We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place for Seafood just like Singapore Newton food centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yeo's Seafood Restaurant

Yeo's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #510 of 850 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect place for Seafood just like Singapore Newton food centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

A great place , good food, so so service and superb place that depends on weather. Wonderful time there with family and friends over 5 years only twice upset due to out of live stock.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amrullah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    7
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
678 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
“Nice food over the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Excellent food, fast service, hard to get to unless you have your own car. The salty egg crab and of all things the venison are excellent choices!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stonewithnomoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed with food quality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Visited this restaurant on 04 Nov 12 for a sunday lunch. As predicted, nice scenary and lots of jelly fish were captured. However, the seafoods we ordered truly disappointed us. We ordered in total 7 dishes including chilli crab, samba sotong, samba mussle, steam prawn, seremban egg, hotplate tofu and a dish of vege. Steam prawn was nice. Average for egg, tofu and vege (expected) and not acceptable for chilli crab, samba sotong and mussle. The crab and mussle got strong soil taste, seems not wash before cook. Sotong was ok but samba was watery. The entire meal costed me RM168, which i could definitely find a better meal elsewhere with this value. This should be my last visit to this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yeockjeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely place - give it a try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have been here many times and it's great to see that Yeo's is now sporting it's Trip Advisor listing - it is clearly proud of it's achievement. You get a great view and a lovely breeze eating here. The food is always excellent and we often bring our colleagues visiting from the UK here, as well as our staff. It's very reasonably priced and although they don't serve alcohol, they are happy for you to bring your own. The juices they do serve are lovely, but beware, rather on the sweet side to suit the Malaysian sweet tooth! Although it is very basic in terms of furnishing and amenities, I hope to see this lovely little place go from strength to strength.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Malaysian_Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT DISAPPOINTMENT WITH THE FOODS SERVED”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just visited the restaurant with my family for dinner after reading the good reviews of some patrons, but the foods we ordered were of great disappointment. The deep fried baby sotongs were very dry, hard and salty. The lemon chicken was over deep fried, dry and the whole dish were all the skin of the chicken and we could hardly find any meat. Moverover the salted egg crab was terrible too.It was also very salty, oily and over-cooked and we could hardly eat any crab meat at all nor taste any salted egg. We believe that the cook used a lot normal cooking oil (not butter) as the whole plate was full of oil.
This will be our first and last visit to the restaurant. Great disappointment!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tkh_1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yeo's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Gelang Patah, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Yeo's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing