We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostellerie de France hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Blantyre
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have stayed here now a few times and always looked after well by the owners. The hotel is well placed for easy travelling around Blantyre and further afield. The rooms range in finish, all are clean, have TV with cable and good WiFi. The food is particularly good, thanks to a French approach and just about anything you wish for can be on the menu!! Our daughter has just finished a 3 month stay and enjoyed it, was well looked after and would stay again. I have to agree, on the occasions when I have stayed the service has always been good and the quality consistent. I believe it offers good value for money and will stay again when I return to Malawi next year.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool have excellent views across the city to the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank are_u_sure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    25
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
9
14
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mutoko
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Jimmy from Mexico by the way of California and his beautiful Zimbabwean wife.
The host, his wife and the staff were some of the best we have encountered in all of our African travels. The hotel is clean, the prices are very reasonable. The restaurant meals were very good. No where do you get a better breakfast. The portions are twice as big as you would get in Europe. The only negative comment that you will get from me is that many items on the menu are not available. There was a menu in our room; I would spend an hour with it before dinner. When I would give my order to the waiter; it was upsetting to hear "that is no longer available". Suggestion #1 cross off the menu items that you no longer have or #2 print a current menu. We will return, hopefully in December.

Room Tip: SPA was not heated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank nowayjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have stayed at this place twice during 2014 - a total of about 8 nights.
The hotel is located a short (less than USD 1, less than flive minutes) ride with one of the many mini busses that constantly flow through the street from/to the city center.

The food is easily the best in Blantyre with a number of French and international dishes with a broad selection of wine and liquer.

The hotel is placed on a beautiful hill side overlooking the city and it has a great and peaceful pool area for the guest to enjoy.

Rooms come in different sizes, but all are clean and well kept. I cannot help to wonder if the previous review regarding bed bugs is truly reflecting reality or just some personal vengence - I did not encounter any problems and the five other guest I traveled with certainly did not either.

Only downside is the dogs - the owner has three peaceful but somewhat noisy dogs that alert the night crew of guests arriving at night. If you are a very light sleeper it might be a consern to you - I did not have any problems sleeping through the night.

Staff was very helpful to me and the owner was very knowledgable giving me good advice on Blantyre and general travel tips. He also has a small library in one of the common rooms.

I will not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone - and I will surely choose to stay here again if I return to Blantyre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel was well placed and the owners are welcoming if not a little eccentric. Unfortunately, we had high expectations of the food based on previous reviews but it fell far short and was way over priced for the quality. It is good value for money although on the second night I asked for extra blankets as it was quite cold. The next day I was suffering from severe bites from bed bugs, not pleasant when I had a full day of work ahead and a long drive back to Lilongwe. Perhaps standards have slipped since the previous reviews!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynchei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostfrance, Responsable commercial at Hostellerie de France hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
...hi..
See the costumer is sleep ere...ave pictur....in the room at 30 us$ for 2 person....
Ave problem for pay the dinner....cash is small ....after discus...ave cash for pay....
Problem animal in the bed is only vengeance....
Friend of Denmark costumer is sleep 6 day and no ave complaints.
Butt no problem..
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were travelling with a family of four, arriving late at night. we were made feel very welcome and the service throughout our stay was impeccable. Jean Michel a wonderful host to go along with the fantastic view especially from the pool deck. Really hope to one day visit again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostfrance, Responsable réception at Hostellerie de France hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in the cheapest rooms and it was extremely good value for money. The French food served in the restaurant is EXCELLENT! Nice view over the hills of Blantyre. The swimming pool is large and spotless.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marondera
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Fantastic experience in a very welcoming atmosphere. The hospitality is outstanding and I would definitely stay there again on my next visit to Blantyre. After a tiring visit and stay in the very hot Shire valley coming to the hotel was refreshing. Away from the hassles of the city activities. my wife wished we had visited this place for our honey moon. Promised her a secnd honey moon there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gift M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blantyre
1.4 mi away
Sunbird Mount Soche
Sunbird Mount Soche
#2 of 4 in Blantyre
96 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Villa 33
Villa 33
#3 of 20 in Blantyre
51 reviews
2.5 mi away
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
#5 of 20 in Blantyre
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de France hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de France hotel

Property: Hostellerie de France hotel
Address: Chilomoni Ring Road 3 kazuni close | Namiwawa, Blantyre PB 246 BT, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Southern Region > Blantyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Blantyre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostellerie de France is only situated 2 minutes drive from Blantyre City Centre just off Glyn Jones Chilomoni Ring Road. The House is set in tranquil spacious gardens with fantastic views and a large swimming pool salt water and Spa. On offer B&B: Executive room ,70us$, standard room 50/60 us$,family room 100 us$ B&B (4peoples), self catering:Flats 25/30/40/50 us$, Apartment 100 us$2 bedroom (4 people) ,apartment 130 us$ 3 bedroom (6 people) restaurant,bar,gym and Conference room.wifi, rant a car ,Bus at 20 meters ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostellerie De France Blantyre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing