We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Chez Papa French Bistro and Wine Bar
Ranked #2 of 1,244 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Established in 1999. Traditional French Regional Cuisine. Cheerful and comfortable Bistro decor. Considered Fine Dinning by some customers. Adjoining Wine Bar with cozy ambience. Extensive wine list, large selection of cocktails and International beers by the bottle.
Reviewed March 1, 2019 via mobile

Definitely a five star, and absolutely well recommended! My friends and I were here for dinner just last week, and the food was amazing! We had their signature French Onion Soup, Homemade Mushroom Soup and Champignon Pasta for starters, Seafood Gratin, Grilled Sardines, Escargot Pasta and Vegetarian Pasta for entrees, we also ordered the Baked Brie for in betweens and ended our lovely evening with Bailey's Vanilla Icecream. I must say not a single dish served disappoint. The food was delicious, the staff and management were friendly, the service was excellent, and the ambience of the restaurant was cozy and comfy all at the same time! Definitely an awesome experience and place to have a satisfying meal!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Mixuet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 128 of 684 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2019

Staff were friendly and even prepared a surprise for us. Good vibe and chill place to dine. Food was good but price is on the high side.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jiaxuan_5541
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019

I've been coming here on a regular basis over the past 4 years. They always import interesting ingredients directly from France. Unfortunately the staff has no idea how to cook and season these ingredients.
We went for dinner last night and ordered seafood in parsley and garlic. The only thing that one could taste was a strong aniseed taste, which was entirely overpowering. In addition, the prawns used are frozen as they explained to us and had a taste of "old", so we sent them back. The texture of the scallops was great.
We then had grilled sardines as a main and Filet mignon. The meat was very good and cooked to perfection but the sardines were a total disappointment. They were not grilled but coated in a light batter and fried. Very fishy and no spices and herbs used at all. I am a lover of sardines and eat them in South France and Portugal all the time, but this was the worst sardines i ever tried.
Sardines were served with a side salad with honey dressing and raisins (?!?!?). It totally didn't match this type of fish and a heavy mayonnaise potatoe salad. All together a composition where nothing matched and the flavours were just random.
Compared to other nights, the restaurant was empty, just one other table besides ours!

Staff is entirely clueless. Not one question could they answer properly, they had to bring out the chef to speak with us. He was knowledgeable at least.
Staff asked how the food was when they cleared the plates. My plate was not touched as i had just sampled one little piece of Sardine and salad. So i said, "food unfortunately was not good at all and disappointing". So he just answered "OK. do you want to take away". WTF?!?! Staff has no clue how to react with diners.
Why bother asking how the food was if the answer clearly does not matter?
Again, this is claiming to be a French Fine dining restaurant. Hence, staff needs a minimum of training. Very disappointing as this place used to be much better.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pathfinder57262
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2019 via mobile

Had a couple of wine and food. Personally recommend the spicy prawns and escargots spaghetti. Good atmosphere with good food and wine.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank JiaAnL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2019 via mobile

I was taken to this restaurant by my client and his partner.

From the outside, it doesn’t look like much but looks can be deceiving.

The quality of the food is superb and the friendliness of the staff is good.

I had lamb tenderloin and it was excellent.

Overall, a very good experience and definitely recommended.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank E4151LVjamesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Papa French Bistro and Wine Bar also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Chez Papa French Bistro and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.