We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salima
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed for two nights and was lucky enough to watch the full moon rise over the lake on the first night - magical!
Plus: wonderful sandy beach; spacious, comfortable & clean room; staff very helpful & friendly, great food!
Downside: bathroom needs updating
Our stay was at the beginning of the holiday and it was the perfect place to just relax, enjoy the beach & sunshine and leave work behind.

Room Tip: Our room was right by the beach which is wonderful but not for the light sleeper when the wind / wav...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EvaM_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Sunbird Livingstonia Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 124 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

Unquestionably beautiful setting, great staff, big pool and fabulous beach setting all let down a bit by rooms that haven't been updated for a very long time. Basic utility furniture, basic bathrooms, no frills whatsoever.

Food was about average for Malawi but the dining room upstairs is a bit depressing.

Nevertheless, enjoyed our stay here and would add some stars if and when they get the decorators and furnishers in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rothesayisexotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I spent 2 weeks at the Livingstonia on business. On the plus side I loved getting up in the mornings and enjoying a morning coffee out on the beautiful deck looking out at the lake. The staff from the grounds keepers to managers and restaurant workers and simply genuine and warm. The supper meals were really tasty and well priced. My bed in an upgrade room was super comfortable. The pool is large and kept super clean. The beach is spotless and does not have the hawkers you have to endure like you do at Kenyan and Zanzibar coast hotels.
On the down side is there are signs of ageing in the facilities and supper took way too long (over an hour most nights) to prepare. I had the complementary instant coffee in my room but when I tried to get some milk it turned into quite an ordeal and when it came I had to pay. It was not much at all but I found it a rather cheap practice, ie coffee is complimentary but creamer will cost you??? They had a hard time getting breakfast ready for 6:30 which was difficult for business personnel staying there who had to leave early. I had a strange event when on Tuesday I booked a massage for 3 on Friday and come Friday at 3 Reception told me that the massage person was on a day off but they would call her in. I said "I booked it Tuesday" to which they replied "yes, you did". Still pondering that one. The massage, by the way, was wonderful.
Don't let the down points take away from your potential visit here. All are outweighed by the great staff and beautiful view. A peaceful place for sure. Lives up to the Warm Heart of Africa mantra.

Room Tip: 104, 105, 106 and Rondovels are great.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveTravellilng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Over the last 15 years I stayed at the Livingstonia Beach Hotel for a few nights every two or three years. In the 90's under the carefull management of a Dutch couple, and if I remember well under the Le Meridien flag, all was fine: well run, attention to detail, good food.
But after the place came under Sunbird management things slowly started to deteriorate.
And during my last visit in Januari the decline seemed to not have stopped.
Service was extremely slow, bottle tops were lying around the swimming pool area for days, tables in the bar area were dirty, food very basic with many items on the menu not available.
But the location is very special and having a candlelit diner in the terrace restaurant on the lakefront is still a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RallyWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Stayed one night in January 2012 and paid Euro 150 for the privilege....had to leave early and was told breakfast could not be served before 7am so had a barely adequate packed breakfast prepared. No hot beverages either available (surely coffee or tea could have been provided in reception for us?) and although our room had a kettle there was no tea or coffee provided (lots of creamer and sugar to go with only hot water). Hotels in Lilongwe are cutting prices to draw in customers; this one did not seem to care much. Mzuzu Hotel (same group) is much better: nicer rooms, good food and half the price (but no lake). Safari Beach Lodge next door may prove a better option if value for money is an issue.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oncebitten2xshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Accepting that this is only a 3 star hotel it certainly punches well above its weight.
The staff are very attentive and supportive of new visitors to the area.
The superior room has a spacious veranda and grassy sun deck with 180 degree lake views.
The deluxe rooms look more than adequate and good value.

Room Tip: The superior room location is special - but there is only 1.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robt88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Spent a weekend here with a family from Lilongwe. Of course, the hotel is nothing like you would find in the US or Europe, but it had a spectacular location which made up for that!

Our room had two twin beds with air conditioning, a private bath, and mosquito nets. The hotel had two great restaurants with excellent food. There was a swimming pool available and a number of different activities on the lake for a reasonable price (snorkeling, scuba, boat tour, etc).

I will definitely stay here again the next time I am in Malawi!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnvb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salima
0.0 mi away
Blue Waters by Serendib
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pacific Hotel
Pacific Hotel
#10 of 12 in Lilongwe
16 reviews
11.6 mi away
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
#1 of 1 in Maleri Island
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Safari Beach Lodge
Safari Beach Lodge
#2 of 25 in Salima
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbird Livingstonia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbird Livingstonia Beach

Address: Senga Bay, Salima, Malawi (Formerly Le Meridien Livingstonia Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Salima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salima
Price Range: $176 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunbird Livingstonia Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunbird Livingstonia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach Hotel Salima
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach Salima
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach Malawi/Salima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing