We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Sunbird Ku Chawe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunbird Ku Chawe
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here when heading to mulanje for a charity event climbing Sapitwa. We only stayed here one night but it was stunning, staff were fabulous, food was great, views where phenomenal. Rooms were spotless. We went a small hike before leaving and climbed to a secluded waterfall which was great. Highly recommended! Would love to go back and spend more time in the area to explore it further.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelcam27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 156 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

..that such an outstanding location doesn't deliver in other aspects of the experience. Both food and service were mediocre and overpriced. I did not feel that this was value for money. Nevertheless the gardens are gorgeous.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is definitely a location, location, location situation. The hotel is nice, especially by African standards, but the views are wonderful and what really sets this hotel apart. To accommodate the cool mountain air, the rooms have fireplaces but I didn't light mine. The rooms each have two beds and a little sitting area. The first thing I did after walking around the plateau was take a shower and I am happy to report that both the water pressure and hot water work wonderfully. Plus the shower is full on western style with no cords to speak of.

The dining area is gorgeous with food that is good. I was really excited about the potential to see monkeys (which haunt the dining area) but the hotel considers them pests and did its best to get rid of them. Sad for me, it seems to have worked :(

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was by far the nicest hotel we stayed in in Malawi, really well appointed rooms, good service, gorgeous grounds, a stunning location. Food adequate, became repetitive over three days but service excellent. Very comfortable. One passive aggressive desk clerk, but other service excellent. Really beautiful base for hiking, sunsets, relaxing. Highly recommend. Overlooks Zomba and a short drive if visiting the town.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor superior room which has a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneGut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I had a meal here in December. There was only one other party in the huge restaurant plus my friend. As I found to be quite common in Malawi, it takes them an absolute age to serve you food. I asked for goat stew, but it wasn't available although listed on the menu. I asked for something else, also not available, I eventually had beef, but I found it to be grissly. The food did not cost much by western standards but would be very expensive to a Malawian. I certainly did not think it was up to international standards, although the situation and rest of the hotel were great. Also they advertise Visa, but they are not exactly geared up very well unless you do a load of paperwork beforehand. We were staying in a nearby cottage with a spectacular view so did not experience the rooms here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islemartin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is perfectly clean and comfortable with wonderful views over the Rift Valley.
Where it falls down is in the hotel restaurant where a two course meal can take three hours ,especially annoying when only three other tables were occupied.Stale gateaux did not help on the first night.
Breakfast is perfectly reasonable it is just a pity about dinner for which there is little excuse.I can only assume that being on the top of a mountain means no immediate competition but the hotel should ensure quality of food and service at all times.
Sorry ,but that is where an improvement is needed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hodlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The poor reviews are a disappointment. This was the nicest hotel we stayed in in Malawi in June, spectacularly located and beautifully maintained. It is in a fabulous mountain forest location. People are surprised that monkeys are a problem?! We loved watching them from our room and from the dining room.

Our room was lovely, looking out over the very beautiful gardens, the forest and wonderful views to the far distance. The price reflected the standards and service offered, and the higher class dining room was welcome after some of the somewhat rougher places we had eaten at on our Malawi tour.

We managed to fit in some super walks from the hotel (using a guide from outside the gate) and wished we were staying longer to be able to explore the Plateau further. Next time! The curio vendors at the gate were helpful rather than pushy, and we wanted to help by buying something: we bought beautiful smoky quartz crystals and wild raspberries.

There is some very helpful practical advice in the other postings.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zomba
1.5 mi away
Hotel Masongola
Hotel Masongola
#2 of 2 in Zomba
16 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pakachere Backpackers & Creative Centre
0 mi away
Skinny Hippos Lodge
Skinny Hippos Lodge
#6 of 30 in Mangochi
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
Bluegum Avenue Lodge
#4 of 10 in Zomba
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sunbird Ku Chawe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbird Ku Chawe

Address: Zomba Plateau, Zomba, Malawi (Formerly Le Meridien Ku Chawe)
Location: Malawi > Southern Region > Zomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zomba
Price Range: $117 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunbird Ku Chawe 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunbird Ku Chawe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Ku Chawe Hotel Zomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing