We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunbird Ku Chawe
Nearby Hotels
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
$92
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
$182
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Dorvic Hotel(Blantyre)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gunde B and B(Liwonde National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveler rating
48
65
30
13
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
65
30
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszomba plateaustunning viewsmountain topcannot faulthill overlookingamazing settingaverage hotelfamily lunchrooms are clean and spaciousapple piehotel restaurantwonderful hotelnice locationfresh fruitstayed for two nightsnice gardensunbird
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 163 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2012

It must have been somewhere around 2006 that Kuchawe became a Sunbird in stead of Le Meridien hotel. Having been there quite often before that, I feared that standards would have slipped since. Well, they did. But not very much. The only real issue is the maintenance of the (bath)rooms. Staying at Kuchawe Inn is still very enjoyable: the location is stunning, the building itself is worth the visit, the restaurant is OK (by Malawi standards).
The only real sting was in the winelist: prices easely double that of other (Sunbird!) hotels.
Try to arrive in the afternoon, have tea in the lovely garden, have drinks in the cosy bar, and during diner ask staff to light the fire in your room. Most likely you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RallyWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The reception was good, the staff are all courteous, though there was a bit of a mix up with our reservation. It took us a few minutes to get that sorted out, but they served us coffee on the house whilst they were sorting it out, so we overlooked that minor mishap.
We took room 132...Oh what a fantastic view! I believe that is the best room. It was also immaculately clean, bathroom, bedlinen, towelling & all. The drainange in the shower was a bit slow, but the tub made up for it.
The restaurant: the food was well done i was really hungry & surprised at the time our orders came out.
The garden:well trimmed, wide variety of plants/flowers, well kept garden furniture and a "chess board" on the ground with wooden "characters".
The staff: very courteous, friendly. 10 out of 10 points for them!
The infrastructure: still in good shape, I did not come across anything falling part or dysfunctional. The TV reception is bad though. But hey, what do you need TV for when there´s such a fantastic view to enjoy outside?
Mmmm...I´d definitely go to this place over & over again and recommend it as the first stopover to anyone going to Zomba for the night

Room Tip: Take room 132. It´s on the first floor and has the best view
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventurousTete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We were completing nearly 2 months of medical work in Malawi, and completely exhausted. We decided to take some time and stay at Sunbird. It was one of our most delightful experiences in a long time. Relaxed both inside and outside. The scenes were magnificent, and the inside of the hotel was spectacular. Will go back over and over.

Room Tip: Get a room facing out from the mountain so you see the great view
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalawiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Good:-
We arrived there from Thyolo on the bumpy hole riddled Blantyre road and were received with a friendly smile. We were then taken to our room,s and after inspecting it, we really weren't happy, as we wanted something with a garden and not a first floor. well ... our rooms were changed to a garden access with no quibble.

The Bad:-
Since my last trip to Ku Chawe Inn, sometime in the 90's, nothing has changed. The cheeky monkeys are still there to steal your food, the menu is pretty much the same (even the "fresh onion soup"), and the tourist trap outside the main entrance with wood carvings is also still there.

The Ugly:-
The rooms were appalling, furnished in the 80's, I don't think they were ever renovated since. The rooms were filthy, smelly and had just the basics. No hot water, this had to be brought in by 20ltr buckets from reception, and with two small kids this was a looong wait.

If you can ... miss this place, go up Zomba for the day and find yourself another place to stay in.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fbenettolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I stayed 4 days at the Sunbird on the plateau. The walks from the hotel in the morning were a refreshing start of very hot and long working days. The breakfasts buffet were offering a surprising variety. And the dinners matched this. the only recurring issues were the difficulty to connect to the internet from the rooms and the time it took for the water to warm up in the most remote rooms.

Room Tip: ask for a room close to the reception - avoid 222
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank domtouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews