We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostellerie de France hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Blantyre
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were travelling with a family of four, arriving late at night. we were made feel very welcome and the service throughout our stay was impeccable. Jean Michel a wonderful host to go along with the fantastic view especially from the pool deck. Really hope to one day visit again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostfrance, Responsable réception at Hostellerie de France hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 78 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in the cheapest rooms and it was extremely good value for money. The French food served in the restaurant is EXCELLENT! Nice view over the hills of Blantyre. The swimming pool is large and spotless.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Fantastic experience in a very welcoming atmosphere. The hospitality is outstanding and I would definitely stay there again on my next visit to Blantyre. After a tiring visit and stay in the very hot Shire valley coming to the hotel was refreshing. Away from the hassles of the city activities. my wife wished we had visited this place for our honey moon. Promised her a secnd honey moon there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gift M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Not in the centre of town, but just outside. A quiet place where you feel welcome - it does not take long before you feel that Jean Michel is a good friend. His halting English is charming as he himself. If you like tasty food, nothing beats Biou's kitchen. I could eat there every day of the week. Try the coq au vin!
The place itself offers different types of rooms. I have just tried the ones at the front, with a view. And what a view. There is a swimming pool, but I enjoy most is the breakfast on the terrace in front of the room.If you do not "eat up" they will nervous that something is not to your liking and they are offering alternatives.It is like dining with family.
If you like you can hire a car from Jean, but a taxi takes just a few minutes into the centre.
In Blantyre there is only one place to stay: Chez Jean and Biou

Room Tip: The large room in the main building is top
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank abut0ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013
Google Translation

Tusen takk for at du tok deg tid til å GI varsel på vår beskjedne hotellet.
Ser frem til det igjen ..... Biou og Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Outstanding place to stay in Blantyre when traveling on business! I brought my international team here, multiple times over the past few years. The service is outstanding and the food, even more so! All of our needs were met in a very hospitable environment. The view from the garden area is lovely-- especially in the mornings and evenings! Highly recommend the place!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texas_teachered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

merci d'avoir ppris le temps de faire un rapport sur mon modeste hotel.
jean michel.
thanks for call you teemps for you reply in me smoll hotel...Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed at this hostellerie in March 2011,
the owner is mad, I mean bonkers, crazy Frenchman ,it is a very safe and peaceful place good food great views
very close to centre of Blantyre,
good for work base or just a few days down time
big rooms but no A/C
I would go back if I can make the time

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EddieGra123y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013
Google Translation

merci infiniment pour avoir pris le temps de donner votre avis sur notre modeste hotel..
au plaisir de ce revoir...
Biou et Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Good service, nice pool, we had a good time.

The food is good, could be a bit more of a variety if you stay longer. But there are so many other places to try different types of food in town, so, this is not really a problem.

The location is great; you can overlook the whole city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wallwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
the pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blantyre hotels
1.4 mi away
Sunbird Mount Soche
Sunbird Mount Soche
#3 of 5 in Blantyre
100 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa 33
Villa 33
#2 of 19 in Blantyre
54 reviews
2.0 mi away
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
#3 of 19 in Blantyre
26 reviews
1.3 mi away
Malawi Sun Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de France hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de France hotel

Address: Chilomoni Ring Road 3 kazuni close | Namiwawa, Blantyre PB 246 BT, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Southern Region > Blantyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Blantyre
Price Range: $25 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostellerie de France is only situated 2 minutes drive from Blantyre City Centre just off Glyn Jones Chilomoni Ring Road. The House is set in tranquil spacious gardens with fantastic views and a large swimming pool salt water and Spa. On offer B&B: Executive room ,70us$, standard room 50/60 us$,family room 100 us$ B&B (4peoples), self catering:Flats 25/30/40/50 us$, Apartment 100 us$2 bedroom (4 people) ,apartment 130 us$ 3 bedroom (6 people) restaurant,bar,gym and Conference room.wifi, rant a car ,Bus at 20 meters ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostellerie De France Blantyre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing