We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Educating, okay for my kids”

Desaru Ostrich Farm
Ranked #19 of 116 things to do in Johor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Educating, okay for my kids”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

visited on 4 June 2014. ( wednesday afternoon )

Adults- RM 15.00 , children - RM 10.00
Located at teluk ramunia, which is just on the same stretch of road to get to sungai renjit ( if you want to have local seafood restaurant )

There's a briefing about Ostrich. Our briefings were conducted in mandarin ( chinese ).
It's educational, as the briefings enlightens more about ostrich.
The man says to visit around 4pm, to watch egg hatching.

Not very big farm, but lots of ostrich. Some tamed ones are walking around freely to be photographed.
There are some sheds for the younger ostrich, separated between under 1 month old, the 1 month old, and the 2 months old.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank chilicandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    33
    17
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Aging farm friendly staff”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Basic and aging ostrich farm with limited parking. Tickets are RM15 for adult and RM10 for children. The farm conduct an introduction on ostrich educating visitors the benefit and commercial value of ostrich at interval session. However, the talk is conducted in mandarin language.

Recommend that you visit the farm in covered shoes and socks if you don't like the soft sand in the farm to get onto your feet. The older ostriches in the farm weren't in their best condition as explanation from the staff is that the climate of south-east asia wasn't really suitable for ostrich resulting in feathers dropping. Well, this is still the farm to visit and get close to these big birds without going too far away.

After the short tour in the farm, you may consider taking a break at the farm's eating place. They serve affordable and decent satay.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

The trip to Desaru Ostrich Farm was unexpectedly joyful. The guide was friendly and knowledgable. The ostriches were divided in quarters according to their age. So we managed to see the youngest to the oldest of ostrich.
The souvenirs are expensive and gathering dusts. They should lower the price and renew the packaging. We had our lunch at Surf n Turf which was delicious. The meals were all ostrich-meat based. We enjoyed the omelette and the satay.

Helpful?
2 Thank MyElantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Could have been much better”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Having landed at Kota Tinggi and Desaru for the CNY hols, decided to try the Ostrich Farm. A waste of time and money I would say. There were a few enclosures with several ostriches in them, most of which had their features missing (almost looked like it had been plucked off). There was little to no info on how the ostriches were reared (or why). The small 'speech' that a chap did give was on Ostrich eggs, and that was only done to convince visitors to buy the Ostrich egg omlettes. Given that we had driven an hour from Kota Tinggi, it was a huge let down.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank aravindvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Big Bird!!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was our first time to Ostrich Farm. The presentation by the guide was informative and definitely helped us understand Ostriches better.

There would be a lot of time for you to "interact" with the Ostriches. We were told that these big birds were supposedly to be very timid but their size could be intimidating.

IMO, Ostrich omelette and satay was ok and the steak had an acquired taste but tender.

Beware of the Ostrich pee!! Do not stand behind them for a wet experience!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoeKohPohHeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desaru Ostrich Farm also viewed

Kota Tinggi, Kota Tinggi District
Kota Tinggi, Kota Tinggi District
 
Kota Tinggi, Kota Tinggi District
Kluang, Kluang District
 

Been to Desaru Ostrich Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing