We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overpriced for what you get” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Safari Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safari Beach Lodge
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Salima
Shiprock, NM
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“overpriced for what you get”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

We paid $54/night/per person for five of us in the "chalet." The view was great, the grounds fairly cute, although the beach piece is small and not really any usable sand. The chalet was very, very basic. One bathroom, 4 twin beds and a double upstairs. "Rustic" would definitely fit, but more like summer camp. The included breakfast was an omelet or eggs and sausages, but almost no fruit (one pathetic plate of pineapple that when it ran out and I asked for more they answered with the typically Malawian response, "finished"). The other food was edible but overpriced, as were the drinks. We will be staying somewhere else the next time we go to Senga Bay.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank yeehawlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    33
    15
    11
    9
See reviews for
13
31
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
den haag
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

My colleague and I took a weekend break here at Safari Beach Lodge and it was fantastic. This is a great lodge, beautiful location, some nice activities in the lake and really great food (best I have had in Malawi). The staff are friendly and relaxed. It looks well run, fair management and a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

A great location and helpful staff...but watch when checking out...it took the best part of an hour to settle the bill and then only found out when home that they had used our credit cards for a cash advance and not a credit payment. They also had the cheek to charge a 6% commission to load us with cash advance and interest fees!
However the location and the views were great and for the most part the service was good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

Stayed at SBL the first time in July 2006 and returned every year ever since, next visit due in November 2010. Absolutely stunning location, gorgeous sunsets, good food, friendly staff, simply Africa at its best!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OSNT-DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

Our family, 2 adults and 4 children (16 to 11 yo), just loved our 5-night stay at the Safari beach lodge in Senga Bay. We stayed there following a 15-day safari through Zambia and Malawi and before returning to France. The lodge is ideally located on a hill overlooking Lake Malawi with traditional pirogues from the nearby fisherman village passing by. Across the lake, the hills of Mozambique are more or less visible according to the weather. Hiking in the forest reserve offers stunning views on the lake and surroundings, especially at sunrise and sunset. The lodge provides free canoes for residents to explore the rocky shore (hardly accessible otherwise) or to venture to Lizard Island where snorkeling is very good when there is no wind. For naturalists and birdwatchers, the forest preserve and the lakeshore offer a good variety of lowland bird species. Mocking cliff chat, African paradise flycatcher, barred owlet, black-throated wattle-eye, and black-collared barbet (among others) occur within lodge boundaries. My "best" sighting: a Pel's fishing-owl on the little river nearby (45 min walk away). Baboons, vervet monkeys, squirrels and rock hyraxes are the most visible mammals in the lodge gardens. The hotel staff is very kind. I highly recommend this place to those who are looking for a relaxing place with African authenticity and pristine environment during their stay in Malawi.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcholley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

Safari Beach Lodge is the worst waste of money. The high priced rooms are dirty and old fashioned. The beach is unusable, the pool dirty and highly chemical. We waited more than one hour for our dinner which was cold when we got it and when we complained the manager was rude and unfriendly. There was no electricity during the night. My wife fell badly on the lots of stairs uphill to the chalets and nobody was reachable to help. Don’t waste your money for this “lodge”!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBradt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salima hotels

Leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

We stayed here for one night on a tour. The Gazebos have great views over the lake and some interesting wildlife such as Dassies as well as the Monkeys and Baboons. The pool is tiny but cool and we were quite happy with food and service. The rooms next to the bar were served by generator during one of Malawis frequent power cuts, but the Gazebos not. A torch is always useful in Malawi!

The beach is private and has shade and also free use of some Kayaks, but is not suitable for swimming as it is washing away and the remaining bit is mostly plastic sandbags. It is hassle free as being a small cove there is no harrassment from beach boys. It was the best place that we stayed on the lake. Sunbird Livingstonia next door has better beach and pool, but on a differrent scale

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxinsoxuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salima
0.0 mi away
Blue Waters by Serendib
0.0 mi away
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach
0.0 mi away
Kaya Mawa
Kaya Mawa
#1 of 1 in Likoma Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#1 of 19 in Cape Maclear
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mgoza Lodge
Mgoza Lodge
#3 of 19 in Cape Maclear
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
#1 of 1 in Maleri Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Beach Lodge

Property: Safari Beach Lodge
Address: Senga Bay Forest Reserve | Shore of Lake Malawi, Salima, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Salima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Salima
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Safari Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Beach Hotel Salima
Safari Beach Lodge Malawi/Salima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing