakfast included. I believe not more third round.. we better go for other hotel which e rate is around e same which breakfast included...

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRKL, Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Dear sheong,

We are truly grateful for your constructive feedback. Needless to say, we are very distressed to learn of the negative implications of your visit. Please be assured that we have taken your comments seriously and positive actions have been initiated to ensure that there will be no recurrence in future. We have expended every effort to meet our guests’ expectations.

Therefore, we hope that you will give us another opportunity to redeem our performance. Nevertheless, we appreciate your comments on our shortcomings, as this will be another learning experience for our staffs to better themselves.

We sincerely hope that you will not let this experience deter you from visiting us again as we are fully committed to ensuring a comfortable and pleasant stay for our guests.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
2.4 mi away
JS Hotel
JS Hotel
#24 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rooms Boutique Hotel
Rooms Boutique Hotel
#26 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hallmark Hotel
Grand Hallmark Hotel
#69 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nex Hotel Johor Bahru
Nex Hotel Johor Bahru
#33 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
10.9 mi away
Princeton Hotel
Princeton Hotel
#25 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
5.7 mi away
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
#17 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Johor Bahru

Property: Silka Johor Bahru
Address: Jalan Masai | Mukim Plentong, Johor Bahru 81100, Malaysia (Formerly Dorsett Johor Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka Johor Bahru 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Johor Bahru is a value led international chain hotel in Johor Bahru, Malaysia. It has 252 well-appointed rooms that are suitable for families, business and value-conscious travellers. Located near Jusco Tebrau City, the hotel is less than 20 minutes from Johor Bahru City Centre and less than 15 minutes from the Singapore border (woodlands checkpoint). Silka Johor Bahru is also the only star rated hotel exclusively associated with the Johor Premium Outlets (JPO) which is about 25 minutes away from the hotel. Asia's 1st Legoland themepark is only a 25 minute drive away. Silka Johor Bahru also has a range of food & beverage outlets, meeting rooms and a banquet hall which caters for all dining, function and event needs. You'll never miss home when you stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Silka Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing